You are not logged in.

#51 2016-04-13 16:10:42

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Easiest way is to re-install package bunsen-utilities:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall bunsen-utilities

This will install bl-exit at /usr/bin/bl-exit

WARNING:
This will re-install all scripts that are contained within the package.

A second method is to download the zip file from github, unzip the archive and copy that version of bl-exit to your home directory or to /usr/bin.

Offline

#52 2016-04-13 16:22:59

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Sorry, I had it ... and edited my post here.

Between a mess on the streets of Buenos Aires today and my wife making her comments about it and trying to do this I don't know if I'm coming or going.   roll

Short story:  mine works, the original works, your update doesn't.  Wish someone else would try, it's quite possible the noob in me messed something up, in which case if we fix it, it will be "Certified Noob Proof".  cool


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#53 2016-04-13 16:26:30

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

OK.
Thanks for testing it.
Lets wait for other users reactions then and take it from there. smile

Offline

#54 2016-04-13 16:29:20

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

AHHHHHHHHHH CRAP.  Looking at rget

 13 Apr 16 @ 13:24:53 ~
  $ alias rget
alias rget='sudo apt-get install --reinstall --no-install-recommends'
 
 13 Apr 16 @ 13:24:58 ~
  $ 

and look at this ....

It doesn't work from the command line:

 
 13 Apr 16 @ 13:27:41 ~
  $ rget bunsen-utilities
alias rget = sudo apt-get install --reinstall --no-install-recommends
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for sector11: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Recommended packages:
  light-locker
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  bunsen-utilities
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 31.1 kB of archives.
After this operation, 140 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian/ bunsen-hydrogen/main bunsen-utilities all 8.6.5-1 [31.1 kB]
Fetched 31.1 kB in 1s (28.4 kB/s)                    
Retrieving bug reports... Done
Parsing Found/Fixed information... Done
Selecting previously unselected package bunsen-utilities.
(Reading database ... 168570 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../bunsen-utilities_8.6.5-1_all.deb ...
Unpacking bunsen-utilities (8.6.5-1) ...
Setting up bunsen-utilities (8.6.5-1) ...
 
 13 Apr 16 @ 13:28:05 ~
  $ bl-exit
/home/sector11/.themes/S11-NS-brushed/gtk-2.0/panel.rc:32: Unable to locate image file in pixmap_path: "shadows/window-bg.png"

BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#55 2016-04-13 16:32:48

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

I reinstalled bunsen-utilities ... bl-exit doesn't work.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#56 2016-04-13 16:35:54

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

I would like  to get to the bottom of this.
I will instrument bl-exit with debugging information and let you know when it is ready to be tested again.  Won't be for today though.

Offline

#57 2016-04-13 16:58:15

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

When ever you want.  PM me if need be, I'll gladly test it.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#58 2016-04-13 17:09:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

This works perfectly for me:
2016-04-13-180712_1920x1080_scrot.th.png

I've been using a slightly modified version of bl-exit for my bspwm desktops and I couldn't figure out how to remove the unwanted buttons cleanly ( ops ) so this is very useful for me.

Great work, thanks!
smile


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#59 2016-04-13 17:15:40

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

@S11: in BunsenLabs, $PATH is set in /etc/profile and ~/.profile wink

~/.bash_profile is also sourced on login and ~/.bashrc is sourced when you open a new terminal window.

Check all those files for your duplicate PATH entry.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#60 2016-04-13 17:28:23

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

AHA!  ~/.bashrc

# From CrunchBang forums - add ~/bin to path
export PATH=$PATH:~/bin
# PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
# export PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"

# enable programmable completion features (you don't need to enable
# this, if it's already enabled in /etc/bash.bashrc and /etc/profile
# sources /etc/bash.bashrc).
if [ -f /etc/bash_completion ]; then
    . /etc/bash_completion
fi

{sigh} I'm such a noob!  FIXED!

Now if I can figure out why this doesn't work for me....


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#61 2016-04-13 17:35:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Sector11 wrote:

Does not work in a terminal:

 13 Apr 16 @ 11:12:36 ~
  $ bl-exit
/home/sector11/.themes/S11-NS-brushed/gtk-2.0/panel.rc:32: Unable to locate image file in pixmap_path: "shadows/window-bg.png"

Looks like a theme error -- will it work if you set the theme to Raleigh?


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#62 2016-04-13 17:40:28

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Nope:
2016_04_13_14_38_44_Scrot11.jpg
sad


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#63 2016-04-14 09:10:53

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

@s11,

When you run my version of the bl-exit script, you get that error message - probably produced because your theme has some missing file - and then... nothing?

You need to break (Ctrl +C) to get your prompt back. Is that correct?

Could you try starting my script under the python debugger, like this:

pdb <your path to my version of the script>
> /usr/bin/bl-exit(4)<module>()
-> import gtk
(Pdb) c
.
.
.
(Pdb) bt

I have put the answers you should provide after the (Pdb) prompt in bold.
I am interested in what the debugger returns after you entered the 'bt' command.

To exit from the debugger, type  'exit' at the prompt. (without the surrounding quotes)

Explanation:
1. The first 'c' you enter is short for 'continue'
2. The 'bt' is short for 'backtrace'
It is possible that you don't get the second (Pdb) prompt because the program hangs.
In that case 'break' it with Ctrl+c and let me know.

Thanks for your cooperation.

Offline

#64 2016-04-14 09:21:58

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

I would appreciate it enormously if someone else could test the new version of the bl-exit script.
You can find an explanation on how to configure it here

It works for Hoas, but does not work for Sector11.
So its a tie at  the moment and it is not possible to say if   the new script is the culprit or  the peculiar setup of Sector11.

Thanks

Offline

#65 2016-04-14 10:06:54

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

xaos52 wrote:

@s11,

When you run my version of the bl-exit script, you get that error message - probably produced because your theme has some missing file - and then... nothing?

You need to break (Ctrl +C) to get your prompt back. Is that correct?

First I changed themes to: Bunsen  - to eliminate my theme being the culprit.
This is after [Ctrl]+c - didn't do that before.

 14 Apr 16 @ 06:44:38 ~
  $ bl-exit
^CTraceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 362, in <module>
    main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 356, in main
    graphical_processing()
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 345, in graphical_processing
    Blexit().main()
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 160, in main
    gtk.main()
KeyboardInterrupt
 
 14 Apr 16 @ 06:44:59 ~
  $ 
xaos52 wrote:

Could you try starting my script under the python debugger, like this:

pdb <your path to my version of the script>
> /usr/bin/bl-exit(4)<module>()
-> import gtk
(Pdb) c
.
.
.
(Pdb) bt

I have put the answers you should provide after the (Pdb) prompt in bold.
I am interested in what the debugger returns after you entered the 'bt' command.

To exit from the debugger, type  'exit' at the prompt. (without the surrounding quotes)

Explanation:
1. The first 'c' you enter is short for 'continue'
2. The 'bt' is short for 'backtrace'
It is possible that you don't get the second (Pdb) prompt because the program hangs.
In that case 'break' it with Ctrl+c and let me know.

Thanks for your cooperation.

Cooperation isn't a problem - glad to ßeta test.
"c" needed [Ctrl]+c to continue to the next (Pdb) and a final [Ctrl]+c to exit to the prompt.

 14 Apr 16 @ 06:56:30 ~
  $ pdb /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit
> /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(3)<module>()
-> from __future__ import print_function
(Pdb) c
^CTraceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py", line 1314, in main
    pdb._runscript(mainpyfile)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py", line 1233, in _runscript
    self.run(statement)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/bdb.py", line 400, in run
    exec cmd in globals, locals
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 3, in <module>
    from __future__ import print_function
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 356, in main
    graphical_processing()
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 345, in graphical_processing
    Blexit().main()
  File "/home/sector11/bin/bl-exit", line 160, in main
    gtk.main()
KeyboardInterrupt
Uncaught exception. Entering post mortem debugging
Running 'cont' or 'step' will restart the program
> /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(160)main()
-> gtk.main()
(Pdb) bt
  /usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py(1314)main()
-> pdb._runscript(mainpyfile)
  /usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py(1233)_runscript()
-> self.run(statement)
  /usr/lib/python2.7/bdb.py(400)run()
-> exec cmd in globals, locals
  <string>(1)<module>()
  /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(3)<module>()
-> from __future__ import print_function
  /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(356)main()
-> graphical_processing()
  /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(345)graphical_processing()
-> Blexit().main()
> /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(160)main()
-> gtk.main()
(Pdb) 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/pdb", line 1338, in <module>
    pdb.main()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py", line 1330, in main
    pdb.interaction(None, t)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/pdb.py", line 210, in interaction
    self.cmdloop()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/cmd.py", line 130, in cmdloop
    line = raw_input(self.prompt)
KeyboardInterrupt
 
 14 Apr 16 @ 06:58:01 ~
  $  

... a final [Ctrl]+c brought me back out to the prompt.

NOTE: exit didn't exit:

(Pdb) exit
Post mortem debugger finished. The /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit will be restarted
> /home/sector11/bin/bl-exit(3)<module>()
-> from __future__ import print_function
(Pdb) 

Another note because of this:

You can find an explanation on how to configure it here

I did nothing to configure it.  Using the script as it came.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#66 2016-04-14 10:29:27

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

I did nothing to configure it.  Using the script as it came.

That is OK.
The script should work exactly like the 'official bl-exit' without configuration file.
You only need the configuration file if you want more or less buttons than the 'official' version shows.

While I am examining the results you reported, can you run strace for me on the new script:
1. install package 'strace' if you don(t have it installed already
2. from a terminal window, run

strace -o strace -f -tT <path-to-my-bl-exit-script>

this will create a rather large file strace in your current directory.

You will have to "break" it after say 30 seconds.

Post the content of the strace file via a pastebin of your choice and give me a link to it.

Thanks

Offline

#67 2016-04-14 10:46:08

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

WOW I'll say big - 8632 lines in ±30seconds.

Good for a week:  https://dpaste.de/sWB2/raw

Hope it helps.


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#68 2016-04-14 10:48:30

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Don't bother with strace any more.

I think I found the problem.
There is a new version of the script available on github.
Can you try that one.

Thanks

Offline

#69 2016-04-14 11:34:17

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,149

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Testing latest version in VBox - all seems to be working there OK smile

Playing with various ini entries has worked so far, even "hibernate" (NB the path in this post should be $HOME/.config/bl-exit/bl-exitrc)

I will try it on the main system after I have finished a long-running render wink


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#70 2016-04-14 11:59:06

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Thanks for testing this, damo.

I have corrected path  to config file in my post #38.

Offline

#71 2016-04-14 12:12:52

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,149

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Tested with all default BL gtk themes - OK;

Tested with random and gibberish entries in the ini file - OK.

Nice work smile

EDIT: tested on main box, and "Hibernate" is greyed-out as expected.


Be Excellent to Each Other...

FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#72 2016-04-14 12:18:42

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

Thanks, damo.

I will mark this version 2.0.0

Offline

#73 2016-04-14 12:21:30

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

@Sector11,
I am pretty sure this version will work for you too.

Sorry for 'blaming' your setup. It was a script error.
But I will keep calling your setup 'peculiar' smile

Offline

#74 2016-04-14 12:42:39

Sector11
The Tpyo Knig Mod
From: 77345 ¡#
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,627

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

lol  lol  lol You could get away with calling me 'peculiar', but the new script works just fine.
2016_04_14_09_32_46_Scrot11.jpg
Anyway, glad to have helped.

Now to check out the config file and I'll switch to this.  smile


BunsenLabs Forum Rules ---== I'm a Conky 1.9'er ==---
System:    Host: d67 Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)

Offline

#75 2016-04-14 12:55:38

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @pes
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 695

Re: [OBSOLETE] The bunsenlabs 'exit' menu entry

OK.
Suggestions and error reports still welcome. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB