You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-29 20:57:47

fl4m3ph03n1x
Member
Registered: 2017-07-27
Posts: 22

Set audio HDMI as default output

Following from a previous thread, I was able to output the sound of my youtube videos to my TV.

Great.

The only problem is that I can only do that after I launch the application (browser, for example), and I have to do manually for every single app.

Further more, when I reboot, everything is lost, and I have to open all apps and do the same for all of them again... Not optimal.

Audio Manual configuration

Alt link:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-UP5l … 5Wa0k/view

I supposed this happens because my HDMI output is not set as default. I searched in this forums and found nothing, so how can I do it?

TD;DR
How do I set my audio output to HDMI as default for all apps?

Offline

#2 2017-07-30 08:49:19

fl4m3ph03n1x
Member
Registered: 2017-07-27
Posts: 22

Re: Set audio HDMI as default output

When I do "pacmd list-sinks" I get this output:

2 sink(s) available
    index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_00.1.hdmi-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY FLAT_VOLUME DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: SUSPENDED
	suspend cause: IDLE 
	priority: 9050
	volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 0.00 ms
	max request: 0 KiB
	max rewind: 0 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_01_00.1>
	module: 6
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.id = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "3"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xd0030000 irq 48"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:01:00.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1002"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]"
		device.product.id = "aa28"
		device.product.name = "RV620 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 3400 Series]"
		device.string = "hdmi:1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		device.description = "RV620 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 3400 Series] Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "ATI R6xx HDMI"
		alsa.components = "HDA:1002aa01,104d2e00,00100000"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
	active port: <hdmi-output-0>
  * index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY FLAT_VOLUME DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: RUNNING
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9959
	volume: front-left: 29274 /  45% / -21.00 dB,   front-right: 29274 /  45% / -21.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 23.00 ms
	max request: 4 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 1
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 1
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 23.22 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
	module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC262 Analog"
		alsa.id = "ALC262 Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel at 0xd5200000 irq 47"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "293e"
		device.product.name = "82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC262"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0262,104d2e00,00100302 HDA:14f12c06,104d1700,00100000"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output: Analog Output (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-speaker: Speakers (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-speaker>

So, according to this, doing "pacmd set-default-sink 0" should make the HDMI the default sink. However when I am watching my youtuve videos in the browser, doing this command does nothing.

So far, the GUI is the only thing that seems to kinda work.

Am I doing something wrong?

Last edited by fl4m3ph03n1x (2017-07-30 08:51:28)

Offline

#3 2017-07-30 10:01:13

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Set audio HDMI as default output

fl4m3ph03n1x wrote:

doing this command does nothing

Did you check the output of `pacmd list-sinks` afterwards to see if it had worked?

The GUI should also be able to set the default persistently, not sure why you are having a problem with that.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2017-07-30 12:13:52

fl4m3ph03n1x
Member
Registered: 2017-07-27
Posts: 22

Re: Set audio HDMI as default output

Ok, I have managed to fix this by adding the command to the openbox autostart script.  However, I still don't know how you would do it via GUI.

Could you please explain me how?

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#5 2017-07-30 12:19:55

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Set audio HDMI as default output

fl4m3ph03n1x wrote:

However, I still don't know how you would do it via GUI.

Could you please explain me how?

No, sorry — I dislike GUIs and I always strip out PulseAudio so I'm not really familiar with pavucontrol, perhaps somebody else can help.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#6 2018-11-30 15:27:39

raksasas
New Member
Registered: 2015-10-22
Posts: 2

Re: Set audio HDMI as default output

Hi,
I don't really want to resurrect and older thread but this is the question I am wanting to ask.

How do i set my audio to default to the HDMI?

I keep having to keep going into the "volume control" (pavucontrol) -> "configuration" tab and change it from "Analog Stereo Output" to "Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output"

Sometime it's seems persistently but after a reboot or 2 it keeps ending up on Analog Output. This gets annoy to keep having to set it back to HDMI.

lspci -k|grep -A2 Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Dell 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CX20641 Analog [CX20641 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB