You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-28 14:47:02

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Add new soft to pipemenu

Hi friends.. i installed Helium  and i want  add a new soft to multimedia-pipemenu


i go to  .config/opnebox/pipemenu.rc but can't add new program , becouse is added to the install menu


How to can adding ?



Thanks and sorry by my inglish

Last edited by exe (2018-05-28 14:47:39)

Offline

#2 2018-05-28 19:25:03

doxanthropos
Member
Registered: 2016-01-26
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

Hi exe!
Adding to the pipemenus is quite easy and you are already in the right place.
While the existing apps are added to the menu from the bl-multimedia-pipemenu, you can add to them in the lists given in .config/openbox/pipemenu.rc
For example you can add Grafx2 to the graphic apps pipemenu like this:

GRAPHICS_APPS=( grafx2 )

It will not change the existing apps and only add this one.

Offline

#3 2018-05-28 19:36:50

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

doxanthropos wrote:
GRAPHICS_APPS=( grafx2 )

hmm... I want add multimedia-pipemenu. GRAPHICS_APPS appears in the section of menu install too

Offline

#4 2018-05-28 19:37:57

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,585
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

Also see Right-click desktop/Main Menu>Preferences>Openbox>How to Edit Menu

Offline

#5 2018-05-28 19:46:08

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

hhh wrote:

Also see Right-click desktop/Main Menu>Preferences>Openbox>How to Edit Menu

yes,I see.. but in appears in install menu sad

Offline

#6 2018-05-28 20:18:48

doxanthropos
Member
Registered: 2016-01-26
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

Have a look at the installed menu in /usr/bin/bl-multimedia-pipemenu
There you will see that it contains three lists: MM_APPS, MM_EDITORS and MM_UTILS.
All three are loaded into the multimedia part of the openbox menu and all three can be configured from the .config/openbox/pipemenu.rc
For example, you can add Hydrogen, the drum machine, after installation like this:

MM_EDITORS=( hydrogen )

Offline

#7 2018-05-28 20:26:26

skandyn
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2018-05-03
Posts: 36

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

pipemenus.th.png

Offline

#8 2018-05-28 21:24:56

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu


OK, the problem is that my soft is installed with appimage..


This is the problem !


so... i cant see the program in menu  ¿?

Offline

#9 2018-05-29 05:21:48

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,929
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

See this note at the bottom of pipemenus.rc:

## If any of your added packages needs to be launched by a command
## different from its name,
## uncomment the line below and put it in the associative array,
## like: user_package_commands=([package1]='command1' [package2]='command2')

#user_package_commands=([mpv]='bl-mpv')

Maybe your software's name is different from the command used to call it? If so, and you don't add it to a line like the last one there, then the script will not be able to recognize that it has been installed, so will put it in the "install" menu.

If this is all too much fuss, it might be easier to follow hhh's advice and just add an entry to the menu by hand.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#10 2018-05-29 10:18:19

skandyn
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2018-05-03
Posts: 36

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

example appimage
krita-4.0.3-x86_64.appimage rename krita
copy krita /home/user/bin

appimage.th.png

Offline

#11 2018-05-29 18:25:59

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

johnraff wrote:

See this note at the bottom of pipemenus.rc:

## If any of your added packages needs to be launched by a command
## different from its name,
## uncomment the line below and put it in the associative array,
## like: user_package_commands=([package1]='command1' [package2]='command2')

#user_package_commands=([mpv]='bl-mpv')

Maybe your software's name is different from the command used to call it? If so, and you don't add it to a line like the last one there, then the script will not be able to recognize that it has been installed, so will put it in the "install" menu.

If this is all too much fuss, it might be easier to follow hhh's advice and just add an entry to the menu by hand.


well, i think thant is the best. Thanks Jhonraff !

Offline

#12 2018-05-29 18:28:59

exe
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 56

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

skandyn wrote:

example appimage
krita-4.0.3-x86_64.appimage rename krita
copy krita /home/user/bin

https://cdn.scrot.moe/images/2018/05/29/appimage.th.png


hmmm... Thanks for u tip.. have the problem that the rename and copy in folder bin, my menu openbox is blocked in the section Multimedia.


The program appimage is https://lmms.io/download/#linux


sad

Offline

#13 2019-01-13 08:38:48

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 88

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

I'm just reactivating this thread for a quick question about adding ncmpcpp to the multimedia pipemenu.

My attempt (which isn't working) was to add the following line to the end of pipemenus.rc

user_package_commands=([ncmpcpp]=x-terminal-emulator -e ncmpcpp)

Earlier in the document I added ncmpcpp to the Multimedia pipemenu section:

MM_APPS=( 'banshee' 'handbrake' 'asunder'  'ncmpcpp' )

When I select ncmpcpp from the OB menu, it opens a terminal but doesn't run ncmpcpp, so I must be missing something very obvious ops

Offline

#14 2019-01-13 09:08:24

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,929
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

You had it right basically, except that the "command" needed here has to be a single word, no shell code allowed. So in your case you got a terminal - the rest was ignored.

What you could do is make a "wrapper" script which does what you want and call that script as the "command".
For example, at the simplest level, make a script like this:

#!/bin/bash
x-terminal-emulator -e ncmpcpp

Name it something like ncmpcpp-wrapper (or anything), make the file executable and put it in ~/bin.
As long as ~/bin is in your $PATH (it should be) then you can put ncmpcpp-wrapper in the code above.
(I haven't actually tried your case, but bl-mpv is such a wrapper script around mpv, with a few extra frills.)

Last edited by johnraff (2019-01-13 09:11:05)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#15 2019-01-13 15:47:44

Jimbo_G
Member
From: France
Registered: 2017-05-12
Posts: 88

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

That works great, thanks!

Offline

#16 2019-01-13 17:11:52

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,419
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

johnraff wrote:

You had it right basically, except that the "command" needed here has to be a single word, no shell code allowed. So in your case you got a terminal - the rest was ignored.

What you could do is make a "wrapper" script ... etc. ...

that is surely the easiest workaround, but openbox' menu.xml can very well accept commands with parameters (it is not shell code - but even that is possible).
maybe just some single or double quotes around the whole thing?

although i'm not very clear about how that particular pipemenu works, something might get lost there.

Offline

#17 2019-01-14 02:46:42

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,929
Website

Re: Add new soft to pipemenu

^True that OB's menu.xml will take arguments after a command, but the pipemenu does a 'hash <command>' to determine if the app is installed or not, which requires a single word. (Testing the command, not the package name, allows locally installed apps to work too.)

However, the pipemenu code could quite likely be modified to accept compound custom commands, which might be a useful enhancement. Let me get the BL packages migrated Helium>Lithum first...


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB