You are not logged in.

#26 2020-06-15 09:09:07

jesito
Member
From: Olivella/Catalonia/Spain
Registered: 2015-10-21
Posts: 23
Website

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

cog wrote:

I had the same problem on a particular network.  Had something to do with ipv6.

Adding ”ipv6.disable=1” to the grub command for the installer entry from the grub menu when you boot the iso worked for me.

I think you hit the “e” key on the installer entry, then it’s like the second line that you’d add “ ipv6.disable=1” towards the end before “quiet”.  Then you press Ctrl-x to boot the modified boot entry.

Thanks!. This has worked for me also, placing "ipv6.disable=1" before " -- quiet"
It seems related to a false detection of IPV6 networking.
OTOH the live version runs fine.


3D or not 3D, that is not anymore the question.

Offline

#27 2020-06-15 14:12:53

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,016

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

johnraff wrote:

Applies to the respondee too, not to be offended by simple explanations.

Let me apologize again, my bad. And on my 500th post too.

8bit


If art is how we decorate space; music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#28 2020-06-15 14:21:38

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,016

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

rbh wrote:

You have disabled wifi on the E800 router, now using it as switch?

Yes. I wasn't saving changes on each page before going on to the next page. Thinking I'd made changes that didn't stick.

You can see the ip of E800, and login?
Could you configure the uplink to be merged to your 192.168.0.9 segment och you only use the four lan-ports?

Yes. Using all five ports.

Good you now have a better working network. But, it scratches in my fingers to test if it is possible to iron out remaining problem...

Also still curios; what is "setting BM"? I can not figure it out...

Shorthand for bridge mode.

Thanks again for your help.

8bit


If art is how we decorate space; music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#29 2020-06-16 17:06:59

MsMattie
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 98

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

Partially solved - I did get the network problem solved by bypassing the stock Spectrum ISP router, and going by cat5 cable directly from the modem to the laptop.

Before I did this with BunsenLabs Lithium, out of curiosity I tried to install the most recent MXLinux 19 on that same partition. It worked, and it installed with it hooked into the router and found the network and accessed it properly. So, that is one of the Debian distros that apparently works with this.

Anyway, I got BunsenLabs Lithium up and running and this is the best-looking version of BL to date...


...
Linux in the backwoods of the Rocky Mountains...

Offline

#30 2020-06-16 17:55:46

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,016

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

Good on you, I'm glad you worked it out. Thanks for letting us know.

8bit

Last edited by eight.bit.al (2020-06-16 17:59:05)


If art is how we decorate space; music is how we decorate time.

Offline

#31 2020-06-16 18:41:15

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,284

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

To me it could well be a very buggy or misconfigured DHCP server running on that router that's causing the issues.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#32 2020-12-09 06:29:09

rodolforizzo76
New Member
From: Italia
Registered: 2018-11-06
Posts: 2
Website

Re: Lithium installer network configuration issue

MsMattie wrote:

The lithium release candidate install is not working properly for me.

This is on a Lenovo T430s with an SSD. It's a quadruple boot on four partitions when I am done. Working fine is Win10, Xubuntu and Mint 19.3 XFCE.

When the Lithium installer gets to configuring the network at the DHPC part, it stops. Up on the screen right now is one line - "Configure the Network." And that is where it stops.

I tried both the graphical install and the text install. Same result on both.

Installing from .iso on USB stick after using dd method to create the USB stick.

Any suggestions?

[ALTERNATIVE SOLUTION]
I had the exact same problem. I solved it by creating a wifi hotspot with android cellphone and when I had to configure the network during installation I chose the newly created hotspot. At this point I was able to complete the installation.

Last edited by rodolforizzo76 (2020-12-09 13:17:42)


“Non c’è nessun motivo per cui qualcuno potrebbe volere un computer in casa.” (Ken Olson – Digital Equipment Corp – 1977)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB