You are not logged in.

#76 2019-08-16 12:12:53

misko_2083
Member
Registered: 2016-05-24
Posts: 212

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

How about Find instead of Search?

Type to Find

Or Type for Application

Not sure if it's a good idea to use the unicode characters like the left-pointing magnifying glass U+1F50D from the Common script.
The forum will will show it as a question mark: '?'
In terminal it would be
echo $'\360\237\224\215'

printf "\360\237\224\215 Type to Find,ls\n" | jgmenu --vsimple

On second thought, "Type in App Name" is more descriptive.
I can't make up my mind. smile

Last edited by misko_2083 (2019-08-16 13:07:51)

Offline

#77 2019-08-16 18:46:09

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 716

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

Ditto...that'll work @malm.


Real Men Use Linux

Online

#78 2019-08-16 19:04:14

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 451
Website

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

@misko_2083
Looks good.
I'll await some forum feedback.
@hhh, @johnraff - any views?
2019-08-16-210031_1920x1080_scrot.png

Offline

#79 2019-08-16 22:20:59

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,012

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

"Type to Search" seems nice and descriptive to me.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#80 2019-08-17 06:56:09

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab1
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 367

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

Yes, looks very nice.


Keep BunsenLabs #!yish please.

Offline

#81 2019-08-17 10:00:00

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 42

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

"Type to search", works.
"Search program...", could also work...

But, maybe that entry and "Run Program", shold move to bottom of meny? It would then be quicker to choose them both with keybord and mouse.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#82 2019-08-19 02:02:58

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,611
Website

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

Just to confirm: "Type to search" isn't a menu item, it's just a bit of information, right? It doesn't have to be clicked or selected in any way?
Or wrong?

Anyway, @malm that last screenshot looked fine to me.

Last edited by johnraff (2019-08-19 05:47:58)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#83 2019-08-19 05:21:01

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 451
Website

Re: jgmenu as default menu generator for Lithium?

@rbh, @johnraff

Just to confirm, the “Type ti Search” is a widget, rather than a menu item. It can’t be selected, so its position is irrelevant other than from an aesthetic perspective.

^I’ll prepare a commit for the latest.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB