You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-10 22:40:19

wagmic
Member
From: Casablanca
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 67

firefox update in root *solve*

Hi today i was not able to update firefox quantum
I have install it in opt and there's a probleme when i try top run :
sudo firefox

here is the (new) answer

┌─╼ wagmic ╺─╸ bunsenwag [~]
└────╼ sudo firefox
[sudo] password for wagmic: 
Running Firefox as root in a regular user's session is not supported.  ($XAUTHORITY is /home/wagmic/.Xauthority which is owned by wagmic.)

i think i need to put FF in the system file but where and how

thanks by advance

Last edited by wagmic (2018-08-13 14:49:44)


La liberté, personne ne peut l’expliquer mais tout le monde peut la comprendre.Cecilia Meireles
Tout ce qui n'est pas donné ou partagé est perdu (proverbe tsigane)

Offline

#2 2018-06-11 01:46:35

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 327

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Never run a browser as root or with sudo.  Think about why not for a second.

Offline

#3 2018-06-11 03:48:20

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

wagmic wrote:

Hi today i was not able to update firefox quantum
I have install it in opt

i wasn't aware firefox had a self-updating feature?
did you install "manually" - i.e. simply unzip to some folder?
you might need to update by simply replacing that folder with a newer version.
your profile should still be in ~/.mozilla.

Offline

#4 2018-06-11 05:10:13

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,677
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

ohnonot wrote:

I wasn't aware firefox had a self-updating feature?

It certainly used to. Disabled in the Debian package though.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#5 2018-06-11 07:17:46

wagmic
Member
From: Casablanca
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 67

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Hi i just run FF in root in order to update it, never to use it
I just don't understand why today i c'ant update it simply as last week.
Since Crunchbang i do it like this and i have not issue since this weekend.


La liberté, personne ne peut l’expliquer mais tout le monde peut la comprendre.Cecilia Meireles
Tout ce qui n'est pas donné ou partagé est perdu (proverbe tsigane)

Offline

#6 2018-06-12 04:13:21

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

yes, i understood that.
why firefox changed this i cannot tell.
how are you becoming root?

su -
# or
sudo

whichever, try the other.

it doesn't have to be in /opt though.

the way i see it you have 2 choices: either simply copy/move the updated version to /opt, or "install" it elsewhere (where you don't need root to change things), e.g. ~/.local/share.

edit:
looking back at the error message, i think 'su -' should fix it.
that's:

$ su -
# firefox

Last edited by ohnonot (2018-06-12 04:31:11)

Offline

#7 2018-06-12 13:52:56

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Posting on a phone can suck, I must have edited a post by the OP instead of quoting it. This is how it should have looked...

wagmic wrote:

Hi i just run FF in root in order to update it, never to use it
I just don't understand why today i c'ant update it simply as last week.
Since Crunchbang i do it like this and i have not issue since this weekend.

And my response...

hhh wrote:

I'm surprised it's worked! firefox from Mozilla auto-updates, or it can be manually updated by opening the menu "Help>About Firefox".

Here's how I have Firefox, downloaded from Mozilla, installed...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 898#p71898

Offline

#8 2018-06-13 20:34:41

wagmic
Member
From: Casablanca
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 67

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

thanks for your answer
i have always used sudo.
i can't authenticate with " sudo -" it ask me for a password but i d'ont have it
i wait for a new hard disk to install the new version of BL maybe a i'll try to install FF in another  folder.
Gracias merci thanks choukrane


La liberté, personne ne peut l’expliquer mais tout le monde peut la comprendre.Cecilia Meireles
Tout ce qui n'est pas donné ou partagé est perdu (proverbe tsigane)

Offline

#9 2018-06-14 04:03:13

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,197
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

wagmic wrote:

i have always used sudo.
i can't authenticate with " sudo -" it ask me for a password but i d'ont have it

somethings's wrong here.
let me assume you meant "i can't authenticate with "su -" it ask me for a password but i don't have it", right?
in that case, try "sudo su -", then try to start firefox.

btw the error from post #1 is firefox error message. it is not letting you do this, i guess it's a newly added security feature. a new hard drive or a new distro won't change that.

Offline

#10 2018-06-14 15:18:15

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Someone clue me in as to what the OP is trying to do!

The way to upgrade Firefox is...

1) If your distro provides the package, use its package manager to upgrade...

sudo apt upgrade firefox-esr

2) If you've downloaded Firefox from Mozilla it will upgrade automatically (it checks for upgrades on startup) or manually upgrade from the Firefox menu (Help>About Firefox)...
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/up … st-version

As stevep said, you should not be running a browser as root! Visit a malicious website and it has access to root!
https://access.redhat.com/articles/2094931

Offline

#11 2018-06-14 15:20:32

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

hhh wrote:

Here's how I have Firefox, downloaded from Mozilla, installed...

https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic … 898#p71898

Offline

#12 2018-06-29 19:57:54

wagmic
Member
From: Casablanca
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 67

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Hi i've just switch to helium so i install firefox in /~/bin
I just have to wait for the next update and if all work i'll put this topic as solve

thanks you all for your answers and advices

Last edited by wagmic (2018-06-29 19:58:39)


La liberté, personne ne peut l’expliquer mais tout le monde peut la comprendre.Cecilia Meireles
Tout ce qui n'est pas donné ou partagé est perdu (proverbe tsigane)

Offline

#13 2018-06-29 21:03:21

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,106
Website

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

Assuming you mean /home/wagmic(or your actual user name)/bin/

Perfect. It should update as user fine from there without you having to use root.

Offline

#14 2018-08-13 14:49:17

wagmic
Member
From: Casablanca
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 67

Re: firefox update in root *solve*

hhh wrote:

Perfect. It should update as user fine from there without you having to use root.

thats now right


La liberté, personne ne peut l’expliquer mais tout le monde peut la comprendre.Cecilia Meireles
Tout ce qui n'est pas donné ou partagé est perdu (proverbe tsigane)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB