You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-29 20:26:52

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

[Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

When invoked from the right click menu in thunar "Find files" does nothing.

Couldn't say if this is a Bunsen bug, or a thunar one, but clearly there's a bug, either something should open (Catfish?), or the menu entry shouldn't be there.

Can't give you much more info other than there are no clues if thunar is started from a terminal.

Last edited by Bearded_Blunder (2015-09-29 23:05:52)


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

#2 2015-09-29 20:30:15

photonucleon
Thursday
From: out of that impossible sky
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 297

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Can confirm this happens for me too.


The servant lifted off a kind of ottoman a long peacock-blue drapery, rather of the nature of a domino, on the front of which was emblazoned a large golden sun, and which was splashed here and there with flaming stars and crescents. “You’re to be dressed as Thursday, sir,” said the valet somewhat affably.

Offline

#3 2015-09-29 20:51:51

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,302
Website

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Thanks for reporting this. The solution is here...
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=16282.0

Open the Thunar file manager and click the Edit menu and click "Configure custom actions...".
Select the 'Find files' action and click the edit button.

Change the command to:

catfish --hidden %f

We'll make sure we fix this in bunsen-configs.

Online

#4 2015-09-29 20:56:01

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,046

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

In Thunar > Edit > Configure custom actions...
Select: "Find Files" and Edit

Change:

catfish --fileman=thunar --hidden --path=%f

to

catfish --hidden --path=%f

save and try it ... don't even have to restart Thunar.

EDIT: Ninja'd by a master - I type too damn slow!

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-09-29 20:57:02)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#5 2015-09-29 21:21:43

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Fixed locally, thanks, expect the odd glitch in something as new as this smile

If that's the biggest glitch in the release candidate, it's well done to everyone!


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

#6 2015-09-29 22:38:40

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,046

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Yes but because of you it gets fixed for the next ISO and will probably show-up in an update & upgrade  shortly.

Thank you.

[cough cough] [Solved] ??


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#7 2015-09-29 23:05:16

Bearded_Blunder
Dodging A Bullet
From: Seat: seat0; vc7
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 730

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Sure I'll edit it to say solved smile
Not quite sure what the protocol was with bug reports, most places seem to operate by closing the topic when either a fix is going to be applied, or when it's decided not to fix it.


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...
If there's an obscure or silly way to break it, but you don't know what.. Just ask me

Offline

#8 2015-09-29 23:12:59

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,046

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Good point - will talk with the powers to be.
Thanks


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.

Offline

#9 2015-09-30 05:59:41

nobody0
Disabled account
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 664

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Wouldn't

catfish %f

enough?

Offline

#10 2015-09-30 10:16:01

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 9,302
Website

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

Yes, if you've unchecked the "Hidden Files" entry in Catfish's preferences and don't want Catfish to search for dot files and folders. The --hidden switch insures that catfish opens with that option checked.

Online

#11 2017-09-06 23:30:56

tedrogers
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 36

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

hhh wrote:

Thanks for reporting this. The solution is here...
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=16282.0

Open the Thunar file manager and click the Edit menu and click "Configure custom actions...".
Select the 'Find files' action and click the edit button.

Change the command to:

catfish --hidden %f

We'll make sure we fix this in bunsen-configs.

I just installed bl-Deuterium-amd64_20170429.iso and the issue (albeit minor) still persists. Fixed locally using:

catfish --hidden %f

Just wanted to point out that it's still there in an 'ISO fresh' install.

Thanks.

Last edited by tedrogers (2017-09-06 23:32:36)

Offline

#12 2017-09-07 02:28:02

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

@tedrogers Thanks for catching that! There must have been some glitch in our information-flow there... icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, we'll get it in the Helium release.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#13 2017-09-07 07:30:53

tedrogers
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 36

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

johnraff wrote:

@tedrogers Thanks for catching that! There must have been some glitch in our information-flow there... http://s12.postimg.org/hpfi4fkex/icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, we'll get it in the Helium release.

Not a problem. Love the release otherwise. Works well on my Lenovo T500, and its the only distro I've tried recently where all the synaptic fuctions work (including touchpad tap!) right out of the box.

Hurrah!

Offline

#14 2017-09-08 21:23:33

jerk-o
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

It's nice to see another person running BunsenLabs on a Lenovo ThinkPad.  Check out http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=118734 to double check the fan situation (I think the BunsenLabs devs are looking into having the thinkfan package installed by default in the next release).

Offline

#15 2017-09-08 22:11:19

tedrogers
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 36

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

jerk-o wrote:

It's nice to see another person running BunsenLabs on a Lenovo ThinkPad.  Check out http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=118734 to double check the fan situation (I think the BunsenLabs devs are looking into having the thinkfan package installed by default in the next release).

Hey, it's nice to be here. Was looking for a slick and low-resource system, that would force me to learn more about Linux, and had a solid base, as I want to use this machine to learn Python.

Can't say my fan is particularly loud at any time (re: thinkfan). It's always made the same noise level, and this laptop has had all sorts on it from Windows and Tux-a-plenty in-between. I'll always welcome improved support for my hardware though. wink

This T500 is actually a triple-boot (I know, I know, distro-hoping heathen!), but I'm settling on this setup now, and finally going Windows free.

Xubuntu XFCE for flashy, bleeding edge (ish) stuffs.
Debian 9 XFCE for up-to-date stability (in Debian terms at least).
BunsenLabs for fun, which is ending up being the one I'm spending the most time on because the UltraNav seems to work best OOTB.

I really meant to get on with some code learning tonight, but so far all I've achieved is learning about how to customise Tint2 and Conky, and get Quicktile working so I can do some window-snapping. Really miss that sort of functionality in low-resource distros. Anyway, I've found a way.

Still need to tweak my xinput setting because the Trackpoint isn't as responsive as I'd like it. I've resorted to using a mouse when I have a lot of stuff to do, but I prefer the Trackpoint. Still feels slightly sluggish here, like I have to beat it up to get the mouse pointer going...hard on the fingers too!

Don't have any tips do you?

A good start would be to know where BunsenLabs keeps the xinput configuration information. There is nothing obvious in the .xsessionrc file as discussed here:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_co … ing_xinput

Thanks.

Last edited by tedrogers (2017-09-08 22:19:02)

Offline

#16 2017-09-09 06:43:17

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 6,553
Website

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

tedrogers wrote:

where BunsenLabs keeps the xinput configuration information

You can use ~/.xsessionrc, which will be applied to all X sessions, or ~/.config/openbox/autostart which is used only on openbox sessions. (Most BunsenLabs user session config goes in autostart.)


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#17 2017-09-09 20:33:33

tedrogers
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 36

Re: [Solved] "Find files" inoperative in default install

johnraff wrote:
tedrogers wrote:

where BunsenLabs keeps the xinput configuration information

You can use ~/.xsessionrc, which will be applied to all X sessions, or ~/.config/openbox/autostart which is used only on openbox sessions. (Most BunsenLabs user session config goes in autostart.)

Great. Thanks. I'll investigate.

So same place as the quicktile then... wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB