You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-17 10:36:07

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,677
Website

Ship backported tint2 by default?

This bug: https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=4813
seems to be fixed by upgrading tint2 to the version in our backports repository (16.2-1+deb9).

We have a long-standing policy of using standard Debian packages as far as possible, but is this a case for making an exception?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#2 2018-05-17 14:33:04

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 301

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Makes sense to me. Does it create any dependency hell with packages it pulls in?

Offline

#3 2018-05-17 16:46:39

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

cloverskull wrote:

Does it create any dependency hell with packages it pulls in?

No, the package would be rebuilt against the stretch dependencies.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2018-05-17 22:01:02

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 301

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Yeah, in that case, IMO this is one of the explicit advantages about having our own repos to augment what's being tracked in the Debian Stable upstream repos.

Offline

#5 2018-05-17 22:03:41

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

I am going to say yes. I almost always end up running with the latest version anyway.

Offline

#6 2018-05-18 00:37:02

DeepDayze
Member
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 541

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Sounds like a good idea to me, considering the noted bugs the default tint2 in Stretch has that have bugged (pardon the pun!) several users here.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#7 2018-05-18 02:29:21

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,118
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Yea vote here.

Offline

#8 2018-05-18 12:27:41

lbdesign
Member
Registered: 2018-05-13
Posts: 14

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Absolutely. I run arch now but would get the latest tint2 always. Can't remember when they added mousewheel support but living without that is impossible now.

Last edited by lbdesign (2018-05-18 12:28:35)

Offline

#9 2018-05-18 15:15:10

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 301

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

This makes me wonder...what about some of our other primary packages? I.e., how trivial should it be to ship backported conky or openbox, and what might we be missing with current stable versions? Worth spinning off a new thread to discuss?

Offline

#10 2018-05-18 16:25:12

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,118
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

cloverskull wrote:

This makes me wonder...what about some of our other primary packages? I.e., how trivial should it be to ship backported conky or openbox, and what might we be missing with current stable versions?

When "The End" of #! was announced and "The Continuation" was being formed, Team member pvsage was a proponent of staying with default Debian wherever possible, and with good reason. Some of #!s defaults became problematic because corenominal wasn't updating them.

This still makes sense with BL, the volunteer Team members would be responsible for tracking bugs and updates.

Worth spinning off a new thread to discuss?

Definitely.

Offline

#11 2018-05-18 17:20:24

cloverskull
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 301

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Offline

#12 2018-05-19 15:09:10

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

hhh wrote:

staying with default Debian wherever possible

^ I support this approach generally but tint2 might be a special case because we know the program so well.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#13 2018-05-19 17:12:53

tknomanzr
BL Die Hard
From: Around the Bend
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,029

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

In tint2's case, we have a direct connection to the developer who has graciously implemented several things that have been suggested by members of this forum, including myself. In a case like that, I have no issue offering a backported version, although I have never found it to be terribly difficult to build from source.

Offline

#14 2018-05-19 17:18:16

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

tknomanzr wrote:

I have never found it to be terribly difficult to build from source

BunsenLabs has been offering the very latest version of tint2 in it's backports repository for some time now and we[1] usually do a better job of keeping it up to date than the Arch Linux devs cool

[1] The package maintainers (not me).


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#15 2018-05-21 06:05:05

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,677
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

BunsenLabs has been offering the very latest version of tint2 in it's backports repository for some time now

Indeed (thanks to @twoion), so it would just be a question of moving the package from the backports repo to BL main.

There is the precedent of yad, where we used a backported version in BL Hydrogen.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#16 2018-05-22 03:32:52

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,118
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

johnraff wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

BunsenLabs has been offering the very latest version of tint2 in it's backports repository for some time now

Indeed (thanks to @twoion), so it would just be a question of moving the package from the backports repo to BL main.

There is the precedent of yad, where we used a backported version in BL Hydrogen.

tint2 is so benign, just a few files. Surely it's justified in this case?

Yes. And stop calling me Shirley.

Offline

#17 2018-07-09 09:02:22

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,677
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#18 2018-07-09 16:06:04

altman
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2015-10-24
Posts: 130

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Thx for the work devs, appreciated.


HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook/Intel Core i7-2670QM/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Latitude XFR D630 /Intel Core2 Duo T7500/ BunsenLab Helium
Dell Inspiron 1720/Intel Core2 Duo T5450/ ArchLabs 2018.05
My craptop trio on Linux installs only.

Offline

#19 2018-07-09 22:16:00

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,118
Website

Re: Ship backported tint2 by default?

Excellent, I'm glad we made an exception for this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB