You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-13 12:20:38

katiusha
New Member
Registered: 2018-12-13
Posts: 2

only 256MB detected on graphic controller

Hi, i currently using BL Hellium on my ACER Aspire 4739.
The OS detected the GPU.
But when i check the hardware information especially the GPU using the command lspci -v -s 00:02.0 it only recognizes that my GPU memory size is just 256MB. I believe the integrated GPU got more than that.
I already removed the xserver-xorg-video-intel so it will use the builtin modesetting driver instead, but no result.
Is there any driver program needed to release the entire memsize?
here is my system information:

System Information
	Manufacturer: Acer
	Product Name: Aspire 4739
	Version: V1.08
	Serial Number: LXRP00C00113503D1E2500
	UUID: 16F510DB-66A3-B041-90D2-E89A8FA4D9FD
	Wake-up Type: Power Switch
	SKU Number: Calpella_CRB
	Family: Intel_Mobile

here is the CPU information:

*-cpu                     
       description: CPU
       product: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU       M 370  @ 2.40GHz
       vendor: Intel Corp.
       physical id: 2a
       bus info: cpu@0
       version: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU       M 370  @ 2.40GHz
       slot: CPU
       size: 1199MHz
       capacity: 2400MHz
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 1066MHz
       capabilities: x86-64 fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ssbd ibrs ibpb stibp kaiser tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid dtherm arat flush_l1d cpufreq
       configuration: cores=2 enabledcores=2 threads=4

here is the GPU detail with lspci:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 18) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 27
	Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
	Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
	I/O ports at 3050 [size=8]
	[virtual] Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
	Capabilities: <access denied>
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915

Here is with lshw:

  *-display                 
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 18
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
       resources: irq:27 memory:d0000000-d03fffff memory:c0000000-cfffffff ioport:3050(size=8) memory:c0000-dffff

i tested with some steam games (that support both windows and linux, checked the Linux min sysreq, they fit my machine), they ran flawlesly when it used to be a windows 7. But they're lagging with the Linux.
Sorry for the bad english, thankyou.
EDIT:
checked with dmesg | grep drm and the output is:

[   11.224615] [drm] Initialized
[   12.006239] [drm] Memory usable by graphics device = 2048M
[   12.006242] [drm] Replacing VGA console driver
[   12.015356] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 2 (21.10.2013).
[   12.015357] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[   12.040299] [drm] RC6 disabled, disabling runtime PM support
[   12.054547] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20160919 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
[   12.056772] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[   12.812681] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
[  829.187520] [drm:intel_pipe_update_end [i915]] *ERROR* Atomic update failure on pipe A (start=50114 end=50115) time 202 us, min 763, max 767, scanline start 759, end 765
[ 1437.070858] [drm:ironlake_irq_handler [i915]] *ERROR* CPU pipe A FIFO underrun
[ 1437.070983] [drm:ironlake_irq_handler [i915]] *ERROR* PCH transcoder A FIFO underrun

it's written that my GPU got 2046MB of memory.

Last edited by katiusha (2018-12-13 12:54:43)

Offline

#2 2018-12-13 13:25:34

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 732
Website

Re: only 256MB detected on graphic controller

RAM for Intel graphics is, if I understand it correctly, allocated from system memory.

i3-370m is an older model though so 256M of graphics memory sound about right.  My laptop here has 8G RAM and it shows 512M video RAM (i7-4600U in this case):

        Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
        Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=512M]

How much RAM do you have in your Acer? If it's 4G then 256M looks accurate. It says the computer supports up to 8G of RAM, so you have some room for expansion. You could also check the BIOS options if there is an option for configuring the amount of video RAM.

[  829.187520] [drm:intel_pipe_update_end [i915]] *ERROR* Atomic update failure on pipe A (start=50114 end=50115) time 202 us, min 763, max 767, scanline start 759, end 765
[ 1437.070858] [drm:ironlake_irq_handler [i915]] *ERROR* CPU pipe A FIFO underrun
[ 1437.070983] [drm:ironlake_irq_handler [i915]] *ERROR* PCH transcoder A FIFO underrun

Intel has in parts horrible bugs in their graphics stack esp. in older models. This is a clear indicator of things going awry. Now, what you shouold do is try the newer backports kernel but it will likely not lead to much.

These driver issues show themselves often in differences in OpenGL performance; the Windows driver may be of better quality and have better performance, or the games may be using DirectX/Direct3D on Windows and OpenGL on Linux, or be less optimized. The old OpenGL version (2.1) likely doesn't help either.

One thing I'd double-check is a) did you run the games in fullscreen mode (to exclude the compositing manager) and b) please try running the games again with compton/compositing disabled.

Offline

#3 2018-12-13 15:34:26

katiusha
New Member
Registered: 2018-12-13
Posts: 2

Re: only 256MB detected on graphic controller

Thank you for replying.
Yes, i have 4gigs of RAM.
I do load the game fullscreen.
I also added and installed the backports (still lagging).
I tried compton -CG but the output is another composite manager is already running.
How to actually disable them?

Offline

#4 2018-12-13 17:45:21

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,196

Re: only 256MB detected on graphic controller

katiusha wrote:

Thank you for replying.
Yes, i have 4gigs of RAM.
I do load the game fullscreen.
I also added and installed the backports (still lagging).
I tried compton -CG but the output is another composite manager is already running.
How to actually disable them?

Menu -> Preferences -> Compositor -> Disable compositing

or

bl-compositor --stop

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB