You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-13 16:12:32

perchslayer
Member
From: Auburn, California - US
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 115
Website

How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

I searched on the term "workspace", but it didn't help. It seems that the default install gives me 2 workspaces. But because I:

1) don't really understand how they work and cant find the hotkey for switching and thus switch it inadvertently which causes no small amount of frustration
2) don't need 2 workspaces in my world anyway.

I was hoping to have just one desktop with one workspace. I have a strong hunch that this is both possible and relatively easy to configure, but I am a lousy Googler, clearly, because I can't seem to find out how.

Thanks.

Last edited by perchslayer (2016-02-13 16:58:27)


Roland Shield
Grill Jockey, Lounge Maven, Unrepentant Agitator
ass.clown@perchslayer.com | "...'ere I am, J.H."

Offline

#2 2016-02-13 16:26:19

porkpiehat
Member
Registered: 2015-10-27
Posts: 31

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

Edit rc.xml, and change the desktops number to 1.

http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Configuration#Desktops

Run "openbox --reconfigure" in a terminal to make the change take effect.

Last edited by porkpiehat (2016-02-13 16:29:02)

Offline

#3 2016-02-13 16:29:54

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

sed -i 's/<number>2<\/number>/<number>1<\/number>/' ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml

Then log & back in again.

Or use obconf

EDIT: @porkpiehat -- just running `openbox --reconfigure` isn't enough, you have to log out & back in again wink

rc.xml wrote:

       use obconf if you want to change these without having to log out
       and back in

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2016-02-13 16:32:16)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2016-02-13 16:34:12

porkpiehat
Member
Registered: 2015-10-27
Posts: 31

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

Something changed with --reconfigure then, because it always worked for me.

I don't have a bunsenlabs install to test with, and I am not going to install one, so I will refrain from giving further help.

Offline

#5 2016-02-13 16:56:56

perchslayer
Member
From: Auburn, California - US
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 115
Website

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
sed -i 's/<number>2<\/number>/<number>1<\/number>/' ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml

Then log & back in again.

The above did it without a hitch. Someday I hope to manage the skills to find such items myself. Meanwhile, you rock my world.


Roland Shield
Grill Jockey, Lounge Maven, Unrepentant Agitator
ass.clown@perchslayer.com | "...'ere I am, J.H."

Offline

#6 2016-02-13 16:57:59

perchslayer
Member
From: Auburn, California - US
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 115
Website

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

porkpiehat wrote:

so I will refrain from giving further help.

Thank you for your discretion.


Roland Shield
Grill Jockey, Lounge Maven, Unrepentant Agitator
ass.clown@perchslayer.com | "...'ere I am, J.H."

Offline

#7 2016-02-13 17:04:45

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,719

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

@perchslayer

Menu -> Help -> Openbox --->  smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#8 2016-02-13 17:32:52

perchslayer
Member
From: Auburn, California - US
Registered: 2016-01-12
Posts: 115
Website

Re: How Do I Get Just One Workspace? [SOLVED]

damo wrote:

Menu -> Help -> Openbox --->  smile

WOW! There is a whole world of handy in there! How does one know if a thing is in an "OpenBox" context or a "Gnome" context or a "Tint2" context? They all seem so sublimely entwined that is hard to find the right path in and out.

Last edited by perchslayer (2016-02-13 17:33:18)


Roland Shield
Grill Jockey, Lounge Maven, Unrepentant Agitator
ass.clown@perchslayer.com | "...'ere I am, J.H."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB