You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-29 08:54:36

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

In the earlier days, the only way to add a menu item was manually. Then came obmenu, the OpenBox GUI menu editor to make it easy for normal users. In the meantime, few new dynamic menus came up, Openbox-Menu (I needed somehow some comfort to be able to launch installed programs, categorized...) http://fabrice.thiroux.free.fr/openbox-menu_en.html, Obmenu-generator https://github.com/trizen/obmenu-generator, http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 03#p423803 and Obamenu http://rmoe.anukis.de/obamenu.html. Maybe, we should choose one of them as the Menu for BunsenLabs.

Offline

#2 2015-11-29 09:34:56

balloon
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 39

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Have you tried this method? :

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=19

It will be settled with this cord instead if you add it to ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml .

<menu id="/Debian" />

Offline

#3 2015-11-29 10:41:36

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Offline

#4 2015-11-29 12:07:37

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,154

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Always a good link: OpenBox Pipemenus this is directly to the "Application Menus".


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#5 2015-11-29 12:39:24

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

I believe this has been discussed *many* times before ostrolek

The general feeling of the community is that self-generating menus are not wanted but can be implemented very easily if the user desires.

Why not provide a How To for all the methods you have discovered instead?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#6 2015-11-29 13:18:13

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I believe this has been discussed *many* times before ostrolek

The general feeling of the community is that self-generating menus are not wanted but can be implemented very easily if the user desires.

Why not provide a How To for all the methods you have discovered instead?

In the OP, links to all 3 menu generators are given. They are actually how-tos. Everything is clearly explained. One link on Obmenu-Generator is to #! forums. I am using Obamenu without icons. It has no dependencies.

Knowing how "scientific socialism" worked, I am not a fan of "general feelings." Anyway, Budgie, Cinnamon, Gnome, KDE, LXDE, Slingshot, Unity, XFCE etc have self-generating menus, so why not Openbox? All 3 dynamic menus for Openbox was created after Obmenu, the GUI menu editor, which means development.

Also, I saw a question, https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 9141#p9141 and that's why my suggestion.

Last edited by nobody0 (2015-11-29 13:18:59)

Offline

#7 2015-11-29 14:39:05

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

ostrolek wrote:

In the OP, links to all 3 menu generators are given. They are actually how-tos. Everything is clearly explained.

Then what's the problem, exactly?

The developers have chosen openbox/tint2 as the defaualt working environment for BunsenLabs. A non-self-generating menu has also been chosen, as has GRUB, systemd, NetworkManager, Thunar, Iceweasel, ad nauseum

Users are, of course, free to use alternatives.

As I mentioned, this has been discussed before and most forum members who volunteered an opinion found self-generating menus to be irritating and unwanted.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#8 2015-11-29 15:41:43

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
ostrolek wrote:

In the OP, links to all 3 menu generators are given. They are actually how-tos. Everything is clearly explained.

Then what's the problem, exactly?

I have no problem at all.  You asked for the how-tos.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

As I mentioned, this has been discussed before and most forum members who volunteered an opinion found self-generating menus to be irritating and unwanted.

Mine: Not at all irritating, but very comforting, make life easy. Its just a suggestion, no one is obliged to take it.

Offline

#9 2015-11-29 16:42:06

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,154

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

For as much as OpenBox can use pipemenus (see my link above as well as others here) to get a 'dynamic menu' it's (IMHO) like trying yo put a Ford engine in a Chevy.  Needs tweaking.

If one wants a *box system with dynamic menu entries: FluxBox.

It's just as awesome as OpenBox and just as configurable.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#10 2015-11-29 17:10:53

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Sector11 wrote:

For as much as OpenBox can use pipemenus (see my link above as well as others here) to get a 'dynamic menu' it's (IMHO) like trying yo put a Ford engine in a Chevy.  Needs tweaking.

If one wants a *box system with dynamic menu entries: FluxBox.

It's just as awesome as OpenBox and just as configurable.

Would you take few minutes to read http://rmoe.anukis.de/obamenu.html, and the obamenu python script.
Only one line is added to the Openbox pipemenu.

<menu id="desktop-app-menu" label="Applications" execute="~/.config/openbox/obamenu" />

No one is going feel bad by making their life easier.

Offline

#11 2015-11-29 17:32:28

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,154

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^ Excuse me ... what makes you think I didn't read it?

I did ... and I have tested all those menus you mentioned ... and still have one installed buried deep within my OB setup:
2015_11_29_14_24_39_Scrot11.jpg

I test things ... I have residue of those tests all over the place!

~/.config/openbox/scripts/obamenu/obamenu

The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#12 2015-11-29 17:56:07

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^ Same here. I test things too.
This is my additional menu; Slingshot.jpg
a very old menu coming from Natty days, adapted so Apt won't break it. It is much pleasing and easy to work with, I am not proposing it here.

Last edited by nobody0 (2015-11-29 18:14:26)

Offline

#13 2015-11-29 18:23:28

Panda
Member
Registered: 2015-10-30
Posts: 262

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

The general feeling of the community is that self-generating menus are not wanted but can be implemented very easily if the user desires.

This^

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

As I mentioned, this has been discussed before and most forum members who volunteered an opinion found self-generating menus to be irritating and unwanted.

Again this^

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Users are, of course, free to use alternatives.

And because of this^..

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Why not provide a How To for all the methods you have discovered instead?

.. Why not this^  smile


“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today a gift...
That's why they call it the present"

― Master Oogway

Offline

#14 2015-11-29 18:31:19

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^ Go to the #1 and to the links.

Offline

#15 2015-11-29 19:53:26

Panda
Member
Registered: 2015-10-30
Posts: 262

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

@Ostrolek,

Yes sir, I saw that at the top of the page and the reason I read it first big_smile

I think you've got some great ideas and your desire to make things easier is (particularly for new users) commendable. I'd have to agree with others here regarding leaving the menu as is in the release. Having said that, nothing prevents a user from modifying their system to suit a particular taste or need, I also distinctly remember this being hashed out thoroughly sometime ago.

I think one of the greatest attributes of Openbox and that of #! , then BunsenLabs or even Linux in general, is it can be a blank canvass of sorts or, starting point to allow our own personality a chance to shine through and thus giving us the freedom to actually make a choice. Which is where I believe people like you make such a huge contribution. What very little Linux knowledge I do possess, I gained from 'How Tos' on the old #! forum and now here.. Written by people like you. Hell, if you searched long enough, you'd probably find a 'How to' on milking the family cat( Update your kernel first) Hahaha tongue

Although and like others here who feel the menu is perfect the way it is, I hope you don't become discouraged, keep those good ideas coming and like HoaS suggested, start that 'How To' thread.  smile


“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today a gift...
That's why they call it the present"

― Master Oogway

Offline

#16 2015-11-29 20:45:41

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^ Openbox menu has not changed, but the content had changed, depending what you want to add to it. A guy asked a question, https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 9141#p9141, but never came back, which prompted me to make this suggestion. Once, someone asked a question about Obamenu, https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 2250#p2250 and there is a post on Obmenu-generator, https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 7487#p7487. In the #1, the original authors are explaining how to use their creations.

(Here is a how-to on a different subject, if you want to try, https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 166#p9166)

Last edited by nobody0 (2015-11-29 20:48:34)

Offline

#17 2015-11-30 03:15:05

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,954
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Obamenu indeed looks like an attractive option for people who'd like a dynamically generated apps menu. It runs no daemons, builds no cache files, just runs when called and generates a pipemenu on the fly, quite fast. If you don't click the submenu it consumes no resources, and it's a small 7KB python script.

To be honest, I don't really see why anybody should be annoyed if it was added to the BL openbox menu...


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#18 2015-11-30 03:24:05

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,154

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

Please don't.  Make it available, but please don't install it by default!


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#19 2015-11-30 04:32:35

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,954
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

@Sector11 why would you find it more annoying than the Graphics pipemenu, for example? Or any of the other submenus?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#20 2015-11-30 05:59:49

pvsage
Internal Affairs
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,433

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^ Frankly, the pipemenus are the one thing I hate about CrunchBang/BunsenLabs.  I understand they're of use to some people, but they're an eyesore to me and a good excuse to learn the keyboard shortcuts and avoid using the right-click menu.


Be excellent to each other, and...party on, dudes!
BunsenLabs Forum Rules
Tending and defending the Flame since 2009

Offline

#21 2015-11-30 13:03:53

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,154

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

@johnraff - I don't think I ever said it/they were annoying!

OpenBox works fine out of the box.  Yes there are pipe menus available all over the net including at the OpenBox site.  But they should be a "users option" to have them or not.

I don't use the Graphics pipemenu ... truth be told my OB setup has been with me since Statler, with tweaks by me along the way.  The stuff I have tested over time, pipe menus included, are either gone or in a sub-menu rarely seen or in some cases never used.  A lot of my menu isn't used anymore, but it's been here for so long I just leave it as is.

Even the complete BunsenLabs OB Menu system is a submenu here, so I can access it to answer questions, I don't use it, but I have edited it to add Feh because I recently saw a post by damo so I though I would try it.
2015_11_30_09_53_52_Scrot11.jpg

Adding entries with OBMenu is just as easy or even editing the menu.xml is too easy now.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#22 2015-11-30 13:10:47

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,878
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

I'll go with the flow on this one, I've been using keyboard shortcuts and xfce4-appfinder exclusively since jessie came out, no matter whether I'm in an Openbox, Xfce or Awesome session.

Offline

#23 2015-11-30 21:07:26

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,636
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

yeah, i have a problem with pipemenus myself. i hate it when things don't pop up instantly, when there's the slightest lag while i slide the pointer down the menu.
(but that's just my thing - i don't mean to change bunsenlabs; those pipemenus provide useful functionality esp. for new users)

fwiw, i like a self-updating menu, and i swear on trizen's obmenu-generator.
it pops up near-instantly (at least without icons), but nevertheless, i made it so that it creates a static menu.xml at login:

obmenu-generator -s -c
exec openbox

and that really pops up instantly.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#24 2015-11-30 21:34:49

eight.bit.al
Member
From: The State of Bliss
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 534

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

^  What ohnonot said. Can't abide even the slightest hesitation.  With muscle memory, I get so used to motions I don't even think about it.

Last edited by eight.bit.al (2015-11-30 21:35:31)


The Flat Earth Society has members all around the globe.

Online

#25 2015-12-01 02:33:02

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,954
Website

Re: Maybe a dynamic Openbox menu needed?

@Sector11

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

most forum members who volunteered an opinion found self-generating menus to be irritating and unwanted.

johnraff wrote:

To be honest, I don't really see why anybody should be annoyed if it was added to the BL openbox menu...

Sector11 wrote:

Please don't.  Make it available, but please don't install it by default!

Sorry, you didn't actually use the word "annoying", and HOAS said "irritating", but the "Please" and the exclamation mark led me to think you felt quite strongly about it.

I'm impartial about the pipemenus (which an apps menu would be one more example of)  - clearly they're aimed at new users - and personally I don't find myself using the openbox menu all that often. It's Super+T or Super+F 90% of the time, but it's still handy to have the right-click menu-key option available, along with Alt+F2, Alt+F3 and ADeskBar's @simplemenu... None of that stuff irritates me in the slightest.

I think new users might find it useful, but if the majority of forum members would be irritated to find an "Apps" submenu by default, I wouldn't push it.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB