You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-12 18:22:34

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

termite terminal

Anyone using termite terminal?

termite

the Ubuntu install instructions worked for me on Debian 9.1...

ask ubuntu wrote:

Install dependencies

sudo apt install -y g++ libgtk-3-dev gtk-doc-tools gnutls-bin valac intltool libpcre2-dev libglib3.0-cil-dev libgnutls28-dev libgirepository1.0-dev libxml2-utils gperf build-essential

Get and install vte-ng

git clone https://github.com/thestinger/vte-ng.git
echo export LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/include/gtk-3.0:$LIBRARY_PATH"
cd vte-ng && ./autogen.sh && make && sudo make install
cd ..
Get and install termite, and setup

git clone --recursive https://github.com/thestinger/termite.git
cd termite && make && sudo make install
sudo ldconfig
sudo mkdir -p /lib/terminfo/x
sudo ln -s /usr/local/share/terminfo/x/xterm-termite /lib/terminfo/x/xterm-termite

https://askubuntu.com/questions/739163/ … ll-termite

AzureX has a great video about termite;
https://youtu.be/rVOWPi43QLo

Give termite a try... I am impressed wink

Lightweight terminal
Improved fonts/symbols compared to urxvt
Easy/short config file
Clipboard as per VTE
Efficient with zsh/ohmyzsh... cool


[Void linux install termite]

Offline

#2 2017-08-12 18:41:29

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

Very interesting, thanks!

The author happens to be the maintainer for the Arch Linux hardened kernel package so it certainly has some good pedigree  cool

empty@Xanadu:~ $ su -c 'ps_mem' | grep termite                                        
  8.7 MiB +   5.7 MiB =  14.4 MiB	termite
empty@Xanadu:~ $

Half the RAM usage of terminator, nice!

I *love* <Ctrl>+<plus>/<minus> for font sizing, that is genius.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2017-08-12 18:54:10

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: termite terminal

^Termite runs very smooth on my Debian 9.1 and Void installs.
Fonts/symbols look 'nice' in termite!
I am considering termite as my default terminal in my revamped dwmXS 'distrolette'...just from a 'linux desktop user/hobby user' perspective  wink

Last edited by mrneilypops (2017-08-12 18:54:40)

Offline

#4 2017-08-12 19:07:50

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

mrneilypops wrote:

Fonts/symbols look 'nice' in termite!

+1

It actually renders the bars in `alsamixer` correctly:

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-06-18.th.png

yikes

EDIT: urxvt for comparison, note stippled effect for the bar (it should be solid):

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-09-00.th.png

GNOME's terminal renders the `alsamixer` bars OK but then craps out with the font spacing (shown at the edges of the colour blocks):

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-09-14.th.png

So termite's performance is _very_ impressive  glasses

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-12 19:11:45)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2017-08-12 19:15:35

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,809

Re: termite terminal

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

....
I *love* <Ctrl>+<plus>/<minus> for font sizing, that is genius.

You mean like with Terminator? (Except I have to use Shift+Ctrl+plus) wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#6 2017-08-12 19:16:59

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

damo wrote:

You mean like with Terminator?

I suppose, yes.

I've never had a problem with the features of terminator (they are all lovely, I do agree), my beef is with the bloat...

EDIT: termite.cc is only 1514 SLOC:

https://github.com/thestinger/termite/b … termite.cc

Wow, that's st territory, although the latter is in plain C rather than nasty old C++

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-12 19:25:08)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2017-08-12 19:41:43

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,011
Website

Re: termite terminal

Any tricks to define line spacing in termite? Found this
https://github.com/thestinger/termite/issues/232
which says no.

(Something similar like 'URxvt.lineSpace: 6' in urxvt terms).

Can't find anything like that for tilix either. edit: Actually for me that single thing is enough that urxvt wins every time.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-08-12 19:42:42)

Offline

#8 2017-08-12 19:45:14

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: termite terminal

@Head_on_a_Stick
Thanks for the input - good example alsamixer wink

@brontosaurusrex
I 'think'(from what I read) that termite font rendering is so much improved that rxvt font fixes are not required.
Please don't shoot me down here...that is just my uderstanding of termite thus far as a desktop user...

stretchbang = cool = bookmarked

Last edited by mrneilypops (2017-08-12 19:58:12)

Offline

#9 2017-08-12 19:58:49

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,011
Website

Re: termite terminal

Well, it's not really a font fix, just a user preferring more line-spacing than default.

Offline

#10 2017-08-12 19:59:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

The man page is not clear but to change configuration use:

mkdir -p ~/.config/termite
cp /etc/xdg/termite/config ~/.config/termite
vim ~/.config/termite/config # edit to taste

hth


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2017-08-12 20:19:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

It even offers (true) transparency, I think I may be switching to this myself (Arch has vte3-ng in [community]).


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#12 2017-08-14 21:29:22

geekosupremo
Member
Registered: 2016-04-27
Posts: 168

Re: termite terminal

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

It even offers (true) transparency, I think I may be switching to this myself (Arch has vte3-ng in [community]).

It's also the default terminal emulator for ArchLabs. wink I found it quite pleasant while using it there.

Offline

#13 2017-08-14 22:19:41

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,809

Re: termite terminal

I'm liking it smile

It took a while how to figure out how to get a colored prompt though - I edited ".bashrc" and add it to the case statement...

# set a fancy prompt (non-color, unless we know we "want" color)
case "$TERM" in
    xterm-color|*-256color|xterm-termite) color_prompt=yes;;
esac

Or is there a better way?


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2017-08-15 06:12:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

damo wrote:

how to get a colored prompt

Do the usual colour escapes not work?

This should give a "Red Prompt:"

# ~/.bashrc                                                                                                                                 
PS1='\e[31mRed Prompt:\e[0m\$ '

2017-08-15-071041_98x13_scrot.png


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#15 2017-08-15 08:25:23

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,809

Re: termite terminal

^ I had the PS1 colours set up already in .bashrc, but it wasn't picking up the new $TERM variable. So I added it manually to the case statement.

I see it is possible to do something via systemd, but I'll stick to editing my .bashrc wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#16 2017-08-16 05:45:10

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,397
Website

Re: termite terminal

i don't think i've ever seen a non-color terminal, so i tend to simply take that case-esac out, if there's trouble getting colors.
and then i have a colored prompt again.
this ethod has never failed me.

are there any non-color terminals on "normal" linux machines?

Last edited by ohnonot (2017-08-16 05:46:46)

Offline

#17 2017-08-16 06:33:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

^ I think it's some weirdness in the stock Debian ~/.bashrc, they have a lot of extra functions compared to upstream (this normal for Debian) — color_prompt() is probably defined earlier in the file.
From ~/.bashrc:

# uncomment for a colored prompt, if the terminal has the capability; turned
# off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window
# should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt
#force_color_prompt=yes

Line 46  glasses

Looks like `tput setaf 1` failed for termite, for whatever reason.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-16 06:40:39)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#18 2017-08-17 03:46:44

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,397
Website

Re: termite terminal

rant on:

Stock debian wrote:

turned off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt

that's just wrong.
how many times have I blessed ditributions that color theit prompt by default; try entering 'dmesg' and scrolling back to where it starts without a colored prompt!
doesn't have to be fancy, but colors also convey information.

rant off.

Offline

#19 2017-08-17 06:54:10

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,527
Website

Re: termite terminal

^good point! I've been resorting to hitting enter several times before running a command with long output, just to find the prompt.  ops  Off to add a colour prompt in .bashrc...


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#20 2017-08-17 12:20:16

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: termite terminal

Is anyone able to get ranger+w3m image preview working in termite?
https://github.com/thestinger/termite/issues/501

Offline

#21 2017-08-18 06:13:19

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

ohnonot wrote:

try entering 'dmesg' and scrolling back to where it starts without a colored prompt!

True story: my Arch box has a colourised `dmesg` output and a non-coloured prompt  big_smile

mrneilypops wrote:

Is anyone able to get ranger+w3m image preview working in termite?

I can't get ranger previews working at all in Arch, just like @jelly in the link (but they work fine in OpenBSD with their version of xterm)  hmm

EDIT: does w3m itself work in your system? Does it show images when you browse with it?

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-18 06:26:08)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#22 2017-08-18 09:48:37

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: termite terminal

^
w3m image preview works for me on Debian 9.1 + urxvt(c)

left image urxvtc / right image termite

2017-08-18-114237_1920x1080_scrot.th.png

compton on = termite ranger preview transparent background
compton off = termite ranger preview black background

Offline

#23 2018-10-09 04:59:44

allalu
New Member
Registered: 2018-10-07
Posts: 4

Re: termite terminal

Can't launch the app:
termite/config parsing failed: Нет такого файла или каталога
termite: symbol lookup error: termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Offline

#24 2018-10-10 05:25:20

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,397
Website

Re: termite terminal

allalu wrote:

Нет такого файла или каталога

my very limited knowledge of cyrillic alphabet tells me that this probably means "no such file or directory".
i don't use termite, but it would appear that it fails to start without a config file.
please open another terminal, and issue this command:

LC_ALL=C termite

and then show us all the output.

use code tags on the forum, just like i did above.

Offline

#25 2018-10-10 12:59:17

allalu
New Member
Registered: 2018-10-07
Posts: 4

Re: termite terminal

LC_ALL=C termite
/home/ilya/.config/termite/config parsing failed: No such file or directory

I have copied /etc/xdg/termite/config to /home/ilya/.config/termite/ but it still says

ilya@debian:~/termite$ termite
termite: symbol lookup error: termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Also with:

ilya@debian:~/termite$ /usr/local/bin/termite
/usr/local/bin/termite: symbol lookup error: /usr/local/bin/termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Last edited by allalu (2018-10-10 13:07:12)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB