You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-17 16:05:03

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

[Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Hello everyone, I'm still learning how to use Openbox, so you need to put a menu in the Bunsenlabs taskbar. For me, what I'm learning is simpler. How do I do?
And congratulations to the whole Bunsenlabs team for the excellent work.

Last edited by goltrek (2018-12-23 17:42:58)

Offline

#2 2018-12-17 16:41:15

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 676
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Are you referring to a launcher button, like the Windows start menu? Then you want to add a launcher for a menu to the tint2 panel. One such menu implementation is jgmenu. Myself, I don't know how exactly these two work together but you should find plenty of information on this forum when you search using tint2 and jgmenu as well as menu, launcher etc as keywords. Perhaps somebody will follow up here with a more concise answer. There is also the large thread Dynamic menus - a comprehensive guide but jgmenu/tint2 only have a small section there.

Offline

#3 2018-12-17 16:42:09

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,833

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Please have a look at Introduction to the BunsenLabs Desktop.

The main menu also has many links to useful sources of information in Menu -> Help&Resources.

The "taskbar" is Tint2, so I'm guessing that you want to add a launcher or executor button to start the Openbox menu (your question isn't clear to me). That seems overkill, when you can just right-click on the desktop, or the screen edge at the top. Or use the Super key.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#4 2018-12-17 17:00:37

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@earlybird, @damo,

Yes that's right, I would like to add a launcher button on Tint2.
I will read the links that you indicated to me to learn more, thanks to all for the tips.

Offline

#5 2018-12-17 18:05:17

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

As I am still learning to use Openbox, I installed Lxde Core just to be able to see a menu with all the options that BunsenLabs has, I came up with the following command.
# apt install lxde-core

On the login screen I can switch between Lxde and Openbox.
I'm using the theme Bunsen-He-Flatish and it was very beautiful.
Only now need to put the Bunsenlabs icon on the menu, how to find?

Last edited by goltrek (2018-12-17 18:16:46)

Offline

#6 2018-12-17 18:16:38

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 626

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@goltrek: if you wish, by all means, install MSWindows-like launcher.

But, are you aware that you have much more powerful, always present, and everywhere present the right-click (almost) anywhere on the desktop, with all the programs you need, and highly configurable?

I mean, instead to go to the specific place with mouse to click on static launcher, you can be (almost) anywhere on the desktop, and access your 'launcher' with right-click. Try it, you may like it.


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#7 2018-12-17 18:22:07

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@Imbecil,
I also really liked how Openbox opens the menu on the desktop with the right mouse button, as time goes by I'll get used to it.

Last edited by goltrek (2018-12-17 18:22:28)

Offline

#8 2018-12-17 18:54:45

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,833

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

You could look in /usr/share/pixmaps for example, for icons. Bunsenlabs graphics can also be found in our github repositories.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#9 2018-12-17 18:58:11

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 626

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

^^Not only you'll like to use it, you will also like how easy you can configure it to do exactly what you want it to do ... compared to the right-click menu in MSWindows, or in GNOME (and probably KDE) ... the latter can be configured, but in very roundabout and convoluted way.

Anyway, good luck with the BL wink

Last edited by iMBeCil (2018-12-17 18:58:54)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#10 2018-12-17 19:08:42

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 320
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@goltrek
It’s for this very request that jgmenu came into existence.
Just do

sudo apt install jgmenu

See the wiki for notes on panel integration

https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/wik … ntegration

Offline

#11 2018-12-17 19:16:56

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

damo wrote:

You could look in /usr/share/pixmaps for example, for icons. Bunsenlabs graphics can also be found in our github repositories.

Thanks for the tip.

Offline

#12 2018-12-17 19:19:04

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

malm wrote:

@goltrek
It’s for this very request that jgmenu came into existence.
Just do

sudo apt install jgmenu

See the wiki for notes on panel integration

https://github.com/johanmalm/jgmenu/wik … ntegration

@malm,
Thanks for the information, I'll install to see how it stays in Bunsenlabs.

Offline

#13 2018-12-17 19:34:04

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 320
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Default look (with tint2_look=1)
2018-12-17-192658_1024x600_scrot.th.png

The rocket is the 'jgmenu' icon

Depending on your ~/.config/tint2/tint2rc, you may wish to set 'tint2_look=0'

echo "tint2_look=0" >>~/.config/jgmenu/jgmenurc

Scrot of some new features (not yet in the lastest release)
2018-12-17-192521_1024x600_scrot.th.png

P.S. Just type to search

Last edited by malm (2018-12-17 19:35:26)

Offline

#14 2018-12-18 00:13:51

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,284
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Off topic, but it must be noted... outstanding work, malm!

Offline

#15 2018-12-18 00:21:02

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@malm,
Thanks for the tips to set up jgmenu.

Offline

#16 2018-12-18 00:34:23

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 959

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

One such menu implementation is jgmenu. Myself, I don't know how exactly these two work together

tint2 & jgmenu work great together.

Use the tint2 configuration guide to create a Launcher or a Button (I actually use a Button) for jgmenu and add it to the tint2 panel_items.

qqqScreenshot_2018-12-17_19-51-00.th.png

Last edited by PackRat (2018-12-18 00:50:48)


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#17 2018-12-18 00:54:54

hhh
That's it!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,284
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

^ Buddy, that is a scrot for the sreenshot thread, it's so pretty.





Impressive... most impressive.

You'll find I'm full of surprises.

Offline

#18 2018-12-19 07:20:32

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 3,590
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

goltrek wrote:

As I am still learning to use Openbox, I installed Lxde Core just to be able to see a menu with all the options that BunsenLabs has, I came up with the following command.
# apt install lxde-core

that probably wasn't a very good idea and apparently doesn't seem to have fixed your issue.

you know you can just RIGHT-click on the desktop to get a menu, right?

anyhow, i hope you get jgmenu working.

Offline

#19 2018-12-23 17:40:30

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

Hi Ohnonot
I installed LXDE to be able to see the Bunsenlabs menu.
But now I know how to use and have access to the menu in Openbox that is very easy, thank you all for the help.

Offline

#20 2018-12-23 17:59:27

Dobbie03
Resident Metalhead
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 2,195
Website

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

How about super+space as a shortcut for the menu too?


I like my Metal like my coffee.......Black!
Resident Metalhead Poser

Offline

#21 2018-12-23 18:37:49

goltrek
Member
Registered: 2018-12-17
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] Install Menu on the taskbar

@Dobbie03,

Thank you all for the help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB