You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-17 21:04:28

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

Well, I have spent the greater part of yesterday and today helping pawel2k with a conky.  He wanted the Bunsen Default conky for his Debian GNOME system.

And today I spent "hours" converting v1.9 conkys to v10 and finding bugs and squishing them.  And in the process I found some glaring GRRRRS!!!!

I do not like v1.10.  Period!  After getting the 14 conkys I run daily properly converted it wasn't worth it, so I'm back yo v1.9.1 and I'll keep this version until the day I die or Linux can't run it anymore.

Here's a few whys:

1. I can not right or centre click on a v1.10 conky to get at the menus.

2. ${pre_exec ...} does not exist in v1.10

pre_exec shell command
              Executes a shell command one time before conky displays anything and puts output as text.

and I use that a lot in 2 different conkys.

3. the display in v1.10 is not as crisp and clear for my old eyes as it is in v1.9
2017-01-17_162253_Scrot11eab3b.th.png

EDIT:  Now I know why see the post below this

4. I have various conkys that run two external LUA scripts, and one or two that run three as draw-bg allows the 'second' part to go below TEXT:

Example of one with two LUA scripts:

lua_load /media/5/Conky/S12_TDClock/S12_TDClock.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre main

lua_load /media/5/Conky/S12_TDClock/S12-TDC-overlay.lua
lua_draw_hook_post start

TEXT

With conky v10 I can run one or the other, not both.

So I'm guessing this won't work either (no, never went far enough to try it):

-- CLOCK LUA
	lua_load = '/media/5/Conky/S12_TDClock/S12_TDClock.lua',
	lua_draw_hook_pre = 'main',

	lua_load = '/media/5/Conky/S12_TDClock/S12-TDC-overlay.lua',
	lua_draw_hook_post = 'start',

-- Background
	lua_load /media/5/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua
};

conky.text = [[
 ${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.2}

This script did not work:

	lua_load = '/media/5/Conky/S12_TDClock/S12-TDC-overlay.lua',
	lua_draw_hook_post = 'start',

Long Live Conky Version 1.9.1

=== Lets not argue big_smile ===
Yea yea, I know some people type conkies - but for some reason it's like there are two Corys in my class - but Cories ...naaaaa!   And Conky was the name of a character ... OK, a puppet!

Last edited by Sector11 (2017-01-18 01:42:04)


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#2 2017-01-18 00:39:07

cpoakes
Member
Registered: 2016-12-02
Posts: 108

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

I run Debian Jessie with Bunsen hydrogen and MX/Mepis/Antix mx15 repos. I ran into the first two issues, came to the same conclusion and locked conky to verion 1.9 when an MX update to 1.10 broke my desktop.

The "pre_exec" option is a no-brainer keeping conky from respawning unnecessary shells and sucking CPU cycles. And without click-thru on all mouse buttons, conky fails to become a seamless part of the desktop.

I never evaluated the graphics but from that screen shot, text is "less clear" because it is missing drop shadow. Is drop shadow completely gone or just no longer the default?

Last edited by cpoakes (2017-01-18 00:39:51)

Offline

#3 2017-01-18 01:38:41

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

@cpoakes - Well, I see I'm not alone and in fact I'm in good company.  wink

I would say that 'shadow' is a no go in v1.10 because I use "draw_shadow" in all my conkys - old eyes ya know.  big_smile 

So the code is there, the results are not!

The default conky with v1.9.1 found at /etc/conky/conky.conf does not call for 'shadow' but makes it white.

default_color white
default_outline_color white
default_shade_color white
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
draw_outline no
draw_shades no

===========
Another thing I found with v1.9.1 - yes and no are interchangeable with true and false.  Just an interesting tid-bit.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#4 2017-01-18 07:24:35

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

I say we fork it.

As soon as I can figure out how to set up stretch packages in my OBS repository I will "forward-port" version 1.9 to stretch/Helium.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#5 2017-01-18 11:01:16

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 949

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

^
Conky 1.10 is in my opinion no progress.
I know people who very much welcomed the complete syntax written in LUA.
To this day, however, they have not told me, as the until Version 1.9 created Works of art function should.

The abolition of the functions

Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2

make the Lua scripts (e.g., an @mrpeachy)
unusable.

Conky 1.10 is not applicable to the normal user, unless he is learning
LUA.

My 2Cent

Offline

#6 2017-01-18 11:50:48

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 649

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

unklar wrote:

Conky 1.10 is not applicable to the normal user, unless he is learning
LUA.

+100

While I was still using conky, the change 1.9 -> 1.10 made me to pin 1.9 and keep it, as many of you did it seems. I wonder what exactly conky devs have had in mind with this change? glasses Like "Lua ... wow ... such language ... much new keywords ... yeah".  devil

BTW, that's exactly what pushed me from awesome WM. I'm not programmer, and learning yet another syntax for new language is not my thing  mad

I mean, what's next? Systemd written in Lua? Bash written in Lua? Python written in Lua? Lua written in Lua? monkey monkey


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#7 2017-01-18 15:04:57

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

WOW!!!!  Avalanche!  Well not quite but growing.

And here, when I started writing the OP, I had the thought: people are going to slam me and grind me into the ground for this.

Welcome 1.9'ers. - sounds like a club.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I say we fork it.

As soon as I can figure out how to set up stretch packages in my OBS repository I will "forward-port" version 1.9 to stretch/Helium.

Excellent, I believe you mentioned that once before!

= = = = =
I have the "debian" .debs of every conky version that came out since I started using it.  Starts with "conky_1.6.0-2+lenny1_amd64.deb"

The reason I started collecting them.  Because v1.7 was an OOPS!, I fell back to 1.6 for a while until 1.7 was 'fixed'.   smile  That's when I decided, with bad internet connections to collect them.  Now, since I have more than enough room on my HDD they all stayed. Mind you they are all the AMD-64 bit versions except v1.9.0-6 I have AMD and i386 versions for -all, -std and -cli

I also have: conky-all_1.9.1~git09022013.318324fc63-1_amd64.deb here and when I run "conky -v" with that I see NO differences with what is in the current repos: conky v1.9.0-6 however my v1.9.1 is older then what is in the current repos.

 18 Jan 17 @ 11:03:30 ~
  $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 compiled Wed Sep 10 07:11:34 UTC 2014 for Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 (x86_64)

 18 Jan 17 @ 11:01:05 ~
  $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.1_preNONE compiled Sat Feb  9 18:10:46 UTC 2013 for Linux 2.6.24-32-xen (x86_64)

Notice that my v1.9.1 version is older then the current repo version, I use BL default conky-all

OK OK - we know I'm a conky nut lets not dwell on it - move on folks nothing, but a conky nut rambling babbling on here.   big_smile
But retirement is getting close.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#8 2017-01-18 15:30:07

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

unklar wrote:

Conky 1.10 is in my opinion no progress.

Could not agree more!

unklar wrote:

Conky 1.10 is not applicable to the normal user, unless he is learning LUA.

I don't even see it that way. Take a good look at any of wlourf's or mrpeachy's LUA scripts, or anyone elses scripts, and they are nothing like what is above "conky.text = [[" and what comes between that and the final ]]; is identical to v1.9 So no I don't see it as good for someone learning LUA

Maybe v1.10 is a planned progression to v1.11, or as was hinted at a LONG time ago:  Conky v2

/media/5/zip-tar-gz/DEBIAN/Conky-debs/Conky_2/conky_2.0+git20121020-1_amd64.deb
/media/5/zip-tar-gz/DEBIAN/Conky-debs/Conky_2/conky-pre2_2.0_git20121020-1_amd64.deb

And those eventually became "conky v1.10", I believe that came from dk75, not sure.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#9 2017-01-18 16:02:23

cpoakes
Member
Registered: 2016-12-02
Posts: 108

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

Sector11 wrote:

WOW!!!!  Avalanche!  Well not quite but growing.

And here, when I started writing the OP, I had the thought: people are going to slam me and grind me into the ground for this.

Surprise to me as well. I spoke up thinking you might want some company going through that grinder.

Offline

#10 2017-01-18 18:17:03

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

^ You were willing to do that for/with me.    Now that's a buddy/mate/friend/pal!  big_smile

Getting my alias ready for any distro that installs conky v1.10:

alias c10to9='sudo apt-get autoremove --purge conky-all && gdebi /media/5/zip-tar-gz/DEBIAN/Conky-debs/conky-all_1.9.0-6_amd64.deb'

Works very well:

 18 Jan 17 @ 15:14:47 ~
  $ conky -v
conky 1.10.0 compiled Wed Jul  1 08:01:11 UTC 2015 for Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky


 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * IPv6
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * nvidia
  * eve-online
  * builtin default configuration
  * old configuration syntax
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Internationalization support

 Lua bindings:
  * Cairo
  * Imlib2
 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual
  * Own window

 Music detection:
  * Audacious
  * MPD
  * MOC
  * XMMS2

 Default values:
  * Netdevice: eth0
  * Local configfile: $HOME/.conkyrc
  * Localedir: /usr/share/locale
  * Maximum netdevices: 64
  * Maximum text size: 16384
  * Size text buffer: 256
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 15:14:56 ~
  $ c10to9
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  conky-all*
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
After this operation, 1,658 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
(Reading database ... 170115 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing conky-all (1.10.0-1) ...
Purging configuration files for conky-all (1.10.0-1) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Processing triggers for menu (2.1.47) ...
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree        
Reading state information... Done
Building data structures... Done 
Building data structures... Done 

highly configurable system monitor (all features enabled)
 Conky is a system monitor that can display just about anything,
 either on your root desktop or in its own window.
 Conky has many built-in objects, as well as the ability to execute
 external programs or scripts (either external or through built-in
 lua support).
 .
 This is a full conky with most compile options enabled:
 .
 X11, XDamage, XDBE, Xft, MPD, MOC, math, hddtemp, portmon, RSS,
 Weather, wireless, IBM, nvidia, eve-online, Imlib2, ALSA mixer,
 apcupsd, I/O stats, argb, Lua and the cairo and imlib2 lua bindings,
 Audacious, and XMMS2.
Do you want to install the software package? [Y/N]:Y
Selecting previously unselected package conky-all.
(Reading database ... 170081 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../conky-all_1.9.0-6_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking conky-all (1.9.0-6) ...
Setting up conky-all (1.9.0-6) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.7.0.2-5) ...
Processing triggers for menu (2.1.47) ...
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 15:15:34 ~
  $ conky -v
Conky 1.9.0 compiled Wed Sep 10 07:11:34 UTC 2014 for Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 (x86_64)

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib/conky

 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual

 Music detection:
  * Audacious
  * MPD
  * MOC
  * XMMS2

 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * nvidia
  * eve-online
  * config-output
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Lua

  Lua bindings:
   * Cairo
   * Imlib2
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 15:15:43 ~
  $ 

Bring it on!!!!   cool  angel


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#11 2017-01-18 18:23:36

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 649

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

^Hm, more clean solution, IMHO, is to add

Package: conky-all
Pin: version 1.9*
Pin-Priority: 1002

to /etc/apt/preference. (Actual entry may vary a bit ...)

Proof that it works:

$ apt-cache policy conky-all
conky-all:
  Installed: 1.9.0-6
  Candidate: 1.9.0-6
  Version table:
     1.10.6-1 500
        500 http://debian.carnet.hr/debian sid/main amd64 Packages
 *** 1.9.0-6 1002
        100 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian jessie/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

EDIT: Just to add the explanation: above pinning is safe across 'apt-get update' and even 'apt-get dist-upgrade'. NB, I'm on sid, and even in this configuration, conky 1.9 is installed from jessie. And I do - at least once a week - the 'apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade'.

Last edited by iMBeCil (2017-01-18 18:28:33)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#12 2017-01-18 18:44:36

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

iMBeCil wrote:

^Hm, more clean solution, IMHO, is to add
EDIT: Just to add the explanation: above pinning is safe across 'apt-get update' and even 'apt-get dist-upgrade'. NB, I'm on sid, and even in this configuration, conky 1.9 is installed from jessie. And I do - at least once a week - the 'apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade'.

OH I know about pinning ... use to do a lot of it when I ran SID a few years back.   smile

But when one installs a NEW distro, if that sucker comes with conky v1.10, and most will today, my alias, c10to9, makes for a quick change then I pin it!  I'm the worlds worst typist, so I have aliases, and the terminal now insults me if I mustype << see!!! >> mistype my password  big_smile

Just for you:

 18 Jan 17 @ 15:38:13 ~
  $ up2
[sudo] password for sector11: 
That's something I cannot allow to happen.
[sudo] password for sector11: 
I don't wish to know that.
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org jessie InRelease
Get:1 http://ftp.us.debian.org jessie-updates InRelease [145 kB]                                 
Ign http://download.opensuse.org  InRelease                                                         
Get:2 http://security.debian.org jessie/updates InRelease [63.1 kB]                                 
Get:3 http://download.opensuse.org  Release.gpg [481 B]                                                         
   {snip - snip}
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 15:39:13 ~
  $ 

BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#13 2017-01-18 20:18:31

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 949

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

iMBeCil wrote:

EDIT: Just to add the explanation: above pinning is safe across 'apt-get update' and even 'apt-get dist-upgrade'. NB, I'm on sid, and even in this configuration, conky 1.9 is installed from jessie. And I do - at least once a week - the 'apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade'.

With pinning I thought that was now obsolete.

I'll do it just because of the convenience

apt-mark hold <paket>
apt-mark unhold <paket>
apt-mark showhold

And this works reliably over the years. Conky was not me yet on 1.10 hacked.  devil

Offline

#14 2017-01-18 21:35:30

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 649

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

^I'm sure this apt-mark stuff works as well.

But, I'm old school, and somehow prefer editing config files ... And, like Sector, often mistype passwords big_smile  big_smile


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..

Offline

#15 2017-01-18 22:14:53

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

@ unklar and iMBeCil

Tis why I have aliases - from my SID days ... don't use them much today.

### HOLD UNHOLD AUTO MANUAL ###
alias hld='sudo apt-mark hold'
alias unhld='sudo apt-mark unhold'
alias shld='apt-mark showhold'
alias auto='sudo apt-mark auto'
alias manu='sudo apt-mark manual'
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:11:31 ~
  $ hld conky-all
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Your mind just hasn't been the same since the electro-shock, has it?
[sudo] password for sector11: 
conky-all set on hold.
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:12:01 ~
  $ unhld conky-all
Canceled hold on conky-all.
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:12:08 ~
  $ hld conky-all
conky-all set on hold.
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:12:51 ~
  $ shld
conky-all
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:13:01 ~
  $ unhld conky-all
Canceled hold on conky-all.
 
 18 Jan 17 @ 19:13:07 ~
  $ 

BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#16 2017-01-19 09:32:24

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 949

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

Sector11 wrote:

@ unklar and iMBeCil

Tis why I have aliases - from my SID days ... don't use them much today.

OOPS,

since I have Linux - Noop with two "old bunnies" again a "Block shot".   lol   wink

Offline

#17 2017-01-19 12:31:43

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

unklar wrote:

since I have Linux - Noop with two "old bunnies" again a "Block shot".   lol   wink

lol lol  I've been called many things, some not so nice, but 'old bunny' is a new one.

This 'old bunny' is a noob on over 80% of the things Linux.  I'm just an informed 'user'.  I have helpful .txt files for many things that I don't remember and 'comments' added to many scripts. And then  comes: "alias" and "functions" that Mark Buck (conkyForecast) got me going on.  Both are a life saver and I have a LOT of both of them collected/created over the years.  big_smile


--== Off Topic ==--
Like one really handY one from machinebacon.  Really miss that dude!

alias gtk23='cd /usr/bin && echo -e "gtk2""\n" && for F in *; do objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-x11-2.0 > /dev/null; if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then echo "$F"; fi; done && echo -e "\n""gtk3" && for F in *; do objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-3 > /dev/null; if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then echo "$F"; fi; done'

Go ahead, type that without making a mistake.  smile

gtk23 will start by listing all GTK2 apps installed and then do the same for GTK3. Handy for noobs like me that don't know what's what.

 19 Jan 17 @ 09:21:42 ~
  $ gtk23
gtk2

artha
atril
atril-previewer
atril-thumbnailer
bl-file-manager
bl-text-editor
claws-mail
clipit
dlume
echomixer
envy24control
exo-desktop-item-edit
exo-open
fbpanel
fbxkb
gigolo
gimp
gimp-2.8
gksu
gksudo
gksu-properties
gmrun
gnome-text-editor
hardinfo
lxappearance
lxinput
lxpanel
mandelbulber
medit
midori
nitrogen
nvidia-settings
obconf
pcmanfm
pinentry
pinentry-gtk-2
pinentry-x11
rmedigicontrol
Thunar
thunar
thunar-volman
thunar-volman-settings
tint2conf
volumeicon
xarchiver
xchat
xfburn
xfce4-notifyd-config
xfce4-screenshooter
xfce4-terminal
xmedcon

gtk3
file-roller
ghb
gnome-terminal
gtkhash
gtk-launch
handbrake
handbrake-gtk
hdajackretask
plank
psensor
roxterm
roxterm-config
rsvg-view-3
transmission-gtk
yad
zenity
 
 19 Jan 17 @ 09:22:18 /usr/bin
  $ 

--== We now take you back to the Topic at hand ==--


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#18 2017-01-19 12:59:42

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 949

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

Sector11 wrote:

Go ahead, type that without making a mistake.  smile

gtk23 will start by listing all GTK2 apps installed and then do the same for GTK3. Handy for noobs like me that don't know what's what.

Because I do not have it with alias ...
@damo had long ago provided a script
gtk23_script

#!/bin/bash
##
## Display if application is gtk2 or gtk3; run in terminal
cd /usr/bin
echo -e "\ngtk2"
echo -e "----"

for F in *; do 
    objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-x11-2.0 > /dev/null
    if (( $? == 0 )); then 
        echo -e "  $F"
    fi
done
echo -e "\n-------\n"
echo -e "gtk3"
echo -e "----"
for F in *; do
    objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-3 > /dev/null
    if (( $? == 0 )); then 
        echo -e "  $F"
    fi
done
echo -e "\n--------\n"
exit

Since I make old man no typing error  devil
Please look, that you have also.  big_smile

Back to the topic, we are here at Conky!

Offline

#19 2017-01-19 13:15:58

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

Gotta love Linux: 1001 ways of doing the same thing.  I have it now . Thank you!


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#20 2017-01-19 14:21:47

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,253

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

/Continuing OT/...

or add complex aliases as bash functions in .bashrc or .bash_functions:

# Find gtk2/3 applications
showgtk(){
	cd /usr/bin
	echo -e "\ngtk2"
	echo -e "----"
	
	for F in *; do 
	    objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-x11-2.0 > /dev/null
	    if (( $? == 0 )); then 
	        echo -e "  $F"
	    fi
	done
	echo -e "\n-------\n"
	echo -e "gtk3"
	echo -e "----"
	for F in *; do
	    objdump -p $F 2> /dev/null | grep gtk-3 > /dev/null
	    if (( $? == 0 )); then 
	        echo -e "  $F"
	    fi
	done
	echo -e "\n--------\n"
	cd
}

Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#21 2017-01-19 14:42:48

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

OK On Topic:

Long live Conky v1.9

Conky v1.10 is like a vacuum, it .......   devil


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#22 2017-01-19 20:22:00

stevep
MX Linux Developer
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 379

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

If you forwardport 1.9.1 (which means rebuild from source), the way to have it be seen as a higher version than 1.10 without the pinning hassle is to add or increment the epoch, which is a number added to the start of the version. So in debian/changelog:

conky (1:1.9.1-1)

will be handled as a higher version than

conky (1.10.0-1)

Last edited by stevep (2017-01-19 20:22:58)

Offline

#23 2017-01-19 20:35:21

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

^ Thanks for the tip Steve, I was wondering about that smile


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#24 2017-01-19 20:51:19

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,666

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

19 Jan 17 @ 17:43:25 ~
  $ list conky-all
Alias for: apt list -a filename
Listing... Done
conky-all/jessie-backports 1.10.6-1~bpo8+1 amd64
conky-all/stable,now 1.9.0-6 amd64 [installed]

Ahhhhh so we go for 1:1.9.0-6

Question: was there ever a conky v1.9.1 ??


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#25 2017-01-19 21:44:02

cpoakes
Member
Registered: 2016-12-02
Posts: 108

Re: conky v1.9.0-6 vs conky v1.10+

stevep wrote:

If you forwardport 1.9.1 (which means rebuild from source), the way to have it be seen as a higher version than 1.10 without the pinning hassle is to add or increment the epoch, which is a number added to the start of the version. So in debian/changelog:

conky (1:1.9.1-1)

will be handled as a higher version than

conky (1.10.0-1)

Thanks! I have seen but never understood this numbering scheme. Like HOAS, will put it to good use with other forward-ported packages.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB