You are not logged in.

#101 2018-02-26 14:25:21

MALsPa
Member
From: albuquerque
Registered: 2016-06-20
Posts: 237

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

Excellent news, thanks! I have been considering replacing my Antergos (w/ Openbox) installation with ArchLabs. The Antergos installation has been humming along nicely for about a year -- not much to complain about -- and that's partly why I've hesitated to make the switch. But ArchLabs looks like a better deal for me.

Offline

#102 2018-02-26 14:57:01

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

New Release for ArchLabs

https://archlabslinux.com/2018/02/26/ar … -for-2018/

Great news! downloading now!

Offline

#103 2018-02-27 05:45:48

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Thanks guys!


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#104 2018-04-18 23:44:31

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,169
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

Offline

#105 2018-05-06 05:37:43

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

hhh wrote:

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

H3, is this something that can be installed post installation?  Or is it required pre-install?


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#106 2018-05-06 15:30:08

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,324

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:
hhh wrote:

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

H3, is this something that can be installed post installation?  Or is it required pre-install?

I would have something to install non-free firmware so that a user can be able to get a network connection for those network adapters that require firmware in order to bring up a connection.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#107 2018-05-07 04:05:59

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,169
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@dobbie, I only have one USB drive ATM, I'd need another to hold the b43 files during installation. My workaround is easy enough... I'll be dual-booting, sp I'll just bypass network setup during install, copy the folder /lib/firmware/b43 (or b43-legacy, or whatever firmware) over from my BL partition and setup the network.

@DeepD, in BL/Debian, the package we include is b43-fwcutter, that extracts the non-free Broadcom drivers and is a seperate package from firmware-linux-nonfree

Offline

#108 2018-05-07 05:29:51

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

hhh wrote:

@dobbie, I only have one USB drive ATM, I'd need another to hold the b43 files during installation. My workaround is easy enough... I'll be dual-booting, sp I'll just bypass network setup during install, copy the folder /lib/firmware/b43 (or b43-legacy, or whatever firmware) over from my BL partition and setup the network.

@DeepD, in BL/Debian, the package we include is b43-fwcutter, that extracts the non-free Broadcom drivers and is a seperate package from firmware-linux-nonfree

@hhh, have put it to Nate to see if he can come up with something.  Will let you know what we come up with.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#109 2018-05-07 05:41:50

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@hhh, talking with Nate further, b43-fwcutter is included by default.  Maybe you'd need to add the firmware itself from the AUR?

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=b43


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#110 2018-05-07 08:05:07

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@hhh, heads up, new ISO out soon with the B43 firmware added. smile


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#111 2018-05-07 19:04:17

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,169
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Hot damn, thank you!

Offline

#112 2018-05-08 11:08:27

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,370
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@Dobbie, To be honest the new installer wanted to know my blood type (I think), so I got bored half-way (I know it's arch and it's ....). Will try some other day when I regain my nerd powers wink. Not complaining, just saying.

Offline

#113 2018-05-09 06:16:42

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

brontosaurusrex wrote:

@Dobbie, To be honest the new installer wanted to know my blood type (I think), so I got bored half-way (I know it's arch and it's ....). Will try some other day when I regain my nerd powers wink. Not complaining, just saying.

That's the trimmed down version too......it's a pretty simple installer once you get into it.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#114 2018-05-09 08:12:19

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

New AL wallpapers, as usual full inspiration comes from BL

Beam-Logo.md.png
Beam-No-Logo.md.png

ArchLabs text, thanks to the Manjaro guys for the idea......


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#115 2018-05-10 01:00:38

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,169
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Looks great, Dobs!

Offline

#116 2018-05-10 01:41:13

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,324

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Now ArchLabs has  piqued my interest in playing with Arch again. smile


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#117 2018-05-10 06:00:51

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@H3, thanks mate.

@DeepDayze, you won't be disappointed smile


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#118 2018-05-10 14:29:25

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 343

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Hey Dobbie03, is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it? I like building everything from scratch initially but would love a sort of automated desktop builder.

Offline

#119 2018-05-11 05:50:36

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@cloverskull, not that I know of.  Might as well just use ArchLabs big_smile

On that note, we have a new release, https://bit.ly/2KW07sW.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#120 2018-05-11 06:06:36

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

cloverskull wrote:

is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it?

You can steal their configs from the github site:

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-User-Home

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/ArchLabs-Themes

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-Wallpapers

etc...

devil


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#121 2018-05-11 06:13:40

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
cloverskull wrote:

is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it?

You can steal their configs from the github site:

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-User-Home

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/ArchLabs-Themes

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-Wallpapers

etc...

devil

Yup you can do this but the automated part of it @cloverskull would have to write big_smile


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#122 2018-05-11 06:18:45

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

^ It should be fairly simple to wrap all the configuration up into a single PKGBUILD for vanilla Arch users who want your desktop, would you mind if I gave it a go?

EDIT: I could even upload it to the AUR (if I can get it working) smile

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2018-05-11 06:20:10)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#123 2018-05-11 06:20:14

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,913
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

^ It should be fairly simple to wrap all the configuration up into a single PKGBUILD for vanilla Arch users who want your desktop, would you mind if I gave it a go?


Not at all Mr Stick.


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!

Offline

#124 2018-05-11 13:33:20

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,169
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

On that note, we have a new release, https://bit.ly/2KW07sW.

Congrats! You've added the Broadcom drivers I asked about? You should add that to the "New features" list.

Offline

#125 2018-05-11 16:55:16

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 343

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Initial impressions running ArchLabs in virtualbox is...well done! Very nice. I enjoy this quite a bit.

I'd love to take a vanilla arch installation and ArchLabs-ify it. I like HOAS's initiative here. smile For me, the initial installation of Arch is something I prefer to _not_ automate, but building a comprehensive desktop is something I'd like to automate.

In any case, very nicely done, I'm a fan.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB