You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-06 19:17:44

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

[SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

I've an old Koolu box. It was running !# Waldorf just fine, but I thought I'd
like to keep up with developments, so installed Bunsen Deuterium non PAE. This
boots, but the display is shifted and screen real-estate is too small. xrandr
says it cannot find gamma size and is using 640x480. The ARandR edit only offers
this resolution.

Now liveUSB #! Waldorf comes up fine at 1280x1024 and looks great. So I'm wondering
what has got lost in the "improvements". I'm mainly a number-cruncher, and an
amateur when it comes to system stuff, so hopefully the fix is relatively simple,
such as installing a package or changing a setting.

While the box is clearly not my main machine, it would be nice to have it running
as a guest machine for web, email, music, etc.

Best, JN

Last edited by nashjc (2018-12-07 21:17:30)

Offline

#2 2018-12-07 03:49:28

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

What resolutions are available if you run BL Live? (Try the new BL-Helium-4 iso)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2018-12-07 14:53:57

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

Tried both live and live (failsafe). VERY slow in both cases. Timing out on the "...userspace" and "BUNSEN HELIUM" start jobs. Ends up with 640 x 480 only, and somewhat more difficult to use because terminal window
too big to resize to screen (so I couldn't use nano editor -- the save file dialog was off the edge).

If it is useful to BL team, I'm willing to keep at this, otherwise I'll reinstall #! Waldorf or something similarly lightweight. Let me know.

Thanks anyway for quick response.

JN

Offline

#4 2018-12-07 14:55:15

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

Above was with BL Helium-4  non-PAE.

JN

Offline

#5 2018-12-07 15:00:34

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

nashjc wrote:

... terminal window too big to resize to screen (so I couldn't use nano editor -- the save file dialog was off the edge)....

Don't forget that with Openbox you can resize/move a window with Alt + L/R mousedrag.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#6 2018-12-07 15:20:46

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

Should have remembered that. I use several systems, and the controls are different!

Let me know if you want me to do more testing, as this is a 10 year old box and I was using it to explore a few ideas rather than do critical tasks.

JN

Offline

#7 2018-12-07 16:40:08

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

You haven't given any details of your hardware, graphics etc. I suspect it is a graphics driver issue, or maybe a kernel modesetting parameter may fix it.

https://wiki.debian.org/Hardware


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#8 2018-12-07 16:54:44

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

My bad. There may be more I can find out from #! live. Will see later.

https://www.mgraves.org/2008/07/koolu-a … appliance/

namely:
Processor (AMD Geode(TM) LX 800)
512 MB of PC 3200 RAM
80 GB Hard Disk (optional)
VGA port with up to 1920 x 1440 display resolution
4 USB ports with printer, keyboard, mouse, and storage support
Full 16-bit audio with stereo; Microphone-in, and Audio-out/Headphone
Case (H x W x D: 1.4″ (35 mm) x 5.5″ (140 mm) x 5.1″ (130 mm))
Power Supply
Typically uses less than 10 watts, but this may vary according to options installed.

Offline

#9 2018-12-07 17:06:10

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

I suggest you google "debian amd geode" and see what others have had to do to get it to work on modern kernels.

A quick look suggests that Debian has dropped kernel support for many old processors, including 586-class and hybrid 586/686 processors.

An Arch user used "arch-i686" as a kernel boot parameter.

Last edited by damo (2018-12-07 17:12:18)


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2018-12-07 17:21:38

earlybird
ほやほや
Registered: 2015-12-16
Posts: 606
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

From some old posts (http://littlesvr.ca/linux-stuff/article … oslack.php) it looks like the LX700/LX800 etc have an embedded graphics chip that requires a specific xorg video driver.

I suggest you check if you have the package xserver-xorg-video-geode installed, if not, install it then restart Xorg or reboot the device.

Old crappy graphics drivers get dropped from Xorg or the default Xorg driver suite all the time, mostly because the code quality of these is way too bad or the hardware is so buggy/old it can't keep up with new things expected from them like standard-compliant OpenGL handling (any standard version). I'm assuming that this driver does not support KMS either so I doubt DRI2+ will work.

If you still have issues, you need to provide a full copy of /var/log/Xorg.0.log for us to see. I bet it is currently using the VESA driver…if it's already using the geode driver, or the package is already installed and it is still not using the driver, we need to find out the reason.

Expect applications using OpenGL (maybe your web browser will try to) to possibly exhibit weird graphics behaviour or just crash.

Offline

#11 2018-12-07 18:35:08

nashjc
Member
Registered: 2016-04-01
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

In between posts I'd also found xserver-xorg-video-geode, but had not had chance to try.

Installed, rebooted. Voila! (This is on Deuterium, but it will do for now. Helium 4 seems very slow to boot on this particular box.)

Many thanks, JN

Offline

#12 2018-12-07 21:04:31

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 4,385

Re: [SOLVED] Video setup for Geode LX -- !# works, Bunsen not

Good news. If you could edit the title of your first post and add "[SOLVED]" it may help others looking for an answer.

nashjc wrote:

.... Helium 4 seems very slow to boot on this particular box.)

Probably due to the "entropy bug" - installing haveged helped for me.
Have a look at the systemd journal to see which unecessary services could be disabled.

systemd-analyze blame

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB