You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-03 00:38:05

12oclocker
Member
Registered: 2016-01-18
Posts: 41

Thunar smb:// stops working

In bl-Helium-4-amd64.iso, I noticed when using Thunar 1.6.11, if I try to connect to a samba share using smb:// in the address field, and I accidentally mistype the share name making it invalid, sometimes that completely breaks all Thunar smb share access, not even valid shares can be accessed, and I must reboot for the problem to resolve. Anyone have any ideas how to fix, anyone seen this problem before? Did some typical googling but cannot find anything.

Offline

#2 2019-02-03 00:45:01

lowrider
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 276

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

get rid of M$ maybe? sorry ops

Offline

#3 2019-02-03 00:53:37

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

You could try restarting the Thunar daemon rather than a full reboot.
I guess I've been lucky, I've not seen the problem.
@lowrider, getting rid of M$ doesn't rid you of smb shares, many/most off the shelf NAS boxes expose smb shares.


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

#4 2019-02-03 16:04:44

12oclocker
Member
Registered: 2016-01-18
Posts: 41

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

actually lowrider, I got rid of MS years ago, but I still use samba shares across my network because it plays nicely with other embedded devices and NAS devices that use smb for their file sharing...
What is strange is that restarting the Thunar daemon seems to have no effect, only a reboot fixes the issue. I will see if I can track down exactly what daemon is failing when it pops up again, its very strange.

Offline

#5 2019-02-05 16:21:23

THX1138
Member
Registered: 2019-01-14
Posts: 197

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

Couple of questions for 12oclocker
What effect on the does disabling the ethernet/wifi port, waiting 5 seconds, then re-enabling it, have when smb stops responding?
Have you disabled firewalls and other security on both machines?

If I were to take a wild guess my thoughts would be with something blocking a port
maybe some kind of security arrangement. I used to have a NAS drive that would block
connctions after a couple of unsuccessful attempts to log in, but the computer I was accessing from would keep hammering the door to get in.

You could try

netstat -tp

to see the state of smb before this happens
and again after it happens

Last edited by THX1138 (2019-02-05 16:33:43)


The telephone is an antiquity - you never know who is calling, there is no image, it is an outmoded product which constantly disrupts work (Ralf Hutter (Kraftwerk)) ps: my wife knows how much I dislike being disrupted at Work - Ralf Hutter hit the nail on the head there

Offline

#6 2019-05-13 22:42:46

12oclocker
Member
Registered: 2016-01-18
Posts: 41

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

I found a fix, adding "sleep 1 &&" in autostart file before thunar dameon, fixes the issue on all 4 laptops I have.
It appears a race condition, that if thunar dameon starts too soon, before wifi or network connections maybe, then its network capabilities will be broken until rebooted. smbtree and smbclient always work, even when thunar does not.

Offline

#7 2019-05-14 04:42:39

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,908
Website

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

12oclocker wrote:

It appears a race condition, that if thunar dameon starts too soon, before wifi or network connections maybe, then its network capabilities will be broken until rebooted.

are you sure a reboot is required?
shouldn't killing/restarting the thunar daemon be enough?

Offline

#8 2019-05-14 07:02:46

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,721
Website

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

Bearded_Blunder wrote:

You could try restarting the Thunar daemon rather than a full reboot.

12oclocker wrote:

What is strange is that restarting the Thunar daemon seems to have no effect, only a reboot fixes the issue.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#9 2019-05-17 03:51:10

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,908
Website

Re: Thunar smb:// stops working

^ fair enough.
i meant it more like "are you sure you actually really really killed all thunar processes" - but yes, i can see now that op mentioned "I will see if I can track down exactly what daemon is failing" - because i seem to remember that thunar is using some helper processes.

in any case, adding a 1s delay is a reasonable workaround i think, so no sleuthing required.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB