You are not logged in.

#1 2019-03-07 06:37:35

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,521
Website

Openbox theming questions

I have recently enabled icons in my openbox menu. It looks nice enough, obmenu-generator does a really good job at finding the right size so they don't get scaled - they're sharp, not fuzzy.
openboxmenu.png
Almost perfect - I would like to get more vertical spacing in there.
Is ther any way to achieve this?
I see no padding or spacing options specifically for menus.

Last edited by ohnonot (2019-03-07 06:41:47)


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#2 2019-03-07 10:26:15

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,978

Re: Openbox theming questions

I guess you could cheat it by adding separators with same colour as the menu bg, but that is a bit labour-intensive. And probably only works with a static menu?

Or maybe it is hard-coded: ask trizen.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2019-03-07 10:52:00

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,024
Website

Re: Openbox theming questions

Or slight shadow abuse

menu.items.font: shadow=y:shadowtint=0:shadowoffset=15

So it's shadow, but there is no shadow..., it's complicated.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2019-03-07 11:07:46)

Online

#4 2019-03-10 19:37:44

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,521
Website

Re: Openbox theming questions

damo wrote:

I guess you could cheat it by adding separators with same colour as the menu bg, but that is a bit labour-intensive.

yes, but i don't see another option.
maybe one day i'll feel like tackling this.

Or maybe it is hard-coded: ask trizen.

hardcoded into obmenu-generator?
i think this is an openbox question, not an obmenu-generator question?

i did try messing with obmenu-generator's icon_size setting in config.pl, but it never adds horizontal spacing (bigger or larger icons, force_icon_size or not).

brontosaurusrex wrote:

So it's shadow, but there is no shadow..., it's complicated.

i actually tried this, it adds spacing between the text entries but not between the icons, just makes them larger.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB