You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-02 20:28:16

ericd13
New Member
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 3

No sound systray

I've got some problems with sound in bunsenlabs
There is no sound systray in tint2
Sometimes the sound (in VLC) becomes saturated, like in a very cheap loudspeaker : I have to reboot from the USB instal drive then again reboot the computer to get back a clean sound.

sudo alsactl init  gives
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Intel Haswell HDMI" "HDA:80862807,80860101,00100000" "0x1043" "0x8534"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method

Offline

#2 2015-10-04 08:30:57

Snap
Member
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 465

Re: No sound systray

Try replacing volti for pavucontrol.

If poor quality sound persists you might consider purging pulseaudio and move to ALSA/Jack. Not for Skype users at first instance, but IIRC there are workarounds for that. I'm not an Skype user so I don't know the workarounds myself though I should have the howtos somewhere in my HD. I use to collect anything audio related (documentation) besides I always stay away from pulse. (Cadence from KXStudio is by far the best way to deal with audio, not the lightest, but the best. Mandatory in all my systems).

Last edited by Snap (2015-10-04 08:39:15)

Offline

#3 2015-10-04 09:47:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: No sound systray

ericd13 wrote:

There is no sound systray in tint2

So you have sound but no icon?

What is the output of:

pstree|grep volti
cat ~/.config/openbox/autostart

Do you have a systray icon in the live environment?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB