You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-12 18:22:34

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 511
Website

termite terminal

Anyone using termite terminal?

termite

the Ubuntu install instructions worked for me on Debian 9.1...

ask ubuntu wrote:

Install dependencies

sudo apt install -y g++ libgtk-3-dev gtk-doc-tools gnutls-bin valac intltool libpcre2-dev libglib3.0-cil-dev libgnutls28-dev libgirepository1.0-dev libxml2-utils gperf build-essential

Get and install vte-ng

git clone https://github.com/thestinger/vte-ng.git
echo export LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/include/gtk-3.0:$LIBRARY_PATH"
cd vte-ng && ./autogen.sh && make && sudo make install
cd ..
Get and install termite, and setup

git clone --recursive https://github.com/thestinger/termite.git
cd termite && make && sudo make install
sudo ldconfig
sudo mkdir -p /lib/terminfo/x
sudo ln -s /usr/local/share/terminfo/x/xterm-termite /lib/terminfo/x/xterm-termite

https://askubuntu.com/questions/739163/ … ll-termite

AzureX has a great video about termite;
https://youtu.be/rVOWPi43QLo

Give termite a try... I am impressed wink

Lightweight terminal
Improved fonts/symbols compared to urxvt
Easy/short config file
Clipboard as per VTE
Efficient with zsh/ohmyzsh... cool


[Void linux install termite]

Offline

#2 2017-08-12 18:41:29

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

Very interesting, thanks!

The author happens to be the maintainer for the Arch Linux hardened kernel package so it certainly has some good pedigree  cool

empty@Xanadu:~ $ su -c 'ps_mem' | grep termite                                        
  8.7 MiB +   5.7 MiB =  14.4 MiB	termite
empty@Xanadu:~ $

Half the RAM usage of terminator, nice!

I *love* <Ctrl>+<plus>/<minus> for font sizing, that is genius.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2017-08-12 18:54:10

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 511
Website

Re: termite terminal

^Termite runs very smooth on my Debian 9.1 and Void installs.
Fonts/symbols look 'nice' in termite!
I am considering termite as my default terminal in my revamped dwmXS 'distrolette'...just from a 'linux desktop user/hobby user' perspective  wink

Last edited by mrneilypops (2017-08-12 18:54:40)

Offline

#4 2017-08-12 19:07:50

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

mrneilypops wrote:

Fonts/symbols look 'nice' in termite!

+1

It actually renders the bars in `alsamixer` correctly:

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-06-18.th.png

yikes

EDIT: urxvt for comparison, note stippled effect for the bar (it should be solid):

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-09-00.th.png

GNOME's terminal renders the `alsamixer` bars OK but then craps out with the font spacing (shown at the edges of the colour blocks):

Screenshotfrom2017-08-1220-09-14.th.png

So termite's performance is _very_ impressive  glasses

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-12 19:11:45)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2017-08-12 19:15:35

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: termite terminal

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

....
I *love* <Ctrl>+<plus>/<minus> for font sizing, that is genius.

You mean like with Terminator? (Except I have to use Shift+Ctrl+plus) wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#6 2017-08-12 19:16:59

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

damo wrote:

You mean like with Terminator?

I suppose, yes.

I've never had a problem with the features of terminator (they are all lovely, I do agree), my beef is with the bloat...

EDIT: termite.cc is only 1514 SLOC:

https://github.com/thestinger/termite/b … termite.cc

Wow, that's st territory, although the latter is in plain C rather than nasty old C++

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-12 19:25:08)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2017-08-12 19:41:43

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,596

Re: termite terminal

Any tricks to define line spacing in termite? Found this
https://github.com/thestinger/termite/issues/232
which says no.

(Something similar like 'URxvt.lineSpace: 6' in urxvt terms).

Can't find anything like that for tilix either. edit: Actually for me that single thing is enough that urxvt wins every time.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-08-12 19:42:42)

Online

#8 2017-08-12 19:45:14

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 511
Website

Re: termite terminal

@Head_on_a_Stick
Thanks for the input - good example alsamixer wink

@brontosaurusrex
I 'think'(from what I read) that termite font rendering is so much improved that rxvt font fixes are not required.
Please don't shoot me down here...that is just my uderstanding of termite thus far as a desktop user...

stretchbang = cool = bookmarked

Last edited by mrneilypops (2017-08-12 19:58:12)

Offline

#9 2017-08-12 19:58:49

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,596

Re: termite terminal

Well, it's not really a font fix, just a user preferring more line-spacing than default.

Online

#10 2017-08-12 19:59:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

The man page is not clear but to change configuration use:

mkdir -p ~/.config/termite
cp /etc/xdg/termite/config ~/.config/termite
vim ~/.config/termite/config # edit to taste

hth


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2017-08-12 20:19:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

It even offers (true) transparency, I think I may be switching to this myself (Arch has vte3-ng in [community]).


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#12 2017-08-14 21:29:22

geekosupremo
Member
Registered: 2016-04-27
Posts: 168

Re: termite terminal

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

It even offers (true) transparency, I think I may be switching to this myself (Arch has vte3-ng in [community]).

It's also the default terminal emulator for ArchLabs. wink I found it quite pleasant while using it there.

Offline

#13 2017-08-14 22:19:41

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: termite terminal

I'm liking it smile

It took a while how to figure out how to get a colored prompt though - I edited ".bashrc" and add it to the case statement...

# set a fancy prompt (non-color, unless we know we "want" color)
case "$TERM" in
    xterm-color|*-256color|xterm-termite) color_prompt=yes;;
esac

Or is there a better way?


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2017-08-15 06:12:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

damo wrote:

how to get a colored prompt

Do the usual colour escapes not work?

This should give a "Red Prompt:"

# ~/.bashrc                                                                                                                                 
PS1='\e[31mRed Prompt:\e[0m\$ '

2017-08-15-071041_98x13_scrot.png


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#15 2017-08-15 08:25:23

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: termite terminal

^ I had the PS1 colours set up already in .bashrc, but it wasn't picking up the new $TERM variable. So I added it manually to the case statement.

I see it is possible to do something via systemd, but I'll stick to editing my .bashrc wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#16 2017-08-16 05:45:10

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,198
Website

Re: termite terminal

i don't think i've ever seen a non-color terminal, so i tend to simply take that case-esac out, if there's trouble getting colors.
and then i have a colored prompt again.
this ethod has never failed me.

are there any non-color terminals on "normal" linux machines?

Last edited by ohnonot (2017-08-16 05:46:46)

Offline

#17 2017-08-16 06:33:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

^ I think it's some weirdness in the stock Debian ~/.bashrc, they have a lot of extra functions compared to upstream (this normal for Debian) — color_prompt() is probably defined earlier in the file.
From ~/.bashrc:

# uncomment for a colored prompt, if the terminal has the capability; turned
# off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window
# should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt
#force_color_prompt=yes

Line 46  glasses

Looks like `tput setaf 1` failed for termite, for whatever reason.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-16 06:40:39)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#18 2017-08-17 03:46:44

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,198
Website

Re: termite terminal

rant on:

Stock debian wrote:

turned off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt

that's just wrong.
how many times have I blessed ditributions that color theit prompt by default; try entering 'dmesg' and scrolling back to where it starts without a colored prompt!
doesn't have to be fancy, but colors also convey information.

rant off.

Offline

#19 2017-08-17 06:54:10

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,677
Website

Re: termite terminal

^good point! I've been resorting to hitting enter several times before running a command with long output, just to find the prompt.  ops  Off to add a colour prompt in .bashrc...


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#20 2017-08-17 12:20:16

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 511
Website

Re: termite terminal

Is anyone able to get ranger+w3m image preview working in termite?
https://github.com/thestinger/termite/issues/501

Offline

#21 2017-08-18 06:13:19

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: termite terminal

ohnonot wrote:

try entering 'dmesg' and scrolling back to where it starts without a colored prompt!

True story: my Arch box has a colourised `dmesg` output and a non-coloured prompt  big_smile

mrneilypops wrote:

Is anyone able to get ranger+w3m image preview working in termite?

I can't get ranger previews working at all in Arch, just like @jelly in the link (but they work fine in OpenBSD with their version of xterm)  hmm

EDIT: does w3m itself work in your system? Does it show images when you browse with it?

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2017-08-18 06:26:08)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#22 2017-08-18 09:48:37

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 511
Website

Re: termite terminal

^
w3m image preview works for me on Debian 9.1 + urxvt(c)

left image urxvtc / right image termite

2017-08-18-114237_1920x1080_scrot.th.png

compton on = termite ranger preview transparent background
compton off = termite ranger preview black background

Offline

#23 2018-10-09 04:59:44

allalu
New Member
Registered: 2018-10-07
Posts: 4

Re: termite terminal

Can't launch the app:
termite/config parsing failed: Нет такого файла или каталога
termite: symbol lookup error: termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Offline

#24 2018-10-10 05:25:20

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,198
Website

Re: termite terminal

allalu wrote:

Нет такого файла или каталога

my very limited knowledge of cyrillic alphabet tells me that this probably means "no such file or directory".
i don't use termite, but it would appear that it fails to start without a config file.
please open another terminal, and issue this command:

LC_ALL=C termite

and then show us all the output.

use code tags on the forum, just like i did above.

Offline

#25 2018-10-10 12:59:17

allalu
New Member
Registered: 2018-10-07
Posts: 4

Re: termite terminal

LC_ALL=C termite
/home/ilya/.config/termite/config parsing failed: No such file or directory

I have copied /etc/xdg/termite/config to /home/ilya/.config/termite/ but it still says

ilya@debian:~/termite$ termite
termite: symbol lookup error: termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Also with:

ilya@debian:~/termite$ /usr/local/bin/termite
/usr/local/bin/termite: symbol lookup error: /usr/local/bin/termite: undefined symbol: vte_terminal_set_allow_hyperlink

Last edited by allalu (2018-10-10 13:07:12)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB