You are not logged in.

#51 2017-07-09 08:00:06

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,721
Website

Re: My tint2 config

damo wrote:

Tint2's showing some radial taskbar gradient, and a couple of separators.

After trying on a small-screened Virtual Machine, my two cents:
Screenshot_2017-07-09_16-45-57.png

I like the gradient.
I don't want the desktops to be numbered, but I suppose as a default it might be good.
I could do without the separators.
I'm not sure if I want the borders either to be honest.

To be honest, I rather liked the almost-invisible CrunchBang tint2, but that's just one opinion. Make an "almost invisible" version too?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#52 2017-07-09 14:11:51

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,089

Re: My tint2 config

johnraff wrote:

After trying on a small-screened Virtual Machine, my two cents:
https://s10.postimg.org/ork4vuo79/Screenshot_2017-07-09_16-45-57.png

I could do without the separators.

Try it with:

separator_style = empty

Should look better (IMO) get some spacing, but not see that vertical line. You can take a look at my recent config (post #47) to see how I set that up. Adjust the padding to suit.

Last edited by PackRat (2017-07-09 14:15:47)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#53 2017-07-09 15:04:08

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 734

Re: My tint2 config

Looks great, damo. That wallpaper and tint2 should indeed be part of the collection for the upcoming BL version, but if people want it now it should work well with current BL version.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#54 2017-07-09 15:15:05

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

DeepDayze wrote:

Looks great, damo. That wallpaper and tint2 should indeed be part of the collection for the upcoming BL version, but if people want it now it should work well with current BL version.

NB: The tint2 won't work properly unless it is installed from backports wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#55 2017-07-09 15:27:15

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 734

Re: My tint2 config

damo wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:

Looks great, damo. That wallpaper and tint2 should indeed be part of the collection for the upcoming BL version, but if people want it now it should work well with current BL version.

NB: The tint2 won't work properly unless it is installed from backports wink

True and I have the latest tint2 now smile

~$ tint2 -v
tint2 version 0.14.6

Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#56 2017-07-09 17:15:55

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,816
Website

Re: My tint2 config

scrot18900.png

# Background 1: Launcher
rounded = 1
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #ffffff 0
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #ffffff 0
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #ffffff 0
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 2: Tooltip
rounded = 1
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #111111 70
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #111111 70
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #111111 70
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 3: 
rounded = 1
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #111111 30 would have something to do with
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #111111 30
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #111111 30
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 4: 
rounded = 1
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #111111 0
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #111111 0
border_color_hover = #111111 50 would have something to do with
background_color_pressed = #111111 0
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 5: Inactive taskbar
rounded = 2
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #111111 0
border_color = #111111 25
background_color_hover = #111111 20
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #111111 20
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 6: Active taskbar
rounded = 2
border_width = 1
border_sides = BLR
background_color = #111111 0
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #111111 50
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #111111 50
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 7: 
rounded = 3
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #ffffff 70
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #ffffff 70
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #ffffff 70
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 8: 
rounded = 1
border_width = 1
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #111111 0
border_color = #111111 50
background_color_hover = #111111 0
border_color_hover = #111111 50
background_color_pressed = #111111 0
border_color_pressed = #111111 50

# Background 9: Systray
rounded = 1
border_width = 0
border_sides = TBLR
background_color = #ffffff 0
border_color = #111111 100
background_color_hover = #ffffff 0
border_color_hover = #111111 100
background_color_pressed = #ffffff 0
border_color_pressed = #111111 100

# Background 10: Active task
rounded = 10
border_width = 2
border_sides = T
background_color = #ffffff 0
border_color = #4ab3e4 90
background_color_hover = #ffffff 0
border_color_hover = #111111 100
background_color_pressed = #ffffff 0
border_color_pressed = #111111 100

#-------------------------------------
# Panel
panel_items = TSEC
panel_size = 96% 46
panel_margin = 0 0
panel_padding = 3 2 3
panel_background_id = 0
wm_menu = 1
panel_dock = 0
panel_position = top center horizontal
panel_layer = bottom
panel_monitor = 1
primary_monitor_first = 0
autohide = 0
autohide_show_timeout = 0.3
autohide_hide_timeout = 1.5
autohide_height = 6
strut_policy = follow_size
panel_window_name = tint2
disable_transparency = 0
mouse_effects = 0
font_shadow = 0
mouse_hover_icon_asb = 100 -100 10
mouse_pressed_icon_asb = 100 -90 -100

#-------------------------------------
# Taskbar
taskbar_mode = multi_desktop
taskbar_padding = 0 0 0
taskbar_background_id = 5
taskbar_active_background_id = 6
taskbar_name = 0
taskbar_hide_inactive_tasks = 0
taskbar_hide_different_monitor = 0
taskbar_always_show_all_desktop_tasks = 0
taskbar_name_padding = 0 0
taskbar_name_background_id = 0
taskbar_name_active_background_id = 0
taskbar_name_font = Cuprum 10
taskbar_name_font_color = #cccccc 100
taskbar_name_active_font_color = #000000 100
taskbar_distribute_size = 1
taskbar_sort_order = none
task_align = center


#-------------------------------------
# Task
task_text = 0
task_icon = 1
task_centered = 1
urgent_nb_of_blink = 20
task_maximum_size = 1000 40
task_padding = 0 0 0
task_font = cuprum 10
task_tooltip = 1
task_icon_asb = 50 -100 -40
task_normal_icon_asb = 55 -100 -40
task_active_icon_asb = 80 -100 -10
task_urgent_icon_asb = 100 -100 -2
task_iconified_icon_asb = 50 -100 -40
task_active_background_id = 10
mouse_left = toggle_iconify
mouse_middle = close
mouse_right = toggle
mouse_scroll_up = toggle
mouse_scroll_down = iconify

#-------------------------------------
# System tray (notification area)
systray_padding = 5 0 10
systray_background_id = 9
systray_sort = right2left
systray_icon_size = 24
systray_icon_asb = 100 -100 -100
systray_monitor = 1

#-------------------------------------
# Launcher
launcher_padding = 0 0 0
launcher_background_id = 1
launcher_icon_background_id = 0
launcher_icon_size = 30
launcher_icon_asb = 100 -100 -34
launcher_icon_theme = Clarity
launcher_icon_theme_override = 0
startup_notifications = 1
launcher_tooltip = 1
launcher_item_app = ~/source/postbang/applications/menuarch.desktop

#-------------------------------------
# Clock
time1_format = %d.%b
time2_format = %H:%M
time1_font = cuprum 10
time1_timezone = 
time2_timezone = 
time2_font = cuprum 13
clock_font_color = #111111 100
clock_padding = 10 2
clock_background_id = 0
clock_tooltip = 
clock_tooltip_timezone = 
clock_lclick_command = gsimplecal
clock_rclick_command = gsimplecal
clock_mclick_command = 
clock_uwheel_command = 
clock_dwheel_command = 

#-------------------------------------
# Battery
battery_tooltip = 1
battery_low_status = 20
battery_low_cmd = notify-send "battery low"
bat1_font = Cuprum 10
bat2_font = Cuprum 10
battery_font_color = #828282 100
battery_padding = 2 0
battery_background_id = 0
battery_hide = 96
battery_lclick_command = 
battery_rclick_command = 
battery_mclick_command = 
battery_uwheel_command = 
battery_dwheel_command = 
ac_connected_cmd = 
ac_disconnected_cmd = 

#-------------------------------------
# Tooltip
tooltip_show_timeout = 0
tooltip_hide_timeout = 0
tooltip_padding = 2 2
tooltip_background_id = 2
tooltip_font_color = #d0d0d0 100
tooltip_font = cuprum 10

#-------------------------------------
# E = EXECP
execp = new
execp_centered = 0
execp_has_icon = 0
execp_command = printVolCont
#execp_interval = 0
# behaves well, looks good:
execp_continuous = 1
execp_font = cuprum 8
execp_font_color = #111111 100
execp_padding = 0 0 0
# disable this tooltip to get update info
execp_tooltip = volume
#execp_background_id = 0
#execp_padding = 0 0 50
execp_mclick_command = amixer set Master toggle
execp_rclick_command = amixer set Master 5%+
execp_lclick_command = amixer set Master 5%-
execp_uwheel_command = amixer set Master 1%-
execp_dwheel_command = amixer set Master 1%+

Alsa volume script is here (It won't work with pulse right now). Compile latest tint2 master if things are not working as expected.
p.s. To enable symmetrical multi-workspaces-display change 'taskbar_distribute_size'.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2017-07-09 17:39:49)

Offline

#57 2017-07-09 22:30:32

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

Anyone want a shutdown button?

tint2-shutdown.png

This is the button exec (add to panel_items = T:S:C:P)...

# Button
button = new
button_icon = /usr/share/images/bunsen/exit/light/poweroff.png
button_text =
button_tooltip = Logout/Shutdown...
button_lclick_command = bl-exit
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 32

...and the button is from the bl-exit theme
poweroff.png

Last edited by damo (2017-07-10 09:18:19)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#58 2017-07-09 23:04:45

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 399
Website

Re: My tint2 config

There is now a button plugin: https://gitlab.com/o9000/tint2/blob/mas … .md#button . For this the icon name does not require a full path nor extension (it is searched in the theme).

Example:

button = new
button_icon = tint2conf
button_text =
button_tooltip = Configure panel
button_lclick_command = tint2conf
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 24

Last edited by o9000 (2017-07-09 23:06:21)

Offline

#59 2017-07-09 23:40:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

^ But if there is no associated icon, for a script my case, it won't work:

button_icon = bl-exit

I notice that the full filepath does work though...and button_max_icon_size is a real help smile

Thanks for all the hard work on Tint2, it is great!

EDIT: I have edited my post ^^


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#60 2017-07-10 00:46:07

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,721
Website

Re: My tint2 config

damo wrote:

Anyone want a shutdown button?

Candidate for the default tint2 maybe?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#61 2017-07-10 09:10:28

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

johnraff wrote:
damo wrote:

Anyone want a shutdown button?

Candidate for the default tint2 maybe?

# Panel
# with shutdown button
panel_items = T:S:C:P
# without shutdown button
#panel_items = T:S:C

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#62 2017-07-10 09:55:49

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 399
Website

Re: My tint2 config

damo wrote:

^ But if there is no associated icon, for a script my case, it won't work:

button_icon = bl-exit

I notice that the full filepath does work though...and button_max_icon_size is a real help smile

Please explain "won't work", I don't understand what's going on.

If the icon does not exist, a dummy one should be shown. Is that happening?

Is the icon really missing from the theme, or is tint2 failing to find it?

Offline

#63 2017-07-10 10:22:17

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

^ It isn't present in a "theme", but bl-exit is a script, without an associated icon. The dummy icon does show, but I want it to be "poweroff.png". I guess I could set up a desktop file for it (does tint2 look there?),or put symlinks in a theme but the full filepath is working fine.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#64 2017-07-10 12:54:43

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: My tint2 config

I used file path

/usr/share/icons/Faenza-Dark/actions/24/system-shutdown-panel.png

For the icon button to use for bl-exit.

Confirmed working, thankyou 09000 and all involved. Cheers.

Screenshot-100717-224817.th.png

Offline

#65 2017-07-10 13:02:54

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: My tint2 config

Now to see if i can make a "show desktop" button.

Edit: That one is tricky, best off using keybind W-d

How does this keybind execute though?

Managed to find a way with this script from here: http://bbs.archbang.org/viewtopic.php?id=2867

#!/bin/sh
if wmctrl -m | grep "mode: ON"; then
exec wmctrl -k off
else
exec wmctrl -k on
fi

Cant find appropriate button icon at the moment but used the debian logo / faenza dark icon.

/usr/share/icons/Faenza-Dark/places/24/start-here-debian.png

Left click command:

/home/sc/bin/show_desktop

Screenshot-100717-234303.png

Another edit: Just realised this script interferes with conky and so does keybind W-d. May need some tweaking...will look into that tommorow.

Last edited by Steve (2017-07-10 13:59:00)

Offline

#66 2017-07-10 16:17:06

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,089

Re: My tint2 config

o9000 wrote:

There is now a button plugin: https://gitlab.com/o9000/tint2/blob/mas … .md#button . For this the icon name does not require a full path nor extension (it is searched in the theme).

Example:

button = new
button_icon = tint2conf
button_text =
button_tooltip = Configure panel
button_lclick_command = tint2conf
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 24

Interesting. Any advantage/disadvantage to using buttons instead of launchers? Looks like buttons have more flexability by using all the mouse buttons.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#67 2017-07-10 17:05:30

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 399
Website

Re: My tint2 config

@Steve: I think using just

button_icon = system-shutdown-panel

should be enough when Faenza-Dark is your icon theme. If tint2 cannot find the icon, it's a bug.

@PackRat:

Positioning: All launchers stay together in a grid (depending on the panel size and orientation, this may be a button row, column or a matrix); buttons can be placed anywhere.

Ease of use: Launchers work well for applications with already available desktop files. But for custom commands, they are a bit harder to create and manage: the user needs to create a .desktop file, place it in some reasonable location, remember to copy it when transferring the config to another computer etc. Buttons are easy to configure: run this command, show this icon and/or text, and you're done.

But the reason of existence of buttons is because there have been repeated requests for a start menu in tint2. This is not a trivial task, and other teams can do a much better job than I can (Openbox, jgmenu etc.), so I've decided not to implement a menu, and instead created the button element as a easy to use link between tint2 and an external menu. It is easy to start jgmenu for example.

I was planning to add an option to turn left clicks (or any clicks) into right clicks forwarded to the desktop, to open the Openbox start menu. It feels more natural to have a start button that reacts on left click. Also the current behavior of forwarding right click from the taskbar gets awkward when the panel is full, and you try to find an empty spot that still forwards it.

But of course, buttons can be used as general shortcuts. I use a couple myself.

Last edited by o9000 (2017-07-10 17:07:34)

Offline

#68 2017-07-10 18:38:17

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

o9000 wrote:

...
I was planning to add an option to turn left clicks (or any clicks) into right clicks forwarded to the desktop, to open the Openbox start menu. It feels more natural to have a start button that reacts on left click. Also the current behavior of forwarding right click from the taskbar gets awkward when the panel is full, and you try to find an empty spot that still forwards it.
....

Start the root-menu, assuming the default keybind in rc.xml...

button_lclick_command = xdotool key super+space

wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#69 2017-07-10 19:18:39

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

"BunsenLabs Start Menu" button: it runs the root-menu
tint-menu.md.png

# Root Menu
button = new
button_icon = bunsenlabs-button.svg
button_text =
button_tooltip = Menu
button_lclick_command = xdotool key super+space
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 32

I suppose that to do it properly, the command should be something like...

if type xdotool &>/dev/null;then xdotool key super+space;else notify-send "You need to install xdotool!";fi

Last edited by damo (2017-07-10 19:34:40)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#70 2017-07-11 19:45:53

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: My tint2 config

o9000 wrote:

This is not a trivial task, and other teams can do a much better job than I can (Openbox, jgmenu etc.), so I've decided not to implement a menu, and instead created the button element as a easy to use link between tint2 and an external menu. It is easy to start jgmenu for example.

Wise decision. Although I'm convinced that your work would have been terrific on a menu too, separating the two elements leaves more space for future creativity. I've been using jgmenu for quite a while now and I'm very satisfied with it already.


o9000 wrote:

I was planning to add an option to turn left clicks (or any clicks) into right clicks forwarded to the desktop, to open the Openbox start menu. It feels more natural to have a start button that reacts on left click. Also the current behavior of forwarding right click from the taskbar gets awkward when the panel is full, and you try to find an empty spot that still forwards it.
But of course, buttons can be used as general shortcuts. I use a couple myself.

I mentioned it already in the bl-obmenu-generator thread what I've just discovered accidentally: It might be indeed a nuisance to find the right spot to open the start menu if the panel is full and there is a window opened full size covering the screen. However: Creating a two-three pixel wide edge on the screen solves the issue (it's not noticeable otherwise)!

I just discovered this edge after putting tint2 to the vertical position. It's comfortable: Just pulling up the mouse pointer to the edge and using a right click works everywhere, even if something like the browser is opened full size.

Offline

#71 2017-07-11 20:01:41

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,057

Re: My tint2 config

^ #! shipped with a default 1px OB margin, for that very reason.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#72 2017-07-11 20:04:29

o9000
tint2 developer
From: Network Neighborhood
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 399
Website

Re: My tint2 config

True, but it's not obvious smile

Offline

#73 2017-07-12 11:30:39

Steve
Member
Registered: 2017-01-03
Posts: 642

Re: My tint2 config

o9000 wrote:

@Steve: I think using just

button_icon = system-shutdown-panel

should be enough when Faenza-Dark is your icon theme. If tint2 cannot find the icon, it's a bug.

Not using that theme, but could not find a similiar icon in feanza-dark-bunsen so used full path to feanza-dark.

Offline

#74 2017-07-12 17:05:09

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,089

Re: My tint2 config

o9000 wrote:

@Steve: I think using just

button_icon = system-shutdown-panel

should be enough when Faenza-Dark is your icon theme. If tint2 cannot find the icon, it's a bug.

@PackRat:

But of course, buttons can be used as general shortcuts. I use a couple myself.

I'm liking these buttons - similar to the way FvwmButtons handles launchers:

tint2_buttons.th.png

button = new
button_icon = /usr/share/pixmaps/void-logo.png
button_text = Menu
button_tooltip = Application Menu
button_font = Sans Regular 8
button_font_color = #000000 60
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 0
# horiz vert space icon/text
button_padding = 1 1 2
button_max_icon_size = 28
button_lclick_command = pmenu.py
button_rclick_command = session-exit

button = new
button_icon = /usr/share/pixmaps/gksu-root-terminal.png
button_text = Terminal
button_tooltip = Terminal
button_font = Sans Regular 8
button_font_color = #000000 60
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 0
# horiz vert space icon/text
button_padding = 1 1 2
button_max_icon_size = 28
button_lclick_command = xfce4-terminal
button_rclick_command = xfce4-terminal -x tmux
button_mclick_command = `gksudo xfce4-terminal`

Last edited by PackRat (2017-07-12 18:58:14)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#75 2017-07-16 09:20:28

DustyB
Member
Registered: 2017-07-02
Posts: 61

Re: My tint2 config

Does anyone know how to identify a systray icon that is being used by a particular application... without manually searching for it in the icon theme folder?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB