You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-09 02:31:04

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

I'm opening a new thread as it's clear that jgmenu will be the default right-click/Main Menu for BL Lithium. It's one of the most exciting aspects of Lithium, and I have the forum posts and PMs to prove it. smile

@malm, currently installing a new application does not update our default menu. I don't see how it could, as our menu is always running as 'sh -c jgmenu_run'. Opening 'Main Menu>Preferences>jgmenu>Sync Theme w. Openbox' adds the newly installed application to jgmenu (easiest way AFAIK, at least). Maybe rename the menu item to "Sync applications and theme" or maybe just "Sync" (my preferences, brevity is the soul of wit and all)?

Offline

#2 2019-09-09 18:34:44

Bridouz
Member
From: France, countryside
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 12
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

hhh wrote:

Maybe rename the menu item to "Sync applications and theme" or maybe just "Sync" (my preferences, brevity is the soul of wit and all)?

+1 for Sync.

I think Bunsen users will know what will be synced.

Offline

#3 2019-09-09 20:13:35

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 735

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

What about transparency for jgmenu such as respecting settings for Compton?

Did upgrade to Buster from Stretch and adding the test Lithium repo...so far so good.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2019-09-09 20:14:21)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#4 2019-09-09 20:43:53

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 480
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

hhh wrote:

@malm, currently installing a new application does not update our default menu. I don't see how it could, as our menu is always running as 'sh -c jgmenu_run'

jgmenu watches a number of files and directories
If any of these change, jgmenu refreshes the menu content.

I implement 'hooks' at some point (but not the next few weeks). These will allow the user to specify specific files/directories to watch and associate specific actions to be carried out on change (i.e. re-load gtk theme, ob theme).

@DeepDayze - hooks could be a way of tying compton variables to specific settings.

Offline

#5 2019-09-09 20:46:07

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 735

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

What about transparency? Can jgmenu be made to recognize Compton's settings for menu transparency?


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#6 2019-09-09 21:01:59

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 480
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^technically yes, it would be quite trivial to implement. Just parse ~/.config/compton.conf and then set config.color_menu_bg based on some variable.

Practically, I prefer to do it with hooks, which are not implemented yet.
Why? Because explicit is better than implicit and I feel we have reached the limit of config complexity. We currently read xgettings, gtk-3.0/settings.ini, jgmenurc and tint2rc.

If we want a compton parser, we could write it in a similar way to the openbox theme parser which is ready for 'hooks'. See jgmenu-ob.c

Fancy writing jgmenu-compton.c? It should be much simpler than jgmenu-ob.c

What particularly variables are we looking at? 'menu-opacity'?

Offline

#7 2019-09-09 21:39:13

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 735

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

malm wrote:

^technically yes, it would be quite trivial to implement. Just parse ~/.config/compton.conf and then set config.color_menu_bg based on some variable.

Practically, I prefer to do it with hooks, which are not implemented yet.
Why? Because explicit is better than implicit and I feel we have reached the limit of config complexity. We currently read xgettings, gtk-3.0/settings.ini, jgmenurc and tint2rc.

If we want a compton parser, we could write it in a similar way to the openbox theme parser which is ready for 'hooks'. See jgmenu-ob.c

Fancy writing jgmenu-compton.c? It should be much simpler than jgmenu-ob.c

What particularly variables are we looking at? 'menu-opacity'?

Think "menu-opacity" is what would be needed to have jgmenu's transparency controlled by compton's settings as the obmenu worked with that setting as well.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2019-09-09 21:39:55)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#8 2019-09-09 22:55:13

misko_2083
Member
Registered: 2016-05-24
Posts: 221

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

Malm, I tried to make jgmenu-garcon work.
With mixed results so far. smile (see PM)

https://git.xfce.org/xfce/garcon/

Offline

#9 2019-09-10 01:10:32

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

hhh wrote:

currently installing a new application does not update our default menu.

I can't reproduce this, to be honest. I just test-installed Viewnior (a small package) and it appeared immediately. Are you installing to non-standard locations?

EDIT: Sorry, I'm using Stretch, so I don't think my jgmenu is using the lx module to generate the applications menu - if you're using Buster the behaviour might be different.

Last edited by johnraff (2019-09-10 05:35:34)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#10 2019-09-10 23:35:20

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 8,324
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

On Lithium, install Gimp via the improved pipe-menus, then straight to jgmenu without 'sync'...

Screenshot_2019-09-10_19-30-32.md.png

-edit- After 'sync'...

Screenshot_2019-09-10_19-38-09.md.png

Offline

#11 2019-09-10 23:43:10

eight.bit.al
Member
From: The top of the World
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 297
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^ Tease,  wink

I must have installed twenty distros this week or so, updated to Debian 10, where are you guys? I know I know. It will be ready when it's ready.  smile smile smile Thanks for all y'alls hard work.

8bit

"I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them."
    - Ian L. Fleming (1908-1964)

Offline

#12 2019-09-11 02:16:46

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^^ @hhh confirmed on a Lithium VM. We'll have to wait for a response from @Malm on this.

^@8bital Try the experimental repo if you're impatient: https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=5546


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#13 2019-09-11 12:36:14

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 60

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

johnraff wrote:

Try the experimental repo if you're impatient

Maybe call it "dev repo" instead so notto scare people away from an nearly full mature state?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#14 2019-09-11 14:42:21

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 128

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

I think "experimental" is quite appropriate for a distribution called BunsenLabs wink

Offline

#15 2019-09-12 01:49:33

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

malm wrote:
hhh wrote:

@malm, currently installing a new application does not update our default menu.

jgmenu watches a number of files and directories
If any of these change, jgmenu refreshes the menu content.

Most apps (or apps that expect to appear in a menu) should put a .desktop file in one of those directories, usually /usr/share/applications, so something must be interfering with that process - in our test case of installing Gimp anyway.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#16 2019-09-12 08:23:15

misko_2083
Member
Registered: 2016-05-24
Posts: 221

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^I wonder if it's because of the env?

echo $XDG_DATA_DIRS
/usr/share/xfce4:/usr/local/share/:/usr/share/:/usr/share

Offline

#17 2019-09-12 10:40:58

clusterF
Member
Registered: 2019-05-07
Posts: 142

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

This may be slightly off topic and may not fit into this thread if so please split topic off maybe?. I have been using jgmenu for a few weeks and it works fine for what i want, im just using the archlabs theme, tweaked it with my own colors and prepend/appends. Small minor thing that is an irritation is when the tint2 button is pressed for jgmenu, the thinking icon does not go away from the mouse cursor for awhile like over 30 seconds sometimes. I even have icons turned off so that cant be the issue. Does anyone else get this when clicking jgmenu? Its no big deal but compared to lxpanel menu and xfce4 panel menus this does not happen for them.

Last edited by clusterF (2019-09-12 10:41:21)


Everything not saved will be lost.

--Nintendo "Quit Screen" message

Offline

#18 2019-09-13 04:07:50

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^Sorry, but I can't confirm that issue. On my Lithium VM, pressing the tint2 button, jgmenu comes up immediately and the mouse cursor doesn't change.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#19 2019-09-13 20:10:09

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,058

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

Using the latest prepend.csv from skel, after updating, I see this on line#34

Take Screenshot,^pipe(~/projects/pipemenus/bl-scrot-pipemenu)

I guess that isn't the intention!


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#20 2019-09-14 04:29:58

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

^Indeed not. And many thanks for catching it!


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#21 2019-09-17 19:37:45

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 480
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

hhh wrote:

@malm, currently installing a new application does not update our default menu.

johnraff wrote:

^^ @hhh confirmed on a Lithium VM. We'll have to wait for a response from @Malm on this.

It should work. I'm on lithium and have just installed gimp from the pipemenu and jgmenu re-loaded.
Just to clarify - it only check for changes when it's launched (e.g. by a panel button or a keyboard shortcut running jgmenu_run). If you're sat there with jgmenu open, whilst gimp is being installed in the background, it won't know about it.
https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/blo … nu.c#L1114

misko_2083 wrote:

Malm, I tried to make jgmenu-garcon work.
With mixed results so far. smile (see PM)

Awesome. I think this will have to be a post-lithium project.
Suggest we make it 'contrib/' and model it on the 'lx' module.

clusterF wrote:

Small minor thing that is an irritation is when the tint2 button is pressed for jgmenu, the thinking icon does not go away from the mouse cursor for awhile like over 30 seconds sometimes.

In order to avoid startup notification (spinning hour-glass after clicking button or launcher), set the following in ~/.config/tint2/tint2rc and then restart tint2:

startup_notifications = 0

https://jgmenu.github.io/integration.html#tint2
This is a pretty global setting though, so will turn it off startup-notification (SN) for launchers too.

tint2 respects the `StartupNotify=` key in the .desktop files, so if you want to have a menu button wihtout SN and other launchers with SN, you would have to set `startup_notification = 1` in tint2rc and use a launcher plugin for your jgmenu button.

https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/blo … esktop#L15

I prefer using the button plugin because it's faster.

misko_2083 wrote:
text_presentation_sequence := emoji_character text_presentation_selector

@misko - I've created a dedicated man page for this. https://jgmenu.github.io/jgmenuunicode.7.html

I think that answers all Qs. Please shout if I've missed something.

Offline

#22 Yesterday 08:25:04

misko_2083
Member
Registered: 2016-05-24
Posts: 221

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

malm wrote:
misko_2083 wrote:

Malm, I tried to make jgmenu-garcon work.
With mixed results so far. smile (see PM)

Awesome. I think this will have to be a post-lithium project.
Suggest we make it 'contrib/' and model it on the 'lx' module.

misko_2083 wrote:
text_presentation_sequence := emoji_character text_presentation_selector

@misko - I've created a dedicated man page for this. https://jgmenu.github.io/jgmenuunicode.7.html

I think that answers all Qs. Please shout if I've missed something.

You even had the time for the manual. smile
It's well written, you have an eye for details.

Offline

#23 Today 02:50:37

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,730
Website

Re: jgmenu Lithium suggestions and bugfixes

malm wrote:
hhh wrote:

@malm, currently installing a new application does not update our default menu.

johnraff wrote:

^^ @hhh confirmed on a Lithium VM. We'll have to wait for a response from @Malm on this.

It should work. I'm on lithium and have just installed gimp from the pipemenu and jgmenu re-loaded.
Just to clarify - it only check for changes when it's launched (e.g. by a panel button or a keyboard shortcut running jgmenu_run). If you're sat there with jgmenu open, whilst gimp is being installed in the background, it won't know about it.
https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/blo … nu.c#L1114

My test:
Make sure Gimp is not installed.
Invoke jgmenu (tint2 button or keybind) check that "Graphics" does not contain Gimp.
Install Gimp.
Invoke jgmenu again: Gimp is still not in "Graphics".
Hit the "sync with openbox" menu item (ie 'jgmenu init --apply-obtheme'): now Gimp is in the menu.

(The same behaviour with other packages.)

All I can think of right now is that we might be using different jgmenu versions. The current Lithium jgmenu, where the above behaviour was found, is 3.3-1~bldev2 which was built from GitHub master on Sept 12th (I foolishly forgot to record the current commit hash). So it wasn't an official release but a test for the static csv sourcing, and handling of ^checkout calling non-existent ^tags.

---
BTW This doesn't mean that unused tags in prepend.csv won't be ignored, but added to the root menu, does it?
https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/blo … nu.c#L1114

Last edited by johnraff (Today 02:52:18)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB