You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-06 10:40:40

Obadobo
Member
Registered: 2015-10-26
Posts: 6

Button for apt-get update

My mother-in-law is using bunsenlabs with a user-friendly desktop for a non-techy user (I can't remember but it's Mate or Cinnamon).  I would like to put a button on the desktop so she can do a 1-click apt-get update && apt-get upgrade.  Can someone guide me on how to do that?  I have tried searching the web for answers.  Thanks

Offline

#2 2018-02-06 11:18:40

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Button for apt-get update

You may be interested in enabling unattended-upgrades instead, Debian 9 (stretch) has this running by default:

sudo apt install unattended-upgrades

For Debian 8 (upon which BunsenLabs is based), it also needs to be activated:

https://wiki.debian.org/UnattendedUpgra … o-upgrades

If you still want a button then try creating a file in ~/.local/share/applications/upgrade.desktop with the following content:

[Desktop Entry]
Name=upgrade
Comment=Full system upgrade
Exec=x-terminal-emulator -e upgrade.script
Type=Application
Categories=ConsoleOnly;System

Then create another file at ~/bin/upgrade.script with:

#!/bin/sh
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade -y
echo Done!

And make it executable:

chmod +x ~/bin/upgrade.script

There should now be an "Upgrade" menu entry in the "System Tools" section wink


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#3 2018-02-06 11:23:00

martix
Kim Jong-un Stunt Double
Registered: 2016-02-19
Posts: 1,267

Re: Button for apt-get update

There is also

sudo apt install muon

which is an update manager (actually for KDE, but works on #BĹ too). It's basically about clicking Check for Updates, Full Upgrade and Apply Changes.

There is a Toolbars menu entry too.

Last edited by martix (2018-02-06 11:27:21)

Offline

#4 2018-02-06 11:56:38

Obadobo
Member
Registered: 2015-10-26
Posts: 6

Re: Button for apt-get update

Brill - thanks to you both - I will explore these

Offline

#5 2018-02-06 12:06:03

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Button for apt-get update

I must admit that I'm not sure how "desktop buttons" work in MATE or Cinnamon but you could try copying the file to ~/Desktop/upgrade.desktop and see if that makes it show up there.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB