You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-19 06:18:40

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Hello,

thank you for the interesting distro you are offering.

I recently installed Bunsenlab on my laptop and I would like to use a second larger HDMI screen on top of my laptop screen.

I use ArandR to get the HDMI screen recognized and set properly, but when the desktop image pops out I have some problems.

The desktop gets "tiled" in four parts (also the one on the laptop screen), conky appears on the largest tile of the HDMI screen, but the tint bar goes well along the whole width of the HDMI and laptop screens.
For some windows the usable desktop area of the current workspace looks confined to the wider tile of the HDMI screen.
When I switch workspace, windows may appear through the whole HDMI screen but cut, and do not appear anymore in the laptop screen.
Finally, windows make a "wake" when dragged around the HDMI screen.

See the screenshot linked below (red area= HDMI screen, green area=laptop screen):

HDMI screen on top of laptop screen

The HDMI screen resolution is the maximum possible among those offered by ArandR.
I fiddled with some options of ArandR to solve these problems but without avail.
I am completely new to openbox, and, frankly speaking, do not want to risk trying xrandr shell commands without any guidance glasses .

Thank you in advance for your help.

Last edited by F-104ASA (2019-08-04 08:58:34)

Offline

#2 2019-04-19 09:41:29

linux_user
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 414

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

F-104ASA wrote:

The desktop gets "tiled" in four parts (also the one on the laptop screen),

That might be because you chose to tile the desktop background. You can fix that in nitrogen>bottom left corner. Try the different settings - scaled, center etc... Sorry I don't use a second monitor, so I can't tell you exactly which one will work.

F-104ASA wrote:

conky appears on the largest tile of the HDMI screen, but the tint bar goes well along the whole width of the HDMI and laptop screens.

If scaling desktop background doesn't fix it, I would suggest you to restart openbox. That should fix it. I remember I encountered something like this quite sometime back, but forgot how I fixed it.

F-104ASA wrote:

When I switch workspace, windows may appear through the whole HDMI screen but cut, and do not appear anymore in the laptop screen.

You have separate displays to both monitors (not mirrored). So each monitor will have their own workspace. In total you have 8 workspace if I have calculated correctly. All of them are unique.

F-104ASA wrote:

Finally, windows make a "wake" when dragged around the HDMI screen.

I don't know what that means, perhaps a little more elaboration of that 'wake'.


"Blind faith to authority is the greatest enemy of truth."

Offline

#3 2019-04-22 09:49:29

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

  1. nitrogen did solve the problem of the tiled background. Not sure whether I had the tiling option set or not, but changing the wallpaper display option to "Zoomed Fill" solved this issue

  2. regarding conky window position: restarting openbox had no effect, but restarting conky made the window align to the top right corner of the laptop screen. And this is OK for me.

  3. Thank you for the explanation about the layout across the two screens. It is indeed like that, and the two tint2 bars help keeping track of what window is opened in what screen for each workspace

  4. by "wake" I meant that a window dragged around the HDMI screen would move keeping a copy of itself in all the previous positions (it is shown in the picture I included in the first post), so it makes a kind of tail. But after I solved the wallpaper issue I do not see this effect anymore...

Finally, I just noticed a last small issue: when I maximize a window open on the large screen on top of the laptop screen, it does not fill the screen as expected, but it jumps down to the bottom of it, and shows only its very top part. On the other hand, if I maximize a window open in the laptop screen, everything is OK.
This small issue will not prevent me to use my new dual-screen setup (I just have to enlarge the windows manually), but if I can fix it, it will be better.

Many thanks to linux_user for the fast and effective reply

Offline

#4 2019-04-22 15:37:25

linux_user
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 414

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

F-104ASA wrote:

regarding conky window position: restarting openbox had no effect, but restarting conky made the window align to the top right corner of the laptop screen. And this is OK for me.

Ah, pretty close. smile Conky doesn't replicate itself in all screens unless you're mirroring it. It's sticks to the primary screen.

F-104ASA wrote:

by "wake" I meant that a window dragged around the HDMI screen would move keeping a copy of itself in all the previous positions (it is shown in the picture I included in the first post), so it makes a kind of tail.

Alright, learnt a new jargon. smile

F-104ASA wrote:

Finally, I just noticed a last small issue: when I maximize a window open on the large screen on top of the laptop screen, it does not fill the screen as expected, but it jumps down to the bottom of it, and shows only its very top part. On the other hand, if I maximize a window open in the laptop screen, everything is OK.

Can you post a screenshot?

F-104ASA wrote:

Many thanks to linux_user for the fast and effective reply

You're welcome, just returning what I received when I first joined the forum with truck load of questions.


"Blind faith to authority is the greatest enemy of truth."

Offline

#5 2019-04-23 09:51:12

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Here is the screenshot:
maximized window in dual-screen configuration
The yellow arrows show the maximized window in the large screen on top of the laptop screen; this latter is highlighted by the blue frame.

Offline

#6 2019-04-24 05:42:47

linux_user
Member
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 414

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

^ Not sure how to troubleshoot it. Did some searches online as well with no avail. Guess, we'll have to wait for some of the senior members of the forum. I had heard that 2 of them are little busy with something else. Let's see if others notice this. Meanwhile I'll keep searching about this as well.


"Blind faith to authority is the greatest enemy of truth."

Offline

#7 2019-04-25 05:05:37

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

This is not my area of expertise.
but.
i cannot see the screenshots posted. it would be better to post direct image links.

Offline

#8 2019-05-01 20:29:15

jp734
Member
Registered: 2019-05-01
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

please execute xrandr command in terminal and give us the output. This will help us know more about the native resolution of each screen.

Also, if you can give us a bit more information about the laptop and the monitor especially the max resolution for each of them - that would be great. Thanks

Last edited by jp734 (2019-05-01 21:07:05)

Offline

#9 2019-05-18 03:08:30

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Sorry for the very late reply.

This is the output of xrandr:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1848, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS-1 connected primary 1366x768+248+1080 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 345mm x 194mm
   1366x768      59.96*+
   1360x768      59.80    59.96  
   1024x768      60.04    60.00  
   960x720       60.00  
   928x696       60.05  
   896x672       60.01  
   960x600       60.00  
   960x540       59.99  
   800x600       60.00    60.32    56.25  
   840x525       60.01    59.88  
   800x512       60.17  
   700x525       59.98  
   640x512       60.02  
   720x450       59.89  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   680x384       59.80    59.96  
   576x432       60.06  
   512x384       60.00  
   400x300       60.32    56.34  
   320x240       60.05  
VGA-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  50.00    59.94  
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1680x1050     59.88  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      59.90  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.91  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   832x624       74.55  
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x576i      50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x480i      60.00    59.94  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    66.67    60.00    59.94  
   720x400       70.08  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

My laptop is a lenovo G500s with a screen maximum resolution of 1366X768 (HD 200nit).

The external monitor is an ACER KA270H with a maximum resolution of 1920X1080 (full HD 1080).

As shown in the xrandr output, I keep my laptop screen as primary.

Thank you all for your time and attention

Offline

#10 2019-05-18 15:17:15

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

^ technically, that output seems correct.
i wonder if you could provide direct image links or use something like imgur to show us what's wrong?

Offline

#11 2019-05-18 19:01:36

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,158

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

From the resolution and graphical glitches I suspect it is a graphics card/driver issue. Perhaps booting with some esoteric boot parameters could fix it. The @OP needs to search for answers to similar symptoms on similar hardware.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2019-05-30 00:44:55

jp734
Member
Registered: 2019-05-01
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

I'm really not familiar with ARandR and don't know difference between it and xrandr. I've only used xrandr and been using it for a very long time and have no issue.

My startup have a xrandr script that looks like this: xrandr --auto --output VGA-1 --right-of HDMI-1. Give it a shot and see how it goes.

Replace VGA-1 with LVDS-1. You can also use "--top-of" and "--left-of"

Offline

#13 2019-05-30 16:02:24

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

jp734 wrote:

I'm really not familiar with ARandR and don't know difference between it and xrandr.

there should be none. arandr is a gui frontend to xrandr - it saves the user's chosen layout as an xrandr command.

Offline

#14 2019-06-02 15:32:56

ViniciusPeres
New Member
From: Campinas - SP
Registered: 2019-06-02
Posts: 1

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

ohnonot wrote:

i wonder if you could provide direct image links or use something like imgur to show us what's wrong?


Here is the screenshot:
Maximized window in dual-screen configuration - imgur.
The yellow arrows show the maximized window in the large screen on top of the laptop screen; this latter is highlighted by the blue frame.

I have the same problem.

Offline

#15 2019-06-03 05:12:58

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

ViniciusPeres wrote:

Maximized window in dual-screen configuration - imgur.
The yellow arrows show the maximized window in the large screen on top of the laptop screen; this latter is highlighted by the blue frame.

that's - confusing.
not sure what you're showing us there.

I have the same problem.

do you though?
exactly the same as:

The desktop gets "tiled" in four parts (also the one on the laptop screen), conky appears on the largest tile of the HDMI screen, but the tint bar goes well along the whole width of the HDMI and laptop screens.
For some windows the usable desktop area of the current workspace looks confined to the wider tile of the HDMI screen.
When I switch workspace, windows may appear through the whole HDMI screen but cut, and do not appear anymore in the laptop screen.
Finally, windows make a "wake" when dragged around the HDMI screen.

See the screenshot linked below (red area= HDMI screen, green area=laptop screen)

so you chose to use the same color coding as OP in your screenshots?

I feel flattered that you quote me, but it seems damo was closer to the matter:

damo wrote:

From the resolution and graphical glitches I suspect it is a graphics card/driver issue.

Please show us

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

just for starters.

Oh, and I suspect a two-fold issue, the simpler part: In arandr, please make sure you drag the two screens apart from each other, so they're not on top of each other.
and you do know how to save that so it gets applied each login?
after that show us the output of

xrandr

Offline

#16 2019-06-11 03:05:15

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Thank you all for the continuing support.

ohnonot wrote:

Please show us

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

this is it:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Lenovo 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller
--
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/810M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)
	Subsystem: Lenovo GeForce 720M
	Kernel driver in use: nouveau
	Kernel modules: nouveau

I do not use arandr to set the dual-monitor, but the following script launched through a CLI alias:

#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS-1 --primary --mode 1366x768 --pos 248x1080 --rotate normal --output DP-1 --off --output HDMI-1 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA-1 --off

Arandr, however shows now overlapping between my two monitors.

My current output of xrandr is still the one at post #9.

Anyway, I would like to propose a workaround for this inconvenience of the weird maximized windows: just do not use the "maximize window" button, and, instead enlarge the (active) window across the whole screen with the "super+arrows" combinations. The result is practically the same as the maximize button, and you do not even have to use the mouse.
For me this is quicker and safer than tinkering with the GPU settings of my work laptop... big_smile

Offline

#17 2019-06-12 06:52:25

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,092
Website

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

^ you have dual graphics, hybrid graphics, optimus technology, whatever it's called.
I suspect whatever isn't working now will work better when you set that up properly; unfortunately I have zero first-hand experience with it.
If you ever get the itch to "fix" it I suggest to start searching our forums & debian wiki.

Offline

#18 2019-06-12 07:22:22

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,158

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

damo wrote:

From the resolution and graphical glitches I suspect it is a graphics card/driver issue....The @OP needs to search for answers to similar symptoms on similar hardware.

Yes wink  The OP could try the nvidia driver (but first find out how to revert to nouveau). nvidia-settings can then be used for monitor settings instead of arandr/xrandr. https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDrivers

NB Don't follow any instructions to create an xorg.conf! The infamous black screen and blinking cursor is a common outcome!


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#19 2019-06-18 11:52:26

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Yes, indeed, my graphic card has the "optimus" feature.

Since my initial issues with the dual screen have been solved, and I have found the workaround suggested in post #16 for the last issue of the maximized windows, I think my post can be considered [SOLVED]... cool

Offline

#20 2019-06-18 12:17:12

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,158

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

^ You can edit the title of your first post and add "[SOLVED]" (or "[WORKAROUND]" !)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#21 2019-06-18 14:58:35

fnicoli
New Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 3

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

Please, don't have the title changed yet. I'm facing the same "wake" issue from your screenshots.

I've used Hydrogen for months and never faced such an issue, but with Helium, whenever I connect a second monitor and ajust it with arandr, every time I move a window on the second monitor it leaves these trails.

I have a Thinkpad T420.

lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Lenovo 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller

Restarting openbox doesn't fix the trails, but restarting compton does seem to refresh the screen. Old trails go away but moving the screen around creates more.

It feels like a problem with the compositor. If I do arrange the screens like the picture below on arandr:

SvA1imA.png

I get this interesting effect:

B5P1LyV.png


I don't know much about the complex arrangement of screens vs. displays that X does, but it doesn't seem to be a driver problem since the computer renders just fine when the two physical monitors show the same content (even partially).

Last edited by fnicoli (2019-06-18 14:59:50)

Offline

#22 2019-06-18 15:50:02

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,158

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

fnicoli wrote:

...It feels like a problem with the compositor...).

Have you looked at the compton settings and tried eg different vsync settings?

man compton

Menu -> Help & Resources -> manpages Compositor
Menu -> Preferences -> Compositor -> Edit Compositing Settings


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#23 2019-06-18 18:50:40

fnicoli
New Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 3

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

I've messed with some of compton's options.

Setting

backend = "glx";

the compositor generates no trails on window movement, but the wallpaper disappears.

Setting

backend = "xr_glx_hybrid";

the compositor generates no trails on window movement, doesn't affect the wallpaper but the movement feels sluggish.

I'm pretty confident this particular issue is related to compton, since when I disable compositing on BL's Menu the trailing effect is gone (and so is my terminal's transparency).

Offline

#24 2019-07-07 09:35:16

F-104ASA
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 7

Re: dual-monitor configuration:desktop wrong size & bad rendering [SOLVED]

fnicoli,

look at post #3 of this thread for how the "wake" problem disappeared for me. With the modifications I list there I haven't had any problem anymore.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB