You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-24 09:21:23

Muttley Black
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 36

Lost Sound

[MOD EDIT: Split from https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=662 ]

Hello all!

I lost my sound today and after i read this thread i tried to fix it, but with no luck. Maybe my bad english or that i am not well known with linux yet. I apologize!

Here are all the outputs:

lspci | grep Audio
lsmod

muttley@black:~$ lspci | grep Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
muttley@black:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ctr                    12927  1 
ccm                    17577  1 
cpufreq_conservative    14184  0 
cpufreq_userspace      12525  0 
cpufreq_powersave      12454  0 
cpufreq_stats          12782  0 
arc4                   12536  2 
rtl8192ce              52164  0 
uvcvideo               79005  0 
rtl_pci                25947  1 rtl8192ce
rtlwifi                54719  2 rtl_pci,rtl8192ce
rtl8192c_common        40162  1 rtl8192ce
mac80211              474277  3 rtl_pci,rtlwifi,rtl8192ce
videobuf2_vmalloc      12816  1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops       12519  1 videobuf2_vmalloc
edac_mce_amd           21166  0 
snd_hda_codec_realtek    67127  1 
snd_hda_codec_generic    63181  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
cfg80211              405538  2 mac80211,rtlwifi
videobuf2_core         47787  1 uvcvideo
snd_hda_intel          26327  5 
edac_core              51465  0 
kvm_amd                59131  0 
v4l2_common            12995  1 videobuf2_core
snd_hda_controller     26646  1 snd_hda_intel
kvm                   388635  1 kvm_amd
videodev              126451  3 uvcvideo,v4l2_common,videobuf2_core
snd_hda_codec         104463  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
media                  18305  2 uvcvideo,videodev
snd_hwdep              13148  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                88662  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              26614  1 snd_pcm
psmouse                99249  0 
snd                    65244  17 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
pcspkr                 12595  0 
serio_raw              12849  0 
soundcore              13026  2 snd,snd_hda_codec
k10temp                12618  0 
joydev                 17063  0 
evdev                  17445  14 
sp5100_tco             12864  0 
radeon               1345162  3 
i2c_piix4              20864  0 
toshiba_acpi           27096  0 
ttm                    77862  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         49210  1 radeon
sparse_keymap          12818  1 toshiba_acpi
rfkill                 18867  3 cfg80211,toshiba_acpi
wmi                    17339  1 toshiba_acpi
drm                   249955  6 ttm,drm_kms_helper,radeon
i2c_algo_bit           12751  1 radeon
i2c_core               46012  7 drm,i2c_piix4,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,v4l2_common,radeon,videodev
ac                     12715  0 
video                  18096  0 
ene_ir                 17718  0 
rc_core                22404  1 ene_ir
acpi_cpufreq           17218  0 
toshiba_bluetooth      12641  0 
battery                13356  0 
shpchp                 31121  0 
button                 12944  0 
processor              28221  1 acpi_cpufreq
thermal_sys            27642  2 video,processor
fuse                   83350  3 
parport_pc             26300  0 
ppdev                  16782  0 
lp                     17074  0 
parport                35749  3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
autofs4                35529  2 
hid_generic            12393  0 
usbhid                 44460  0 
hid                   102264  2 hid_generic,usbhid
ext4                  473802  2 
crc16                  12343  1 ext4
mbcache                17171  1 ext4
jbd2                   82413  1 ext4
sg                     29973  0 
sd_mod                 44356  4 
crc_t10dif             12431  1 sd_mod
sr_mod                 21903  0 
cdrom                  47424  1 sr_mod
crct10dif_generic      12581  1 
crct10dif_common       12356  2 crct10dif_generic,crc_t10dif
ohci_pci               12808  0 
ahci                   33291  3 
libahci                27158  1 ahci
ehci_pci               12512  0 
ohci_hcd               42982  1 ohci_pci
ehci_hcd               69837  1 ehci_pci
usbcore               195340  6 uvcvideo,ohci_hcd,ohci_pci,ehci_hcd,ehci_pci,usbhid
usb_common             12440  1 usbcore
libata                177457  2 ahci,libahci
scsi_mod              191405  4 sg,libata,sd_mod,sr_mod
r8169                  68262  0 
mii                    12675  1 r8169
muttley@black:~$ 

lspci -k|grep -A2 Audio

muttley@black:~$ lspci -k|grep -A2 Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
	Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device fd3c
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

aplay -l

muttley@black:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC259 Analog [ALC259 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And finally this is my ~/.config/volti/config

[card-0]
control = Master
mask_lock = 0

[global]
mixer_show_values = 1
scale_increment = 1.0
card_index = 0
icon_theme = Faenza
scale_show_value = 0
mixer = alsamixer
show_tooltip = 1
notify_position = 0
keys = 0
toggle = mute
mixer_internal = 1
notify_body = <span font_desc="14" weight="bold">{volume}</span>
	<small>{card}</small>
	<small>{mixer}</small>
keys_backend = xlib
run_in_terminal = 1
notify_timeout = 2.0
show_notify = 0

If i understand well, the card_index = 0, need to be the same number with device number. Both, are (0)
Now testing the command volti &, i got this output.

muttley@black:~$ volti &
[1] 3178
muttley@black:~$ Only one instance is allowed
Exiting

What am i missing?

Last edited by damo (2015-11-24 14:55:04)


Knowledge ⇛ Linux: ✓✓✓✓┃ Programming: Wishful thinking ┃ English: ✓✓✓✓✓
OperatingBunsenLabs 8.7 "Hydrogen" 64-bit on Toshiba satellite C660D 10D
Specifications ⇛ AMD V140 │ 4GB │ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series │ Realtec RTL8188C Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC│Realtec HD Audio │ 15.4" - 1366x768

Offline

#2 2015-11-24 16:25:35

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,529

Re: Lost Sound

So what did you try from that HowTo? Is "Master" muted?

`volti` is already running, so do

killall volti && volti &

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2015-11-24 16:51:46

Muttley Black
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 36

Re: Lost Sound

I got "Master" muted every time i plug or un-plug headphones. But i can unmuted manually. The problem is that there is no sound no matter what.

killall volti && volti &

This command, Kill volti and refresh it but when i exit terminal i lost icon from tint2. And still no sound.

Last edited by Muttley Black (2015-11-24 16:52:53)


Knowledge ⇛ Linux: ✓✓✓✓┃ Programming: Wishful thinking ┃ English: ✓✓✓✓✓
OperatingBunsenLabs 8.7 "Hydrogen" 64-bit on Toshiba satellite C660D 10D
Specifications ⇛ AMD V140 │ 4GB │ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series │ Realtec RTL8188C Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC│Realtec HD Audio │ 15.4" - 1366x768

Offline

#4 2015-11-24 17:27:34

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,529

Re: Lost Sound

Muttley Black wrote:

.... Kill volti and refresh it but when i exit terminal i lost icon from tint2. And still no sound.

There should be an icon there if volti was started. (Did you use "&" at the end of the command?) Try again, then post the output of

killall volti && volti &
pgrep -a volti

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#5 2015-11-24 17:41:47

Muttley Black
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 36

Re: Lost Sound

Yes i use "&" at the end of the command.

The output

muttley@black:~$ killall volti && volti &
[1] 4353
muttley@black:~$ pgrep -a voltivolti: no process found

Maybe to restart my laptop to see if volti saw up?

Last edited by Muttley Black (2015-11-24 17:42:46)


Knowledge ⇛ Linux: ✓✓✓✓┃ Programming: Wishful thinking ┃ English: ✓✓✓✓✓
OperatingBunsenLabs 8.7 "Hydrogen" 64-bit on Toshiba satellite C660D 10D
Specifications ⇛ AMD V140 │ 4GB │ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series │ Realtec RTL8188C Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC│Realtec HD Audio │ 15.4" - 1366x768

Offline

#6 2015-11-24 21:18:40

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Lost Sound

Muttley Black wrote:

I lost my sound today

Describe *everything* that you have done to your system since installation -- leave nothing out.

Have you read the "Don't Break BunsenLabs" link in my signature?

Probably best to read it now if you haven't.

Please also post the full output of:

speaker-test -c0 -l1

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2015-11-26 08:54:55

Muttley Black
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 36

Re: Lost Sound

Hello.

I didn't do anything special since installation. Only update and thats all. I am gonna read the "Don't Break BunsenLabs"!

The output:

muttley@black:~$ speaker-test -c0 -l1

speaker-test 1.0.28

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 192 to 2097152
Period size range from 64 to 699051
Using max buffer size 2097152
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 524288
was set buffer_size = 2097152
 0 - Front Left
Time per period = 10.946134

Thank you!

Last edited by Muttley Black (2015-11-26 08:55:29)


Knowledge ⇛ Linux: ✓✓✓✓┃ Programming: Wishful thinking ┃ English: ✓✓✓✓✓
OperatingBunsenLabs 8.7 "Hydrogen" 64-bit on Toshiba satellite C660D 10D
Specifications ⇛ AMD V140 │ 4GB │ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series │ Realtec RTL8188C Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC│Realtec HD Audio │ 15.4" - 1366x768

Offline

#8 2015-11-26 11:45:20

SejmL
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-11-15
Posts: 41

Re: Lost Sound

Muttley Black I had the same problem but solved it by running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal, i hope it solves your problem as well!

Offline

#9 2015-11-26 18:17:52

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Lost Sound

SejmL wrote:

running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal

^ This is a good idea smile

@OP: Make sure your output devices are un-muted and set to a non-zero volume level.

From the `speaker-test` output, it looks like your audio system is working just fine.

EDIT: Load up the BunsenLabs ISO and see if your sound works in the live environment -- if it doesn't, your sound card is probably broken or disconnected.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-11-26 18:20:40)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#10 2015-11-26 18:58:32

Muttley Black
Member
Registered: 2015-11-21
Posts: 36

Re: Lost Sound

With "sudo alsactl init" I got my sound back!  smile

But:  If i plug my headphones i lost sound again. Master auto-muted and i dont have sound. Even if i unmuted and unplug headphones.

Need to run "sudo alsactl init" again to get back sound.

So... i can have sound only with my headphones pluged or with no headphones.  tongue 
I can't have both options work.


Knowledge ⇛ Linux: ✓✓✓✓┃ Programming: Wishful thinking ┃ English: ✓✓✓✓✓
OperatingBunsenLabs 8.7 "Hydrogen" 64-bit on Toshiba satellite C660D 10D
Specifications ⇛ AMD V140 │ 4GB │ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series │ Realtec RTL8188C Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC│Realtec HD Audio │ 15.4" - 1366x768

Offline

#11 2015-11-28 06:33:25

adib
Member
Registered: 2015-11-28
Posts: 12

Re: Lost Sound

SejmL wrote:

Muttley Black I had the same problem but solved it by running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal, i hope it solves your problem as well!

Thanks man, that's work yeah! big_smile

Offline

#12 2015-12-30 15:33:28

Vesko
New Member
Registered: 2015-12-30
Posts: 1

Re: Lost Sound

SejmL wrote:

Muttley Black I had the same problem but solved it by running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal, i hope it solves your problem as well!

I had same problem and this solved it! Thanks!

Offline

#13 2016-02-19 13:35:40

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Lost Sound

SejmL wrote:

Muttley Black I had the same problem but solved it by running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal, i hope it solves your problem as well!

Thank you! It seems I'm not the only one with this issue. First the sound was working fine, but after some updates and upgrades something must have happened. Once I noticed that the sound icon got messed up a bit. Speaker test delivered ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -16, Device or resource busy. Now it is working again.

Offline

#14 2016-05-02 17:28:35

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Lost Sound

After the last upgrade I had an issue with my headphones as it stopped working. Same machine, same headphones, different distro delivered no problems. It turned out that I had to do "sudo alsactl init" again and after that it started working.

Offline

#15 2017-02-02 19:13:37

segule
New Member
Registered: 2017-02-02
Posts: 1

Re: Lost Sound

SejmL wrote:

Muttley Black I had the same problem but solved it by running:  "sudo alsactl init"  in terminal, i hope it solves your problem as well!

Works for me...Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB