You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-17 05:39:30

estuardolh
New Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 4

terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

Hello,

I have an bunsen-hydrogen running on a x32 over an USB stick installation.

I trying to make an script who starts windows(new terminator instance)

i did make an script test.sh:

#!/bin/bash
sleep 10

also i assigned privileges to execute:

chmod +x test.sh

and i started a new terminator(from a terminator) window as follow:

terminator -e <path_here>/test.sh

terminator open and show a message about is unable to start a shell.
then my graphic enviroment drops out and close session (also closing all aplications i have opened before)

can someone recreate/confirm this, please?

Thank you in advance.

Offline

#2 2018-04-17 05:58:16

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

Hi estuardolh, welcome to the forums!

I cannot reproduce this problem. The new terminal window opens and executes the script as it should, as far as I can see.
Are you sure you haven't made any spelling mistakes?


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#3 2018-04-17 06:34:14

estuardolh
New Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 4

Re: terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

Hi johnraff, thank you for the welcome.

Yes, it was a mistake, i am sorry, i forget to assign privileges to execute test.sh  (chmod +x test.sh).  When i assign privileges then all works as expected.


Without assigning privileges to execute, i thing, you can now to recreate/confirm that error.  Please, be sure you have no open programs because them will be closed.


Thank you for the answer! smile

Greetings

Last edited by estuardolh (2018-04-17 06:34:59)

Offline

#4 2018-04-17 07:18:08

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

estuardolh wrote:

Without assigning privileges to execute, i thing, you can now to recreate/confirm that error.

In fact, no. My experience is that if the script is not executable the terminator command returns immediately. No windows are destroyed.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

#5 2018-04-17 19:30:52

estuardolh
New Member
Registered: 2018-04-17
Posts: 4

Re: terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

I did make a screen cast showing this behavior

giphy.gif

( https://youtu.be/F1_MeruBSb4 )

greetings

Last edited by estuardolh (2018-04-17 19:37:15)

Offline

#6 2018-04-18 02:00:02

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 4,675
Website

Re: terminator cause graphical enviroment drop out

Your 'ls' output shows a test.sh with no attributes at all. That's not a normal file.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB