You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-14 04:26:13

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,344
Website

[DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Finally, Release Candidates for the new Deuterium isos.

EDIT:
There has been another ( several, in fact neutral ) build to iron out a few small wrinkles, and here are the latest iso builds:

amd64
sha256sum ./live-image-amd64-170429.hybrid.iso
0d85da4ea9268265aaace0d7fa648bc7dea22da994b5f7052f74e45921b9f4ca
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7BNzo … sp=sharing

i386
sha256sum ./live-image-i386-170429.hybrid.iso
9f1f52df4f253120a2cfc4e41d82818a71197df3c3b4713bf9cea43769f739b1
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7BNzo … sp=sharing

CD size i386 non-PAE no-EFI
sha256sum ./live-image-i386-CD17.hybrid.iso
0b7eb6153c0aa05538ca2187961fa4d86238e2904e2e4691e85fbc3fdacd58e5
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7BNzo … sp=sharing

Extra user changes:
apt urls now use deb.debian.org instead of going directly to cdn-fastly - this involves an http redirection, but I thought it might be more long-term dependable. Security still uses the generic security.debian.org for the same reason. We added efibootmgr and chntpw (thanks Head_on_a_Stick for the suggestions) and fixed a couple of small glitches, but otherwise these new isos are pretty much the same, so I don't think they'll need much more testing before we do an Official Release

Previous isos:
In fact the changes from the previous experimental isos are mostly cosmetic, and on similar lines to the CD iso RC. The graphics and multimedia pipemenus have been improved a bit, hardinfo added to the "Accessories" menu, a live session popup message, EFI support retained...

Once the very latest package upgrades are in the BL repos ( a few days now done ) then existing users will be able to catch up with 'apt-get upgrade', there's no need to reinstall the whole system.

At this point, what would help greatly would be for as many people as possible to try some of these out and report back if they hit any snags:
In a virtual machine, or real hardware.
In the live session, or after install.

Many thanks everyone for the feedback!


If no issues are reported, we might go for an Official Release soon.

Last edited by johnraff (2017-05-12 06:49:12)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Online

#2 2017-04-14 17:10:21

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Whoot, full sized amd64 iso here I come...

Last edited by Horizon_Brave (2017-04-14 17:29:19)


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#3 2017-04-14 20:53:11

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,345

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso running fine in qemu VM. Only one package update during bl-welcome smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#4 2017-04-15 02:14:07

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,590
Website

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

^ That just came in, it was zero the day before. smile

Offline

#5 2017-04-21 11:53:27

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 404

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Downloaded the i386 iso. Live session worked as it is supposed to do. Rebooted and choose the graphical install. Very smooth, just went with everything default. Booted into the usual desktop, the welcome script popped up after two seconds and were executed flawlessly. So far, nothing and nada to report. All this on a ca ten year old low spec consumer laptop.

I think you dare to release now. And yes, youtube works! wink


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#6 2017-04-21 12:50:48

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 767

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

FYI, just ran the live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso live, and afterwards installed it, both in VBox 5.0.

Everything works. Youtoube too smile


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#7 2017-04-21 19:19:04

icrunchbanger
Member
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 17

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

amd64 is flawless. Nothing to report for now! smile


Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

Offline

#8 2017-04-22 01:01:53

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Yay my installation of bl in vbox went through without any glitch including the welcome script  cool
All good so far. But NOT if someone (thank you Frau Kessel) doesn't teach me the very basics of the english/american language...
Don't get me wrong, this will be a great release once it is ready but for one who only speaks/understand a native tongue?...
? they go the *buntu or whatever way


p.s. please don't be a grammar nazi, i'm no native english/american speaker

Last edited by lowrider (2017-04-22 01:15:25)

Offline

#9 2017-04-22 02:49:24

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

A quick update. Compositing doesn't work for me in virtualbox. Editing the line in ~/.config/openbox/autostart from

bl-compositor --start

to

(sleep 5; compton) &

is a quick dirty fix for now.
don't know about an install on bare metal.

also to have full resolution in virtualbox i need to

sudo apt install gcc make

before i execute the VBoxLinuxAdditions.run script from the .iso

Last edited by lowrider (2017-04-22 03:12:39)

Offline

#10 2017-04-22 06:28:30

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,345

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

^ Regarding compositing in vbox, have you tried this fix? https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 226#p42226


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#11 2017-04-22 07:53:53

mcarni
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 16

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

I am testing amd64 live and looks very good

I do have one issue with the install
...it might be related to the atypical way I am using to boot (grub to boot the iso's directly from the HD) so apologies in advance if this is the issue...

The installer complains that it cannot find the any cd or removable media.
i tried both graphical and normal installer
i tried also to get to a shell and mount manually the partition where the iso is but i get an error saying that the device does not exist (even though mount shows all correct partition)
Could this be due to some command line that I have to pass at boot?
thanks a lot for your help

grub entry for live edited @10.04, i had originally pasted the install entry twice

menuentry "ISO Bunsen live" {
	insmod ext2
	insmod iso9660
	# change path accordingly	
	set isofile='/ISO/Bunsenlabs/live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso'
	loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile
	linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz boot=live findiso=${isofile} components qiet splash
	initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
}

grube entry for the install

menuentry "ISO Bunsen install" {
        insmod ext2
        insmod iso9660
        # change path accordingly
        set isofile='/ISO/Bunsenlabs/live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso'
        loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile
        linux (loop)/install/vmlinuz boot=live findiso=${isofile} vga=normal quiet
        initrd (loop)/install/initrd.gz
}

Last edited by mcarni (2017-04-22 08:06:54)

Offline

#12 2017-04-22 09:10:32

mcarni
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 16

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

just a quick update from a happy chap...
I installed the system from the live iso after installing installed debian-installer and debian-installer-launcher

typing this form a fresh installation, going through the post-install script now

fantastic Bunsen as always

thanks

M

Offline

#13 2017-04-22 12:49:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

mcarni wrote:

The installer complains that it cannot find the any cd or removable media.

This is a *very* common error and it results from using a defective program to transfer the ISO image to the installation medium.

We have links on our "Installation" page that explain the correct method:

https://www.bunsenlabs.org/installation … ey-install


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#14 2017-04-22 18:14:01

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

mcarni wrote:

I am testing amd64 live and looks very good

I do have one issue with the install
...it might be related to the atypical way I am using to boot (grub to boot the iso's directly from the HD) so apologies in advance if this is the issue...

The installer complains that it cannot find the any cd or removable media.
i tried both graphical and normal installer
i tried also to get to a shell and mount manually the partition where the iso is but i get an error saying that the device does not exist (even though mount shows all correct partition)
Could this be due to some command line that I have to pass at boot?
thanks a lot for your help

grub entry for live edited @10.04, i had originally pasted the install entry twice

menuentry "ISO Bunsen live" {
	insmod ext2
	insmod iso9660
	# change path accordingly	
	set isofile='/ISO/Bunsenlabs/live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso'
	loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile
	linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz boot=live findiso=${isofile} components qiet splash
	initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
}

grube entry for the install

menuentry "ISO Bunsen install" {
        insmod ext2
        insmod iso9660
        # change path accordingly
        set isofile='/ISO/Bunsenlabs/live-image-amd64-170411.hybrid.iso'
        loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile
        linux (loop)/install/vmlinuz boot=live findiso=${isofile} vga=normal quiet
        initrd (loop)/install/initrd.gz
}

hmmm..so you boot with a grub partition, load the iso on your HD, then use that booted iso to install on the same or different HD?


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#15 2017-04-22 19:54:26

mcarni
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 16

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Horizon_Brave wrote:

hmmm..so you boot with a grub partition, load the iso on your HD, then use that booted iso to install on the same or different HD?


I used to have a separate grub partition, but now I just use the grub installed on my main linux (which has its own partition)
basically I just edit my own grub.cfg instead of running the grub-mkconfig
i have entries on grub.cfg for 3 linux installations, my main one (with grub), a not so updated Bunsen and a freshly installed Bunsen (which I just installed from the live iso)

seems messy, but actually i find it easy, no need for dd nor for cd burning ...VM's
as background information...I started this some time ago when I wanted to have the possibility to boot sysrescuedcd or puppy from a USB stick without having to play around with bios setting
so i added an entry on grub to chainload a USB stick with some rescue linuxes..

hope this clarifies the situation, if you have any question just let me know

m

Offline

#16 2017-04-22 20:45:48

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

damo wrote:

^ Regarding compositing in vbox, have you tried this fix? https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 226#p42226

Yes that works.
Does it only affect bl installation in vbox or also other kinds of virtualization like qemu?

Offline

#17 2017-04-22 21:03:54

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,345

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

^ Seems OK in qemu. Perhaps you can try different settings in compton.conf, or a different vsync setting in bl-compositor (see 'man compton' for possibilities).


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#18 2017-04-22 21:05:31

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Also, the Guest Additions must be installed for full acceleration with the (virtual) video card:

https://virtualboxes.org/doc/installing … on-debian/


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#19 2017-04-22 21:27:27

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

@damo thank you, i'm fine with the fix

@HoaS maybe i rush too fast through bl-welcome but i don't remember seeing an offer for installing build-essential. Wasn't that an offer in the past? Anyway i did it by hand and have fullres now.

Offline

#20 2017-04-22 21:34:55

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,345

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

^ It comes in if you choose in the development screen IIRC, but there is a lot of other stuff with it (bunsen-meta-packaging)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#21 2017-04-22 21:36:22

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

lowrider wrote:

@HoaS maybe i rush too fast through bl-welcome but i don't remember seeing an offer for installing build-essential.

I think that option is part of the devel-install-packaging-tools section.

Use this to install them without invoking `bl-welcome` (you won't have pbuilder set up this way though):

sudo apt install bunsen-meta-packaging

https://www.bunsenlabs.org/repoidx.html … -packaging


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#22 2017-04-22 21:42:44

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

thx guys, that pretty sure clears it up

Offline

#23 2017-04-23 03:40:37

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Decided to install this on a 100gb partition on the laptop and all working fine, typing from within the os now too.

So now have.
sda1 = Archlabs
sda3 = Bunsenlabs
soon to be on sda4 = Archbang openrc

I think im becoming obsessed! wink

Offline

#24 2017-04-23 06:30:48

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,345

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Steve wrote:

...

I think im becoming obsessed! wink

Undoubtedly - now you will only use your hardware for playing and tweaking, with no useful product! Like many of us around here big_smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#25 2017-04-25 14:46:36

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,287

Re: [DONE] RFT Deuterium CD, amd64 and i386 RC isos

Installed to a dual boot system. main install went fine. Failed to install grub to /dev/sdc though (Debian installs do that now again). Up side to that was that I got to sharpen my chroot fu skills and use the use the BL live session to install grub.

Smooth boot up. Nice piece of work.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB