You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-24 08:26:58

m1rr0r5h4d35
Member
Registered: 2017-01-08
Posts: 40

Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

This is an issue I usually have with BunsenLabs, and basically is just one of those maintenance things I do right after a fresh install. Thought I would share with anyone else that might need it, including future "me".

O.K. So, I tend to remove File-Roller and Evince and replace them with Atril and Engrampa because I think the GTK 3 stuff looks very clashy with the GTK 2 apps, and to be honest, I prefer the older apps. Anyway, I dump the Gnome 3 stuff and replace it with apps from the MATE desktop, since it is just the continuation of the Gnome 2 code. Typically, everything works and all is well. However, if you remove file-roller and replace it with Engrampa, the "Extract Here" and "Extract To" options in the right-click menu will cease to work.

In order to fix this, you will need to create a file in /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/thunar-archive-plugin called "engrampa.tap" and paste the following code into it.

#!/bin/sh
#
# engrampa.tap - Wrapper script to create and extract archive files
#                   in Thunar, via the thunar-archive-plugin, using the
#                   engrampa archive manager.

# determine the action and the folder, $@ then contains only the files
action=$1; shift;
folder=$1; shift;

# check the action
case $action in
create)
	exec engrampa "--default-dir=$folder" --add "$@"
	;;

extract-here)
	exec engrampa "--extract-to=$(pwd)" --extract-here --force "$@"
	;;

extract-to)
	exec engrampa "--default-dir=$folder" --extract "$@"
	;;

*)
	echo "Unsupported action '$action'" >&2
	exit 1
esac

After you save it, all you need to do is make it executable with a "chmod +x" and then restart Thunar and you should be good to go.


"A graphic representation of data abstracted from the banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding."

- William Gibson

Offline

#2 2018-03-24 15:40:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

m1rr0r5h4d35 wrote:

I tend to remove File-Roller and Evince and replace them with Atril and Engrampa because I think the GTK 3 stuff looks very clashy with the GTK 2 apps

+1, I would like BunsenLabs to drop the Gtk3 stuff as well.

For Helium I think we should be using gtk3-nocsd which removes the client-side decorations from Gtk3 applications and replaces them with the Openbox decorations instead.

Anyway, thanks for the advice, I've moved this thread to Scripts, Tutorials & Tips.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2018-03-24 18:24:55

m1rr0r5h4d35
Member
Registered: 2017-01-08
Posts: 40

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

Thanks HoaS! I wasn't really sure where to post this, but it made sense to get it on the forums, because I am so tired of having to google for the solution every time I do an install. Much easier to find it here.


"A graphic representation of data abstracted from the banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding."

- William Gibson

Offline

#4 2018-03-24 20:50:17

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,769

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

So 2015 wink

Offline

#5 2018-03-24 21:53:19

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,951
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

For Helium I think we should be using gtk3-nocsd which removes the client-side decorations from Gtk3 applications and replaces them with the Openbox decorations instead.

What happened, I thought we already were, starting months ago at your suggestion! -edit- The package isn't installed according to apt-cache policy, but I have the openbox decs on transmission and Synaptic. ?

@bronto, yes, I remember you posted a fix/script quite awhile ago, though I can't seem to find the forum post now, maybe it was on the #! forums. In fact, I'm almost positive it was.

Online

#6 2018-03-24 22:12:44

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,951
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

^Here it is, but unfortunately corenominal has not archived everything, most of the posts don't display...
https://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=40020

Online

#7 2018-03-24 22:42:24

brontosaurusrex
Middle Office
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 1,769

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

@hhh, wow, that must have been one google experience.

Offline

#8 2018-03-24 22:56:01

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,951
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

brontosaurusrex wrote:

@hhh, wow, that must have been one google experience.

Not too bad. big_smile The year checks out!

Online

#9 2018-03-25 00:27:54

m1rr0r5h4d35
Member
Registered: 2017-01-08
Posts: 40

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

Sorry all. Didn't mean to double post or anything. Just trying to take some of the work out of the chore.


"A graphic representation of data abstracted from the banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding."

- William Gibson

Offline

#10 2018-03-25 00:35:57

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 7,951
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

^No worries. Not a double post since the original source is dead.

Online

#11 2019-02-20 05:34:37

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 5,472
Website

Re: Getting the extract here option to work in Thunar with Engrampa

Luckily thunar-archive-plugin (0.3.1-4) now ships /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/thunar-archive-plugin/engrampa.tap so "Extract Here" in Thunar works OOTB.

Thanks m1rr0r5h4d35 and brontosaurusrex for support so far!


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
In case you forget, the rules.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB