You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-15 17:33:27

Riggo

Regular Crashes (Restarts) - microcode error flashes.

Hello all,

Running:
Arch Linux 5.18.3-arch1-1 (UEFI)
CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 5800x (16 thread) @ 3.800Ghz
Board - X570 Aorus Elite -CF
GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti

Issue: Repeated Crashes (Reboots) no initial freezes or loss of control just straight up if I clicked the restart button. No issues on boot after crash but flashes "microcode error" but too quick to read further.
CPU Usage and Temp are visible on $sensor input **although I cannot find the right file to display it in i3-status. **(Only referring to temp. Usage displays as normal)

Things I have tried:
checked amd-ucode is installed.
remade GRUB file to auto recognize AMD-UCODE
changed bios setting - think it was PBO but will double check (from auto to another setting)

here is journalctl -b -l output after crash.

- https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lW-0db … sp=sharing

I am a little new to reading this crash report and having a little issue spotting what is wrong. Any help with this issue would be grand.

All the best

P.S. I am fairly certain it is a hardware issue with the CPU itself, apparently there might be a recall or something. Thought I would try a software fix before changing it

https://community.amd.com/t5/processors … 622/page/2

Also I do not mind reformatting the device and all the hardware has warranty.

#2 2022-06-15 19:49:01

unklar
Back to the roots 1.9

Re: Regular Crashes (Restarts) - microcode error flashes.

You use an archlinux kernel and ask in the BL forum ? Why don't you do it in the appropriate forum?  devil

I looked at your journal issue and can't see any specifics regarding the error. However, the command is also impractical. You should rather use

journalctl -b -e

The -e causes the output to jump to the end and from there you can look backwards at the last 20 - 30 entries, because that's where the error should be.