You are not logged in.

#101 2018-02-26 14:25:21

MALsPa
Member
From: albuquerque
Registered: 2016-06-20
Posts: 172

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

Excellent news, thanks! I have been considering replacing my Antergos (w/ Openbox) installation with ArchLabs. The Antergos installation has been humming along nicely for about a year -- not much to complain about -- and that's partly why I've hesitated to make the switch. But ArchLabs looks like a better deal for me.

Offline

#102 2018-02-26 14:57:01

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 577
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

New Release for ArchLabs

https://archlabslinux.com/2018/02/26/ar … -for-2018/

Great news! downloading now!

Offline

#103 2018-02-27 05:45:48

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Thanks guys!


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#104 2018-04-18 23:44:31

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,944
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

Online

#105 2018-05-06 05:37:43

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

hhh wrote:

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

H3, is this something that can be installed post installation?  Or is it required pre-install?


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#106 2018-05-06 15:30:08

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 778

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:
hhh wrote:

Dobs, I downloaded your April 64 bit ISO, it is gorgeous!

I couldn't install it, I only have one USB stick ATM and I needed b43 firmware. Can it be included or are y'all going for no non-free packages?

H3, is this something that can be installed post installation?  Or is it required pre-install?

I would have something to install non-free firmware so that a user can be able to get a network connection for those network adapters that require firmware in order to bring up a connection.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#107 2018-05-07 04:05:59

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,944
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@dobbie, I only have one USB drive ATM, I'd need another to hold the b43 files during installation. My workaround is easy enough... I'll be dual-booting, sp I'll just bypass network setup during install, copy the folder /lib/firmware/b43 (or b43-legacy, or whatever firmware) over from my BL partition and setup the network.

@DeepD, in BL/Debian, the package we include is b43-fwcutter, that extracts the non-free Broadcom drivers and is a seperate package from firmware-linux-nonfree

Online

#108 2018-05-07 05:29:51

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

hhh wrote:

@dobbie, I only have one USB drive ATM, I'd need another to hold the b43 files during installation. My workaround is easy enough... I'll be dual-booting, sp I'll just bypass network setup during install, copy the folder /lib/firmware/b43 (or b43-legacy, or whatever firmware) over from my BL partition and setup the network.

@DeepD, in BL/Debian, the package we include is b43-fwcutter, that extracts the non-free Broadcom drivers and is a seperate package from firmware-linux-nonfree

@hhh, have put it to Nate to see if he can come up with something.  Will let you know what we come up with.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#109 2018-05-07 05:41:50

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@hhh, talking with Nate further, b43-fwcutter is included by default.  Maybe you'd need to add the firmware itself from the AUR?

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=b43


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#110 2018-05-07 08:05:07

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@hhh, heads up, new ISO out soon with the B43 firmware added. smile


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#111 2018-05-07 19:04:17

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,944
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Hot damn, thank you!

Online

#112 2018-05-08 11:08:27

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,966
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@Dobbie, To be honest the new installer wanted to know my blood type (I think), so I got bored half-way (I know it's arch and it's ....). Will try some other day when I regain my nerd powers wink. Not complaining, just saying.

Offline

#113 2018-05-09 06:16:42

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

brontosaurusrex wrote:

@Dobbie, To be honest the new installer wanted to know my blood type (I think), so I got bored half-way (I know it's arch and it's ....). Will try some other day when I regain my nerd powers wink. Not complaining, just saying.

That's the trimmed down version too......it's a pretty simple installer once you get into it.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#114 2018-05-09 08:12:19

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

New AL wallpapers, as usual full inspiration comes from BL

Beam-Logo.md.png
Beam-No-Logo.md.png

ArchLabs text, thanks to the Manjaro guys for the idea......


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#115 2018-05-10 01:00:38

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,944
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Looks great, Dobs!

Online

#116 2018-05-10 01:41:13

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 778

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Now ArchLabs has  piqued my interest in playing with Arch again. smile


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#117 2018-05-10 06:00:51

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@H3, thanks mate.

@DeepDayze, you won't be disappointed smile


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#118 2018-05-10 14:29:25

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 307

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Hey Dobbie03, is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it? I like building everything from scratch initially but would love a sort of automated desktop builder.

Offline

#119 2018-05-11 05:50:36

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

@cloverskull, not that I know of.  Might as well just use ArchLabs big_smile

On that note, we have a new release, https://bit.ly/2KW07sW.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#120 2018-05-11 06:06:36

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

cloverskull wrote:

is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it?

You can steal their configs from the github site:

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-User-Home

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/ArchLabs-Themes

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-Wallpapers

etc...

devil


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#121 2018-05-11 06:13:40

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
cloverskull wrote:

is there a way to take an arch installation and archlabs-ify it?

You can steal their configs from the github site:

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-User-Home

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/ArchLabs-Themes

https://github.com/ARCHLabs/Archlabs-Wallpapers

etc...

devil

Yup you can do this but the automated part of it @cloverskull would have to write big_smile


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#122 2018-05-11 06:18:45

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

^ It should be fairly simple to wrap all the configuration up into a single PKGBUILD for vanilla Arch users who want your desktop, would you mind if I gave it a go?

EDIT: I could even upload it to the AUR (if I can get it working) smile

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2018-05-11 06:20:10)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#123 2018-05-11 06:20:14

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,468
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

^ It should be fairly simple to wrap all the configuration up into a single PKGBUILD for vanilla Arch users who want your desktop, would you mind if I gave it a go?


Not at all Mr Stick.


One of the ArchLabs dudes
Obssesive Metalhead and practiced beer drinker
\m/

Offline

#124 2018-05-11 13:33:20

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,944
Website

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Dobbie03 wrote:

On that note, we have a new release, https://bit.ly/2KW07sW.

Congrats! You've added the Broadcom drivers I asked about? You should add that to the "New features" list.

Online

#125 2018-05-11 16:55:16

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 307

Re: ArchLabs Linux

Initial impressions running ArchLabs in virtualbox is...well done! Very nice. I enjoy this quite a bit.

I'd love to take a vanilla arch installation and ArchLabs-ify it. I like HOAS's initiative here. smile For me, the initial installation of Arch is something I prefer to _not_ automate, but building a comprehensive desktop is something I'd like to automate.

In any case, very nicely done, I'm a fan.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB