You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-18 13:56:42

sitcom
Member
Registered: 2018-10-18
Posts: 5

Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

Hello , i have installed the latest bl Helium x64 distro on a vmware  workstation , everything work fine i just have a minor issue .
I have installed all the tools from vmware or screen resolution etc and everything work except one  thing .
When i resize the vmware window the workspace of bl gets messed up , filling the blank space with repetitive pictures of the original workspace size plus conky get pinned on the upper left space of the workspace .

Here is a picture to visualize what i am talking about . 
Screenshot-2018-10-18-16-33-18.png

Any help will be appreciated !

Offline

#2 2018-10-18 16:02:48

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,643

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

Do the VMWare docs provide any clues? I presume it is a vmware issue, not a bunsenlabs setting as guest.

Set Workstation Display Preferences


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#3 2018-10-18 19:12:49

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

i'm pretty sure logging out & back in (without changing the resolution) fixes that.

Offline

#4 2018-10-19 06:49:04

sitcom
Member
Registered: 2018-10-18
Posts: 5

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

ohnonot wrote:

i'm pretty sure logging out & back in (without changing the resolution) fixes that.

Yeah i confirm that logging out and then in again fixes the problem

damo wrote:

Do the VMWare docs provide any clues? I presume it is a vmware issue, not a bunsenlabs setting as guest.
Set Workstation Display Preferences

I don't think it's a VMWare problem , let me explain why .
The issue replicates even if the resolution is 800x600 on a maximized VM window after trying to adjust the resolution within the BL OS without resizing the VM window.


Any other ideas for dynamic resolution change without the workspace titling ? Logging off and then on everytime i resize the VMware window works but is unproductive and a bit annoying to be honest ...

Offline

#5 2018-10-19 11:38:42

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,643

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

^ Did you try any of the autofit/stretch options in the VMware Preferences -> Display?


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#6 2018-10-19 12:12:47

sitcom
Member
Registered: 2018-10-18
Posts: 5

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

damo wrote:

^ Did you try any of the autofit/stretch options in the VMware Preferences -> Display?

Not many options there but still tried everything , same problem .

Can someone with a properly installed OS ( i mean not via VMware ) try to replicate the problem ?

Simple steps really , change resolution to 800x600 and then change it back to your native resolution supported by your display , will this mess up the workspace ?

Last edited by sitcom (2018-10-19 13:07:04)

Offline

#7 2018-10-19 13:56:00

sitcom
Member
Registered: 2018-10-18
Posts: 5

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

OK I think i have identified the culprit , it is Conky ! I suppose that i have to change something into Conky's setup script in order to make it reset its position to the appropriate place of the workspace every time I resize the window .
The thing is I have no experience whatsoever with Conky , can anyone drop some hints ?

Cheers !

Last edited by sitcom (2018-10-19 13:56:58)

Offline

#8 2018-10-19 15:23:37

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,027

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

It's definitely not Conky!

I know the behavior you showed when one forgot to enter the correct resolution during the installation. But not with vmware, but with QEMU.

For the solution of this problem I have been using successfully for a long time what the admin of the antiX-forum, @anticapitalista, made known:

1) Open ARandR via the antiXcc.
2) Right-click on the [LVDS-1] field and select a new resolution.
3) Layout -> Save as (Choose a suitable name and location. I suggest screen_resolution and save in /usr/local/bin).
4) Select the Layout menu and choose Apply and close arandr.
5) Open a root terminal and type

chmod 755 /usr/local/bin/screen_resolution.sh

6) In Control Center -> Session -> User Desktop Session -> startup tab, add this line below.

screen_resolution.sh &

7) Restart
glasses On the desktop you may have to switch conky off and on again.

Change that to BL and openbox.   wink
screenLayout.png.th.jpg

Offline

#9 2018-10-20 09:17:10

sitcom
Member
Registered: 2018-10-18
Posts: 5

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

unklar wrote:

It's definitely not Conky!

I know the behavior you showed when one forgot to enter the correct resolution during the installation. But not with vmware, but with QEMU.

For the solution of this problem I have been using successfully for a long time what the admin of the antiX-forum, @anticapitalista, made known:

1) Open ARandR via the antiXcc.
2) Right-click on the [LVDS-1] field and select a new resolution.
3) Layout -> Save as (Choose a suitable name and location. I suggest screen_resolution and save in /usr/local/bin).
4) Select the Layout menu and choose Apply and close arandr.
5) Open a root terminal and type

chmod 755 /usr/local/bin/screen_resolution.sh

6) In Control Center -> Session -> User Desktop Session -> startup tab, add this line below.

screen_resolution.sh &

7) Restart
glasses On the desktop you may have to switch conky off and on again.

Change that to BL and openbox.   wink
https://cdn.scrot.moe/images/2018/10/19/screenLayout.png.th.jpg

Hello unklar and thanks for your reply/solution , it is much appreciated . However this is a hardwired solution , i would like a more dynamic fix if it is  possible .
Any other thoughts ?

Cheers !

ps: you are correct , it wasn't Conky after all .

Last edited by sitcom (2018-10-20 09:18:42)

Offline

#10 2018-12-20 03:50:15

fontmaniac
New Member
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 1

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

sitcom wrote:

Hello unklar and thanks for your reply/solution , it is much appreciated . However this is a hardwired solution , i would like a more dynamic fix if it is  possible .
Any other thoughts ?

Cheers !

ps: you are correct , it wasn't Conky after all .

Hi all,

I'm having the same problem. Did anyone managed to find the solution/suggestion where to look for it?
- Archlabs - Arch-based spiritual brother of BunsenLabs - resizes wallpaper properly on resolution change.
- CrunchbangPlusPlus - same behavior as BunsenLabs.

Cheers!

Last edited by fontmaniac (2018-12-20 04:35:27)

Offline

#11 2018-12-21 06:06:15

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,310
Website

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

^ i think it's best if you start your own thread with a full problem description.

Offline

#12 2020-02-14 04:37:19

tusihaha
New Member
Registered: 2020-02-14
Posts: 1

Re: Workspace not adjusting on vmware window resizing

This link helped me.

Open Preferences >> Openbox >> Edit autostart and add these commands before nitrogen --restore

xrandr --newmode "1080p" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode Virtual1 1080p
xrandr --output Virtual1 --mode 1080p

Save and reboot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB