You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-02 21:37:49

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

Is there a way to configure some keyboard key so :
- I can move a window without clicking/Holding the Top of the window
- I can resize without having to click the window edges but more PRESS SOME KEYBOARD KEY, clicking within the window anywhere and drage to resize...

Things I was able to do with some distro and that I like...

JF

Last edited by yoda (2020-03-02 21:57:11)


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#2 2020-03-02 21:50:36

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

OK I found one :
ALT key plus pressing mouse in the window anywhere to move

Now searching for RESIZE....


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#3 2020-03-02 21:55:19

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,309

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

ALT + Mouse1 to move
ALT + Mouse3 to resize

Last edited by PackRat (2020-03-02 21:56:03)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#4 2020-03-02 21:56:58

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

PackRat wrote:

ALT + Mouse1 to move
ALT + Mouse3 to resize

Tks PackRat !!!!

Where in the GUI or text files I could have found that ?  Asking that because I am trying to remove the CTRL A (Usually Select all) that launch a terminal.

Tks a lot...

Moved my main Desktop to BL-Lithium and trying to learn my new environement ASAP

JF

Last edited by yoda (2020-03-02 21:59:44)


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#5 2020-03-02 22:00:08

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,309

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

Those are actually default actions for openbox and fluxbox window managers. Should work on any distro.

For openbox, the key and mouse bindings are defined in the ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml file.

There are plenty of options for openbox key and mouse binding actions.

Edit - for BL Lithium, they made a move to use xbindkeys; there may be a menu entry to edit key bindings. Otherwise, I think it's the ~/.xbindkeysrc file. The bindings to launch applications will be there.

Last edited by PackRat (2020-03-02 22:04:46)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#6 2020-03-02 22:10:44

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

The window keybinds are in rc.xml or bl-rc.xml, whichever you are using.

The command keybinds are in rc.xml/bl-rc.xml OR .xbindkeys, whichever you are using.

There are items in the main menu for displaying all the keybinds ("Display Keybinds" is a clue).


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#7 2020-03-02 22:23:33

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

damo wrote:

The window keybinds are in rc.xml or bl-rc.xml, whichever you are using.

The command keybinds are in rc.xml/bl-rc.xml OR .xbindkeys, whichever you are using.

There are items in the main menu for displaying all the keybinds ("Display Keybinds" is a clue).

I have a default Lithium install...

By default, we are using keyboard shortcuts in both of those config files ?

tks
JF
I already started modifying them but don't quite perfeclty understand which one are " effective / functional ".... Trying to figure it out...


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#8 2020-03-02 22:52:29

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

damo wrote:

The window keybinds are in rc.xml or bl-rc.xml, whichever you are using.

The command keybinds are in rc.xml/bl-rc.xml OR .xbindkeys, whichever you are using.

There are items in the main menu for displaying all the keybinds ("Display Keybinds" is a clue).

@damo

Be default, Lithium install has some keybind that when you CTRL + A it open a terminal..

CTRL - A is some SELECT ALL used a lot in all OS and distros.

Where can I get rid of CTRL + A  from opening a terminal ?

I really looked in several config files....

Tks in advance
JF


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#9 2020-03-02 23:09:00

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

On Lithium, the main menu has "Display Keybinds", but "Ctrl-A" doesn't appear there.

I think you may have found a bug -

if a window is open, then Ctrl-A does as expected, and selects all. Some of the time;
otherwise Ctrl-A toggles a terminal on/off.

Investigating....

EDIT: are you running Lithium in a Virtual Machine? I think it may be a keybind issue with lxterminal, which I don't get on my main install, only in a VM.

BTW: you can display the xbindkeys keybinds either from the menu, or by running xbindkeys_show with Control+Shift+q.

Last edited by damo (2020-03-02 23:46:22)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2020-03-03 01:02:44

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

OOPS, now typing from one of my laptop and I do not have the issue.... The CTRL-A (Select all works normally) issue..

Will try to figure out what is doing that on my last new installation ( Desktop)

JF


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#11 2020-03-03 03:36:52

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 10,784
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

I just quickly scanned the thread, so apologies if this has been mentioned...

Alt+m will move a focused window via arrow keys, hit Enter or Esc to finalize.

Alt+r will resize a window, for example use up arrow to start resizing up, switch to right arrow to resize right, Enter/Esc to finalize.

Alt+m is used for some programs, but I can't remember where (Media menu in a media player, maybe?) Alt+m will move the window instead of opening the menu header. Reassign the window action to another shortcut for the easy workaround.

Offline

#12 2020-03-03 04:36:47

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,423
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

Ctrl+A opens no terminal on my Helium Real Metal install nor on Lithium running in a qemu VM.
Is this some VirtualBox thing?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#13 2020-03-03 05:30:46

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

johnraff wrote:

Ctrl+A opens no terminal on my Helium Real Metal install nor on Lithium running in a qemu VM.
Is this some VirtualBox thing?

OP is running Lithium on bare-metal I believe.

I found the same(?) effect with Lithium in a qemu VM (but not with Helium): if lxterminal  and/or terminator are running, then Ctrl-A toggles them off/on, and sometimes another very small window is left.

Curiously, I've just noticed that the Ctrl-A toggling only happens if the terminal is started from the menu. That misbehaving window also has a different colour theme from terminals started via commandline, dmenu or gmrun.

EDIT: I've done an OOPs - I must have set x-terminal-emulator to be terminator at some point. That is the misbehaving application  monkey

EDIT 2: If I spawn a new terminator process with Super+Shift+i, that window doesn't show the toggling behaviour.

Last edited by damo (2020-03-03 05:42:08)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2020-03-03 05:43:04

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

@yoda - are you using Terminator as your terminal emulator?

SOLUTION:  Delete the hide_window keybinding in .config/terminator/terminator smile

Last edited by damo (2020-03-03 05:50:56)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#15 2020-03-03 12:07:38

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Resizing and moving windows using keyboard key and mouse [SOLVED]

damo wrote:

@yoda - are you using Terminator as your terminal emulator?

SOLUTION:  Delete the hide_window keybinding in .config/terminator/terminator smile

Shame on me.... This was exactly that..... :-(((

Yoda


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB