You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-12 14:42:08

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

I often need to insert a screenshot into a html mail in iceweasel. Scrot can only save to a file, not to clipboard. I tried some commandline tools like xclip, but without success. The only working way was to open the file made by scrot with gthumb and let ghtumb copy it to clipboard. But that's very inconvenient.
xfce4-screenshooter also cannot copy to clipboard, offers me only to upload it to zimage, save it to file, or open it with application.
Is there an easy way to make screenshots to clipboard without overloaded tools like gnome-screenshot?

Offline

#2 2015-10-12 15:02:13

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

Do you have imagemagick installed? If you have, try

import png:- | xclip -selection c -t image/png

I found the code here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1550758

This is what I tried: I ran the command, selected the area, opened LibreOffice writer and pressed Ctrl+V. I don't know if it will work with your specific use case.

Last edited by vasa1 (2015-10-12 15:07:30)


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#3 2015-10-12 15:06:31

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

I tried that already, but Iceweasel seems to use some other clipboard. I tried all 3 possible X selections, none of them worked.

Offline

#4 2015-10-12 15:13:50

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

jochen wrote:

I tried that already, but Iceweasel seems to use some other clipboard. I tried all 3 possible X selections, none of them worked.

I just tested. Can't paste into the compose window of Gmail in Firefox but can paste successfully into the compose window of Gmail in Google Chrome. Hmmm...


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#5 2015-10-12 16:06:32

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

gthumb has a method than can paste images successfull into iceweasel. Looks like I have to study the source code, and try to do the same with some python script.

Offline

#6 2015-10-12 17:33:12

Snap
Member
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 465

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

Just an idea. I don't use IM so I didn't tested it myself, but launching iceweasel as x-www-browser instead of just iceweasel would make a difference.

Offline

#7 2015-10-12 18:08:32

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

Sorry, I confused Iceweasel and Icedove (silly names). What I meant was Icedove, the mail client.

Offline

#8 2015-10-12 18:16:38

hhh
That's easy!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 6,091
Website

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

I changed it to icedove in the thread title.

Online

#9 2015-10-15 05:43:36

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

I found a working screenshot tool: https://github.com/Roger/escrotum

Offline

#10 2015-10-15 07:36:26

vasa1
Member
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 169

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

jochen wrote:

I found a working screenshot tool: https://github.com/Roger/escrotum

Great! Could you please explain how you installed it?


Using the Openbox (3.5.2) session of Lubuntu 14.04 LTS but very interested in BL :)

Offline

#11 2015-10-15 07:41:26

jochen
Member
Registered: 2015-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

sudo pip install escrotum

Offline

#12 2015-10-15 12:29:16

Sector11
Tpyo Knig
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,149

Re: Screenshot to clipboard (to paste into icedove)

I'm curious about this:

Because scrot has glitches when selection is used in refreshing windows

What does; 'when selection is used in refreshing windows' mean?

Pardon my noobish question.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: s12 Kernel: 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.4)
Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2 dm: (startx) Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 8

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB