You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-25 21:31:03

copper
Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 16

Error on screen installing Helium

Hi!

I bought a new motherboard (AMD Prime A320M-K) so I am trying to install Bunsenlabs Helium (amd64) from de live CD, but I only see this on my screen after executing "Install":

D7cOiZfWkAAwwEp.jpg

This doesn't happen if I execute a live session or if I try to install Bunsenlabs Hydrogen. I don't really know what's the problem? sad

Offline

#2 2019-05-26 06:51:01

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 639

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

Most probably it is a problem with video. I think the solution will be adding something in grub, but before we have to know which graphics card you have.

Please, boot once more the live session, open terminal and execute

lspci -nn | egrep -i "3d|display|vga"

and post output here (inside the 'Code' tag)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#3 2019-05-26 17:05:57

copper
Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 16

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

Hi! This is the output:

07:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device [1002:15dd] (rev cb)

Offline

#4 2019-05-27 18:30:28

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,735
Website

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

that output is a little too tight;
I would have preferred this:

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

BUT - a search for "[AMD/ATI] Device [1002:15dd]" seems to indicate that you might benefit from a backported kernel.
ok, you need to install BL first.
does it have a fallback (not recovery) boot option? can you try a non-graphical install?
if not, you have to edit the kernel command line and add "nomodeset" (without the quotes).

Offline

#5 2019-05-28 06:34:25

copper
Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 16

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

ohnonot wrote:

that output is a little too tight;
I would have preferred this:

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

BUT - a search for "[AMD/ATI] Device [1002:15dd]" seems to indicate that you might benefit from a backported kernel.
ok, you need to install BL first.
does it have a fallback (not recovery) boot option? can you try a non-graphical install?
if not, you have to edit the kernel command line and add "nomodeset" (without the quotes).

This is the new output:

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15dd (rev cb)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 876b
07:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15de
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 876b
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
07:00.2 Encryption controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15df

The last weekend I installed Bunsenlabs Hydrogen and there was no problem with the graphic card. I don't know why the installer of Helium is failing.

Offline

#6 2019-05-28 18:34:30

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,735
Website

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

copper wrote:

The last weekend I installed Bunsenlabs Hydrogen and there was no problem with the graphic card. I don't know why the installer of Helium is failing.

i guess your hardware is too new.

Offline

#7 2019-06-02 05:43:24

copper
Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 16

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

Hi again:

Well, I did a test: I connected the old motherboard and the installer of Helium runs fine. So... what if I use the old motherboard to install Helium, update the kernel to the lastest version, and then connect the new motherboard? Should this work?

Offline

#8 2019-06-02 18:13:45

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 676

Re: Error on screen installing Helium

copper wrote:

Hi again:

Well, I did a test: I connected the old motherboard and the installer of Helium runs fine. So... what if I use the old motherboard to install Helium, update the kernel to the lastest version, and then connect the new motherboard? Should this work?

It should work...just make sure you update to latest kernel post-installation.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2019-06-02 18:14:03)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB