You are not logged in.

#701 2019-01-19 17:25:47

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Yeah, that's what I wanted to see, and that's what I saw.   big_smile  wink
Now it's time to practise.

Offline

#702 2019-01-19 21:06:14

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

...Hm, he doesn't do the localization.

root@dwmX:~# dpkg-reconfigure locales
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  de_DE.UTF-8...[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
 done
  en_GB.UTF-8... done
Generation complete.
*** update-locale: Error: invalid locale settings:  LANG=de_DE.UTF-8

Offline

#703 2019-01-20 13:41:44

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

I spent the whole morning fixing that location. This is really well documented at debian.  monkey

dwmX_deutsch.th.png

root@dwmX:~# locale-gen de_DE.UTF-8
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  de_DE.UTF-8...[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
 done
Generation complete.

lroot@dwmX:~# export LANGUAGE=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# export LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# export LC_ALL=de_DE.UTF-8
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (de_DE.UTF-8)
root@dwmX:~# locale-gen de_DE.UTF-8
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  de_DE.UTF-8...failed to set locale!
[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
 done
Generation complete.

root@dwmX:~# locale -a
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_COLLATE to default locale: No such file or directory
C
C.UTF-8
POSIX

root@dwmX:~# update-locale LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
	LANGUAGE = "de_DE.UTF-8",
	LC_ALL = "de_DE.UTF-8",
	LANG = "de_DE.UTF-8"
    are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C").
*** update-locale: Error: invalid locale settings:  LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# localedef -i de_DE -f UTF-8 de_DE.UTF-8
failed to set locale!
[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
###############################
live@dwmX:~$ su -
Password: 
root@dwmX:~# apt policy locales
locales:
  Installed: 2.28-5
  Candidate: 2.28-5
  Version table:
 *** 2.28-5 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.root.lu/debian buster/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

root@dwmX:~# apt policy locales-all
locales-all:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 2.28-5
  Version table:
     2.28-5 500
        500 http://debian.mirror.root.lu/debian buster/main amd64 Packages

root@dwmX:~# apt install locales-all 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  locales-all
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 10.8 MB of archives.
After this operation, 227 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://debian.mirror.root.lu/debian buster/main amd64 locales-all amd64 2.28-5 [10.8 MB]
Fetched 10.8 MB in 13s (819 kB/s)                                                                                                                            
Selecting previously unselected package locales-all.
(Reading database ... 98594 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../locales-all_2.28-5_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking locales-all (2.28-5) ...
Setting up locales-all (2.28-5) ...

root@dwmX:~# dpkg-reconfigure locales
locales-all installed, skipping locales generation

root@dwmX:~# locale-gen de_DE.UTF-8
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  de_DE.UTF-8...[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
 done
Generation complete.
root@dwmX:~# update-locale LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# export LANGUAGE=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# export LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# export LC_ALL=de_DE.UTF-8
root@dwmX:~# locale-gen de_DE.UTF-8
Generating locales (this might take a while)...
  de_DE.UTF-8...[error] cannot open locale definition file `de_DE': No such file or directory
 done
Generation complete.

The only thing missing is the locales-all package to do the whole ringlet again.  sad
In dwmX only the Jgmenu is changed. The applications, except geany, look at me further in english...
...and, since I changed the resolution, the output to the dmenu is missing in the upper right corner.

I today don't feel like it anymore   mad

Last edited by unklar (2019-01-20 13:47:57)

Offline

#704 2019-01-22 06:00:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,584
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

unklar wrote:

...Hm, he doesn't do the localization.

apparently, you are also allowed to do it manually on debian:
https://wiki.debian.org/Locale#Manually

Offline

#705 2019-01-22 13:33:10

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

ohnonot wrote:
unklar wrote:

    ...Hm, he doesn't do the localization.

apparently, you are also allowed to do it manually on debian:
https://wiki.debian.org/Locale#Manually

^^I did that.  big_smile
This is also not possible without the locales-all package!

Offline

#706 2019-01-22 16:10:27

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 538
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

@unklar
Sorry to waste your time.
I will try and include locales-all in the next alpha. wink

Offline

#707 2019-01-22 20:04:15

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

mrneilypops wrote:

Sorry to waste your time.

You haven't wasted my time. smile
This way I knew what to do when I installed it to my hard drive.   big_smile

Offline

#708 2019-01-23 06:17:39

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,584
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

unklar wrote:

^^I did that.  big_smile
This is also not possible without the locales-all package!

so it's OK now?

Offline

#709 2019-01-23 09:28:24

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 833

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

ohnonot wrote:
unklar wrote:

    ^^I did that.  big_smile
    This is also not possible without the locales-all package!

so it's OK now?

Yes

Offline

#710 2019-01-23 21:08:11

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 538
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

cool The joys of ALPHA...

Offline

#711 2019-02-26 18:45:46

beaker
Member
Registered: 2016-03-06
Posts: 99

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

lock your daughters away . . . dwm6.2 has been released.

Offline

#712 2019-02-26 19:00:29

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,584
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

beaker wrote:

lock your daughters away . . . dwm6.2 has been released.

oh my.
6.1 was in 2015...
browsing the git repo, doesn't look like very much happened.
i guess small changes piled up over the years and someone decided it's time to make it a release.

ps: also a new dmenu release!

Offline

#713 2019-02-26 20:16:34

mrneilypops
The BL Scrot.Moe Guy
From: luxembourg
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 538
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

dwmx ALPHA5 coming soon  hmm

* firefox 65.x
* dwm 6.2
* dmenu 4.9
* st terminal 0.8.2
* firefox 65.0.1
* jgmenu 2.1
* urxvtc @ 95% opacity
* Nordic gtk theme 1.6
* Debian swirl mono icon (jgmenu)
* default wall : https://jarekkubicki.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/60582/

dwm 6.2 changelog is bloat roll

2019-02-25-224158_1920x1080_scrot.th.png

Last edited by mrneilypops (2019-02-26 20:19:16)

Offline

#714 2019-02-28 00:40:51

Branimir
New Member
Registered: 2019-02-26
Posts: 1

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Cheers everyone. I have this 2011 Asus laptop that used to run Crunchbang (back in the 2011), and have been a Debian user for as many+some years on the home computer, so I figured I could get rid of the Linux Mint XFCE from the laptop and go back to openbox type of distro... So here I am, feels like this project took off, where #! stopped.

Digging the "upgrades", the dynamic menu and some cool gui and script tweaks, to make customizing easier.

To tell ya the truth I forgot the tint2 and conky editing years ago, and it's cool that don't really have to go through all that fuss again, just to change the order of the launchers in the tint2, or the layout of conky.

Warm greets from Croatia, now to figure, why does it boot so slow... smile

Offline

#715 2019-02-28 02:25:14

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,250
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Branimir wrote:

Warm greets from Croatia, now to figure, why does it boot so slow... smile

BL Helium should only boot slowly the first time you boot a new installation, it should be pretty quick after that. Feel free to open a support thread in "Basic Help & Support" if that's not the case with your system.

And welcome to the Forums!

Offline

#716 2019-03-22 09:49:04

cherkie
Member
From: UK(still...)
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 90

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

I am lost. I can't deal with the plethora of distros anymore.

Got a 2017 ThinkPad with a separate nvme and ssd and I felt "adventurous" and tested few distros on it... antergos, solus, arch, and I always feel lacking. I always am pissed off about lack of some feature or different package manager than Debian. And I always compare distros to BL, because I have installed it at work just under a year ago and I haven't looked back since.

It's just sometimes I get swayed by the flashy looking distros, only to find out after install that this, that, and that other thing do not work. Or that I can't find my way around settings, or even that the settings themselves do not work properly (had that in pop_os, solus). Yeah, BL appears to be "basic" and "old" kernel but in reality BL is as advanced as any other distro and I don't need the "new" kernel at all. I am used to Debian now. It's home.

As a last test before coming back to BL I plan to install plain Debian and see if I really need a DE that isn't openbox or should I just go back to BL?

In all honesty, the biggest "beef" I have with BL is that I haven't found a way to disable touchpad when typing / implement a working touchpad 'toggle' and also (this is the funniest) that external screen does not connect automatically when HDMI is being plugged in. Really, first world problems...

So yeah, this is distro-hoppers anonymous, my name is cherkie and I am an addict.

edit. oh yeah, and my signature explains perfectly why I don't want to use rolling distros!

Last edited by cherkie (2019-03-22 09:50:31)


I don't have patience or skill to dig deep enough every time system breaks itself or when I break something because of lack of patience and skill.
nore, 23 Feb 2019

Offline

#717 2019-03-22 14:11:55

nore
>2⁹
From: blueberry bush
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 433

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

^You are not alone, cherkie.   smile

Offline

#718 2019-03-22 17:22:59

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 956

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Finally got around to installing Alpine Linux.

Excellent choice if you want a minimal distro to build up to you liking. Got a workable xfce desktop going. Unfortunately, no time to do much else with it, so back to ArchLabs on that computer.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#719 2019-03-23 07:33:41

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,143
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

cherkie wrote:

I haven't found a way to disable touchpad when typing

The default BL ~/.config/openbox/autostart contains this:

## Disable touchpad while typing
#syndaemon -i .5 -K -t -R -d &

Does uncommenting the second line not help?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#720 2019-03-24 07:29:47

cherkie
Member
From: UK(still...)
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 90

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

johnraff wrote:
cherkie wrote:

I haven't found a way to disable touchpad when typing

The default BL ~/.config/openbox/autostart contains this:

## Disable touchpad while typing
#syndaemon -i .5 -K -t -R -d &

Does uncommenting the second line not help?

Thanks. I have gone through dozens of synaptics articles and well, openbox/autostart syndaemon line was always uncommented for me and never made any difference.

Anyway, I am on day two using Debian with KDE. So far quite good. Can customise quite a lot. It seems.

Last edited by cherkie (2019-03-24 07:30:05)


I don't have patience or skill to dig deep enough every time system breaks itself or when I break something because of lack of patience and skill.
nore, 23 Feb 2019

Offline

#721 2019-03-24 19:56:43

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 956

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

cherkie wrote:
johnraff wrote:
cherkie wrote:

I haven't found a way to disable touchpad when typing

The default BL ~/.config/openbox/autostart contains this:

## Disable touchpad while typing
#syndaemon -i .5 -K -t -R -d &

Does uncommenting the second line not help?

Thanks. I have gone through dozens of synaptics articles and well, openbox/autostart syndaemon line was always uncommented for me and never made any difference.

Anyway, I am on day two using Debian with KDE. So far quite good. Can customise quite a lot. It seems.

Using synaptics?

You can try this command:

synclient TouchpadOff=$(synclient -l | grep -c 'TouchpadOff.*=.*0')

that should toggle the touchpad off/on; I used it on my HP laptop because, like you, that syndaemon command never made any difference. If it works, you can use it in a keybinding.

Back on topic; after a year long hiatus for various life issues, VSIDO will hopefully be making a new release soon. Currently in the process of upgrading the installer.

Last edited by PackRat (2019-03-24 19:57:40)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#722 2019-03-24 21:18:27

cherkie
Member
From: UK(still...)
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 90

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

Thanks, PackRat.

Also - back on topic. I am going back to BL. Too many things annoy me in an non openbox environment...

Why am I doing this to myself!


I don't have patience or skill to dig deep enough every time system breaks itself or when I break something because of lack of patience and skill.
nore, 23 Feb 2019

Offline

#723 2019-03-24 22:30:06

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,827

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

cherkie wrote:

.... Too many things annoy me in an non openbox environment...

Why am I doing this to myself!

big_smile I decided to stick with Openbox a long time ago, for the exact same reason. Until I worked out how to get my nvidia graphics working with BL, I used Mint+OB+BL scripts.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#724 2019-03-24 23:20:21

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,250
Website

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

I love KDE on buster and have it as a session on BL lithium along with an OB one. I haven't logged in KDE for the last month while I've been making some BL themes. I got KDEConnect working in the OB session a few days later, and then we got a great exit script working, since then I haven't missed Plasma once.

-edit- I rarely test a new distro these days. I wonder if it's the same for everyone, but for me I've very, very gradually slowed from wanting to play with Linux and learn more to wanting to just use it 99% of the time.

Last edited by hhh (2019-03-24 23:25:03)

Offline

#725 2019-03-25 09:24:21

cherkie
Member
From: UK(still...)
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 90

Re: Distro-hoppers anonymous

damo wrote:
cherkie wrote:

.... Too many things annoy me in an non openbox environment...

Why am I doing this to myself!

big_smile I decided to stick with Openbox a long time ago, for the exact same reason. Until I worked out how to get my nvidia graphics working with BL, I used Mint+OB+BL scripts.

Oh my banana. Installed BL in the evening, restored my horizontal top screen conky, minimalised tint, removed windows decorations, transparent borders aaaaaaaaaaand.......

I am home. Thank you BL team.

hhh wrote:

-edit- I rarely test a new distro these days. I wonder if it's the saame for everyone, but for me I've very, very gradually slowed from wanting to play with Linux and learn more to wanting to just use it 99% of the time.

Exactly... whenever I distro hop I have this 'oooh let's play, look at this, this is shiny, this is fresh, this is........ WHY THE HECK THIS DOESN'T WORK LIKE I AM USED TO, WHY [generic, BL shortcut] DOES NOT DO WHAT IT DOES IN BL'

As my friend said when I showed him BL - back to the 00's interface.


I don't have patience or skill to dig deep enough every time system breaks itself or when I break something because of lack of patience and skill.
nore, 23 Feb 2019

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB