You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-19 03:30:34

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

This was pretty easy, and it took under an hour on a 24 mbps wifi connection using a fresh install of our pre-release helium image(s)...

As root, open /etc/apt/sources.list , change the source in line #7 from stretch to sid and comment out the other sources...

# 

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.4 _Helium_ - Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20180418-17:51]/ stretch contrib main non-free

#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.4 _Helium_ - Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20180418-17:51]/ stretch contrib main non-free

deb https://deb.debian.org/debian sid main non-free contrib
# deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main non-free contrib

## Debian security updates
#deb https://deb.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
#deb https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
# deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free

Update via a terminal...

sudo apt update

lightdm will be upgraded. I didn't want to deal with any issues of upgrading the display manager while it was running, so I didn't. Drop to tty with Ctrl-Alt-F1 (or F2-F6). Login and switch to root...

sudo -s

Kill lightdm...

service lightdm stop

Upgrade, this took me 45 minutes on my slow-ish connection...

apt upgrade

Finally, dist-upgrade and reboot (this doesn't take long)...

apt dist-upgrade
reboot

Offline

#2 2018-04-19 03:44:57

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Pic or it didn't happen...

Screenshot_2018-04-18_22-46-29.th.png

The only difference I can see so far is the new panel logout/shutdown icon.

Offline

#3 2018-04-19 05:10:18

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 301

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Doesn’t it make sense to remove all other apt sources (like Bunsen, for example) when doing this?

Offline

#4 2018-04-19 06:01:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

I used to add the experimental repositories when I ran sid, they're useful to pull in new fixes and it's pinned to 1 by default (just like backports).


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2018-04-19 15:44:12

altman
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 130

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Congrats there Head_on_a_Stick! Didn t make the plunge to sid, juste Buster today. Even so got some apt-marks on

Last edited by altman (2018-04-19 15:44:54)


HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook/Intel Core i7-2670QM/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Latitude XFR D630 /Intel Core2 Duo T7500/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Inspiron 1720/Intel Core2 Duo T5450/ ArchLabs 2018.05
My craptop trio on Linux installs only.

Offline

#6 2018-04-19 16:16:30

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 605
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

hhh wrote:

Pic or it didn't happen...

https://cdn.scrot.moe/images/2018/04/19/Screenshot_2018-04-18_22-46-29.th.png

The only difference I can see so far is the new panel logout/shutdown icon.

Is this due to a newer version?

We've had an up-to-date tint2 build in our repositories since 3 (?) years, and I intend to keep it that way. BL users on Helium are going to be able to install and enjoy the most recent tint2 if they choose to (same for jgmenu).

The packages are already available (https://www.bunsenlabs.org/repoidx.html … on&v=tint2).

Add our stretch-backports repo (see https://www.bunsenlabs.org/repositories … ositories), then

apt-get install -t stretch-backports tint2

Offline

#7 2018-04-19 17:09:28

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

cloverskull wrote:

Doesn’t it make sense to remove all other apt sources (like Bunsen, for example) when doing this?

It does make sense, but I was curious to see what would break. So far, nothing.

@earlybird, I'll investigate, thanks.

pnmixer has dropped the option to choose themes, now it's either system theme or the default panel icon, so our white WiFi panel icons aren't being picked up. Not a game-breaker, and not an issue if you use a different icon theme on your system.

Offline

#8 2018-04-19 17:43:01

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

hhh wrote:

@earlybird, I'll investigate, thanks.

There's quite a large version jump from stretch to sid...
https://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=tint2

The icon options are in damo's default config, starting at line #222...

# Buttons - Panel item = P
# Exit dialog
button = new
button_icon = /usr/share/images/bunsen/exit/light/poweroff.png
#button_icon = system-shutdown
button_text =
button_tooltip = Logout/Shutdown...
button_lclick_command = bl-exit
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 28

If I comment those lines out and restart tint2, the next icon in the tint2 config appears, root-menu (line #240)...

# Show Root Menu
button = new
button_icon = bunsenlabs-button.svg
button_text =
button_tooltip = Main Menu
button_lclick_command = xdotool key super+space
button_rclick_command =
button_mclick_command =
button_uwheel_command =
button_dwheel_command =
button_font_color = #ffffff 100
button_padding = 2 2
button_background_id = 0
button_centered = 1
button_max_icon_size = 28

Comment those out, restart tint2, and the only panel difference is the pnmizer icon size and color. So everything seems OK, we'll just need to tweak our settings for lithium.

I'll test our stretch-backport later, but I'm confident it will be the same.

Offline

#9 2018-04-19 18:21:57

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

gksu has finally been removed in buster. The Thunar menu option, File>Open as root, works fine. I guess this uses pkexec?

pkexec thunar

WFM

Offline

#10 2018-04-20 05:59:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

^ We're already using that in Helium-dev, I think glasses


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2018-04-20 11:40:08

vinzv
Member
Registered: 2017-09-12
Posts: 184
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Offline

#12 2018-04-21 02:39:43

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Looks quite interesting to see how upgrading to Sid would work from Helium. Maybe if someone were to ask the pnmixer devs about why they dropped the icon theme support from pnmixer then maybe it could come back in some form.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#13 2018-04-21 03:33:19

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

OK looks good just upgraded my desktop to Bun-Sid and so far looks good. I was using the system theme so I set pnmixer to use the system them and looked like it was when on Stretch. Have to tweak the font sizes a bit in tint2.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#14 2018-04-21 03:56:57

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Here's my desktop after upgrading to Sid:

Screenshot_2018-04-20_23-49-49.th.png

One good thing I did was to use a Siduction kernel as I've been running Siduction for some time before and the kernels supplied with Siduction were darn solid.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-04-21 03:58:29)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#15 2018-04-21 12:44:15

altman
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 130

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Nice install DeepDayze.


HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook/Intel Core i7-2670QM/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Latitude XFR D630 /Intel Core2 Duo T7500/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Inspiron 1720/Intel Core2 Duo T5450/ ArchLabs 2018.05
My craptop trio on Linux installs only.

Offline

#16 2018-04-21 13:50:50

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

altman wrote:

Nice install DeepDayze.

Thanks, it was basically stock Helium dist-upgraded to Sid (reinstalled a few packages that got removed). I also have an HP 8460p laptop that has Hydrogen upgraded inplace to Helium and opted to have that remain on plain Helium.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-04-21 13:54:29)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#17 2018-04-21 20:52:47

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

DeepDayze wrote:

I was using the system theme so I set pnmixer to use the system them and looked like it was when on Stretch.

You're using Paper-dark-mono, which isn't the default helium icon theme (Paper-Bunsen is), but I can confrim that the mono systray icons all look uniform. Thanks for the heads, up!

We'll open a thread if necessary on the issue. Too soon, ATM, as we're about to release helium. We are trying to get set up for lithium dev now, though, as opposed to when butch's release-date has already been announced.

To be fair, life really got in the way of the BL Team over the last year, but development is in good shape now.

Well, cool! After switching to mono, switching back to Paper-Bunsen is showing our custom pnmixer icon! Some glitch somewhere with dist-upgrading, obviously, we'll deal with it when the time comes.

Offline

#18 2018-04-21 23:17:46

altman
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 130

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

DeepDayze wrote:
altman wrote:

Nice install DeepDayze.

Thanks, it was basically stock Helium dist-upgraded to Sid (reinstalled a few packages that got removed). I also have an HP 8460p laptop that has Hydrogen upgraded inplace to Helium and opted to have that remain on plain Helium.

Nice installs.Some experiments in there.

Did you have to reinstall Grub ! Have all 4 Grubs on hold on Buster Lab as well as klibc & other ones.

Wonder if I can remove them & reinstalling them can be ok. I don t want to reinstall . Some times it s faster than trying to fix it. I m not as good as some of you guys.


HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook/Intel Core i7-2670QM/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Latitude XFR D630 /Intel Core2 Duo T7500/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Inspiron 1720/Intel Core2 Duo T5450/ ArchLabs 2018.05
My craptop trio on Linux installs only.

Offline

#19 2018-04-21 23:28:50

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

^ If you install a second OS to dual-boot, the new grub becomes default but it should show your other OS, or more than one other if you have more, in the new grub menu. Just boot into the OS that you want as default that has grub installed and install it to your main drive (or wherever you install grub on your system).

Example, I checked gparted (Main Menu>System>GParted) and my hard drive is /dev/sda1, so...

sudo -s

Enter your password and...

grub-install /dev/sda1
update-grub

Reboot. You should see your other installs in the new boot-splash grub menu or sub-menu entries.

Offline

#20 2018-04-21 23:47:47

altman
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 130

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Thx , great tip in there hhh.

Edit1, guess I ll have only one install per lappy , anyways , always on BL .

Edit2: Typo

Last edited by altman (2018-04-22 13:28:41)


HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook/Intel Core i7-2670QM/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Latitude XFR D630 /Intel Core2 Duo T7500/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Inspiron 1720/Intel Core2 Duo T5450/ ArchLabs 2018.05
My craptop trio on Linux installs only.

Offline

#21 2018-04-22 00:24:58

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,101
Website

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Thanks for being a loyal BL user!

On a personal note, I'm not a huge fan of the somewhat archaic Openbox window manager. For about the last five years I've run a minimal Xfce or Mate desktop (also somewhat archaic, admittedly) on Debian with great results. However, I'm rather thrilled with helium. It is one of the easiest, if not THE easiest, OOTB minimal Debian desktops I've ever used in terms of installation, resource usage and ease of use.

Bonus, Openbox is great WM to use on sid. At least one thing won't be getting updates that can break stuff!

Offline

#22 2018-04-22 00:36:12

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Openbox has been pretty darn stable throughout all the releases so it makes a great backup WM for GNOME/KDE as those 2 DE's break easily with updates and having a backup WM you can at least get a desktop till you can fix your main DE. I've run KDE apps on top of Openbox/Fluxbox before and it works (except the theming can be ugly).

The simple WM's are nice if you want a responsive system as they get out of the way and use far less resources than do GNOME or KDE.

I may try Enlightenment next as I hear it's a fantastic WM.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#23 2018-04-22 00:43:59

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

hhh wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:

I was using the system theme so I set pnmixer to use the system them and looked like it was when on Stretch.

You're using Paper-dark-mono, which isn't the default helium icon theme (Paper-Bunsen is), but I can confrim that the mono systray icons all look uniform. Thanks for the heads, up!

We'll open a thread if necessary on the issue. Too soon, ATM, as we're about to release helium. We are trying to get set up for lithium dev now, though, as opposed to when butch's release-date has already been announced.

To be fair, life really got in the way of the BL Team over the last year, but development is in good shape now.

Well, cool! After switching to mono, switching back to Paper-Bunsen is showing our custom pnmixer icon! Some glitch somewhere with dist-upgrading, obviously, we'll deal with it when the time comes.

I liked the Paper Dark Mono theme and it's easy on my old eyes. I did originally use Faenza theme originally on Hydrogen (which was the original install till I upgraded to Helium). So it was good that the pnmixer in Sid worked for me and that it indeed picked up the icon theme quite well despite no longer being able to select the icon theme in the pnmixer settings. I think that is indeed a minor quibble but it might be possible to sometime add back the settings if the pnmixer devs are convinced it can be.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#24 2018-04-22 02:39:38

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

One good thing I found was that Conky is at 1.10.8 in Sid and I can right click the menu over the conky where I could not do that before in Stretch/Helium.

Not sure if this new Conky version can be backportable to Stretch.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2018-04-22 02:40:24)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#25 2018-05-24 14:46:03

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 819

Re: dist-upgrade helium to sid (unofficial)

Just upgraded to Sid.

Pretty smooth, actually.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB