You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-21 05:01:07

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,895
Website

pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

It's happened on all my helium installs. I don't know what else to report. It'll take five minutes before it fires up, and I grow impatient every time, so all of a sudden 3 windows appear.

I can add that pkexec thunar does not seem to work at all in xfce4-appfinder, not in stretch nor buster. It'll give me the password prompt and then nothing.

-edit- It works if I run xfce4-appfinder -c from a terminal. What the...

Offline

#2 2018-06-21 05:42:39

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,968
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

Thunar's first window can be very slow to open. It was bothering me all the time - but never as long as 5 minutes!! I tried this fix from the Arch Wiki and also reenabled 'thunar --daemon' in openbox/autostart but it seemed to make no difference... until recently. I don't know if some upgrade's come in, but now even the first time it's only a couple of seconds, and since moving to Helium I haven't got that Arch fix any more anyway.

But all that is for regular user Thunar. Let me just try pkexec:

right-click "open as root" opens immediately
likewise 'pkexec thunar' in terminal

Although this is after opening a couple of user Thunar windows - not a complete cold start, and I have got the daemon running.

I don't understand what you mean by "pkexec thunar does not seem to work at all in xfce4-appfinder". I thought xfce4-appfinder was just a GUI for finding apps from their .desktop files?

EDIT: xfce4-appfinder's not part of the standard Helium setup - what else have you installed on top? Something that might be slowing things up?

EDIT2: I just tried on a fresh bootup, opened a terminal and 'pkexec thunar': after the password box Thunar came up almost immediately - less than a second.

Last edited by johnraff (2018-06-21 11:18:27)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#3 2018-06-21 14:28:55

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,895
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

johnraff wrote:

EDIT2: I just tried on a fresh bootup, opened a terminal and 'pkexec thunar': after the password box Thunar came up almost immediately - less than a second.

Good. I'll try to confirm with a newinstall sometime soon.

I thought xfce4-appfinder was also a "run" dialog, it runs programs that don't have a *.desktop file. I use it as a drop-in replacement for gmrun, 'xfce4-appdinder --collapsed --disable-server'.

Offline

#4 2018-06-21 14:29:33

sleekmason
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 145

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

I would give strace a shot.  Strace is used to find all system calls a program/script makes.
 
Using the code below, I've set this to output to a file in $HOME that will record the opening sequence of Thunar. 

The first number on a line will correlate the time between each system call,  the end number on each line will tell you how long the actual system call takes. <--- This is what you probably need to see.

strace -o ~/strace-output -r -T -e open thunar

Edit** -- Ack!!  This wouldn't help you with pkexec.  Sorry, got hung up on thunar smile

Last edited by sleekmason (2018-06-21 20:45:04)


"Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent." - Calvin Coolidge

Offline

#5 2018-06-21 21:15:51

sleekmason
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 145

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

Sorry about that. To see what pkexec is doing while opening Thunar:

sudo strace -o ~/strace-output -r -T -e trace=process pkexec thunar

Whether this is enough to really identify the problem . . . eh.  I wish I could replicate it. smile


"Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent." - Calvin Coolidge

Offline

#6 2018-06-21 23:03:17

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,895
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

Fresh 64 bit install, I ran the initial upgrade and rebooted (the kernel is upgraded). From gmrun I ran pkexec thunar, the password prompt immediately opened and then nothing happened for 30 seconds. I tried opening htop via the shortcut keys, there was a pause, the thunar window appeared, then htop.

strace doesn't seem to show anything...

     0.000000 execve("/usr/bin/pkexec", ["pkexec", "thunar"], [/* 17 vars */]) = 0 <0.000308>
     0.010127 arch_prctl(ARCH_SET_FS, 0x7effc3036d80) = 0 <0.000019>
     0.016118 clone(child_stack=0x7effbea61df0, flags=CLONE_VM|CLONE_FS|CLONE_FILES|CLONE_SIGHAND|CLONE_THREAD|CLONE_SYSVSEM|CLONE_SETTLS|CLONE_PARENT_SETTID|CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID, parent_tidptr=0x7effbea629d0, tls=0x7effbea62700, child_tidptr=0x7effbea629d0) = 2636 <0.000049>
     0.000462 clone(child_stack=0x7effbe260df0, flags=CLONE_VM|CLONE_FS|CLONE_FILES|CLONE_SIGHAND|CLONE_THREAD|CLONE_SYSVSEM|CLONE_SETTLS|CLONE_PARENT_SETTID|CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID, parent_tidptr=0x7effbe2619d0, tls=0x7effbe261700, child_tidptr=0x7effbe2619d0) = 2637 <0.000037>
     0.065560 execve("/usr/bin/thunar", ["/usr/bin/thunar"], [/* 11 vars */]) = 0 <0.001229>
     0.027084 arch_prctl(ARCH_SET_FS, 0x7f8eb9cbda80) = 0 <0.000019>
     0.033397 clone(child_stack=NULL, flags=CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID|CLONE_CHILD_SETTID|SIGCHLD, child_tidptr=0x7f8eb9cbdd50) = 2638 <0.000697>
     0.006286 wait4(2638, [{WIFEXITED(s) && WEXITSTATUS(s) == 0}], 0, NULL) = 2638 <0.000554>
     0.000711 --- SIGCHLD {si_signo=SIGCHLD, si_code=CLD_EXITED, si_pid=2638, si_uid=0, si_status=0, si_utime=0, si_stime=0} ---
     0.035447 clone(child_stack=0x7f8eae852c70, flags=CLONE_VM|CLONE_FS|CLONE_FILES|CLONE_SIGHAND|CLONE_THREAD|CLONE_SYSVSEM|CLONE_SETTLS|CLONE_PARENT_SETTID|CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID, parent_tidptr=0x7f8eae8539d0, tls=0x7f8eae853700, child_tidptr=0x7f8eae8539d0) = 2639 <0.000041>
     0.196771 clone(child_stack=0x7f8ead60dc70, flags=CLONE_VM|CLONE_FS|CLONE_FILES|CLONE_SIGHAND|CLONE_THREAD|CLONE_SYSVSEM|CLONE_SETTLS|CLONE_PARENT_SETTID|CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID, parent_tidptr=0x7f8ead60e9d0, tls=0x7f8ead60e700, child_tidptr=0x7f8ead60e9d0) = 2640 <0.000070>
    17.495289 exit_group(0)             = ?
     0.002227 +++ exited with 0 +++

The command is working instantly now that it's opened once. Some weird hardware issue with my old Dell Inspiron?

Offline

#7 2018-06-22 01:14:07

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,968
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

Network issue? Might gvfs be taking a long time to resolve your network? (Mine's a simple wire to a router.)

Try these:
1) Add the thunar  --daemon line to openbox/autostart, as we've already decided to put in by default in the next upgrade.
2) Add the gvfs network fix described in the Arch Wiki.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#8 2018-06-22 01:45:54

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,895
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

^ I'll try those next time I do a fresh install. Like I said, after it opens one time everything is fine.

Offline

#9 2018-06-22 01:51:45

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,968
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

Even after a reboot, it's quick?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#10 2018-06-22 01:53:47

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,895
Website

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

^ Yes. I'll report back if I find out anything new, but since nobody else seems to be reporting this, we can let it be for now.

Offline

#11 2018-06-22 02:06:53

sleekmason
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 145

Re: pkexec thunar hangs on first-run

strace doesn't seem to show anything...

It would have to be run as the first opening instance, while the error was actually occuring. If run from a terminal, it will open a root instance of Thunar right after strace finishes with pkexec.  If this is what you did, then nope, didn't show squat:)

If I remember correctly, it is the last time stamp number on the line that gives time on each call.

Sounds like johnraff may have it figured anyway:)


"Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent." - Calvin Coolidge

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB