You are not logged in.

#26 2021-06-30 23:23:22

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 364

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable, so for the time being I'm using a much smaller monitor (a 15" Dell instead of a 22" Eizo) and at a lower display resolution, 1024x768 instead of 1680x1050 as before.

Although the monitor is a good one for its size, I really appreciate being able to use a tiling window manager that is able to make the most of the available screen space; I'm using i3 right now.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-06-30 23:33:39)

Offline

#27 2021-07-01 00:18:06

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,389

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Colonel Panic wrote:

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable, so for the time being I'm using a much smaller monitor (a 15" Dell instead of a 22" Eizo) and at a lower display resolution, 1024x768 instead of 1680x1050 as before.

Although the monitor is a good one for its size, I really appreciate being able to use a tiling window manager that is able to make the most of the available screen space; I'm using i3 right now.

Monitor issues like that may mean a failing inverter  board or backlight. Usually that means you have to replace the panel as the backlight is usually builtin to the LCD panel. An inverter is fairly easy to replace if you are able to find one that's made for the Eizo, and if you are handy enough to take the bezel off.

My suggestion is to replace the monitor with something like 24" if you can afford that.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-07-01 00:20:36)


Real Men Use Linux

Online

#28 2021-07-01 01:45:30

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,484
Website

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

^ You can get a good one starting at $140 USD...

https://www.newegg.com/acer-15-full-hd/ … 6824011348

Online

#29 2021-07-01 21:12:31

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 364

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

DeepDayze wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable, so for the time being I'm using a much smaller monitor (a 15" Dell instead of a 22" Eizo) and at a lower display resolution, 1024x768 instead of 1680x1050 as before.

Although the monitor is a good one for its size, I really appreciate being able to use a tiling window manager that is able to make the most of the available screen space; I'm using i3 right now.

Monitor issues like that may mean a failing inverter  board or backlight. Usually that means you have to replace the panel as the backlight is usually builtin to the LCD panel. An inverter is fairly easy to replace if you are able to find one that's made for the Eizo, and if you are handy enough to take the bezel off.

My suggestion is to replace the monitor with something like 24" if you can afford that.

Thanks for the advice (and hhh too). Now that I've got a monitor that works I'm in no desperate rush to get a new one, but a 24" monitor does sound nice - the one thing I have to be careful about though is that it must take a 15-pin VGA connector (the blue one with two screws, one on either side) as that's what is on the side of my motherboard.

I don't think I'll be getting the old one fixed - I contacted Eizo, but they told me they don't have travelling repair technicians able to work on people's monitors in situ and, if I sent it back to their service centre in Ascot (near London) to be fixed, the inspection charge alone would be £90 + VAT. I can get a new monitor (though not a 24" one, or an Eizo) for that.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-07-01 22:37:10)

Offline

#30 2021-07-02 02:49:44

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,484
Website

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

I got my monitor for free when some people moved out around the corner and left it on the sidewalk. Also, check the pawnshops.

Online

#31 2021-07-02 03:10:29

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,389

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Colonel Panic wrote:
DeepDayze wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable, so for the time being I'm using a much smaller monitor (a 15" Dell instead of a 22" Eizo) and at a lower display resolution, 1024x768 instead of 1680x1050 as before.

Although the monitor is a good one for its size, I really appreciate being able to use a tiling window manager that is able to make the most of the available screen space; I'm using i3 right now.

Monitor issues like that may mean a failing inverter  board or backlight. Usually that means you have to replace the panel as the backlight is usually builtin to the LCD panel. An inverter is fairly easy to replace if you are able to find one that's made for the Eizo, and if you are handy enough to take the bezel off.

My suggestion is to replace the monitor with something like 24" if you can afford that.

Thanks for the advice (and hhh too). Now that I've got a monitor that works I'm in no desperate rush to get a new one, but a 24" monitor does sound nice - the one thing I have to be careful about though is that it must take a 15-pin VGA connector (the blue one with two screws, one on either side) as that's what is on the side of my motherboard.

I don't think I'll be getting the old one fixed - I contacted Eizo, but they told me they don't have travelling repair technicians able to work on people's monitors in situ and, if I sent it back to their service centre in Ascot (near London) to be fixed, the inspection charge alone would be £90 + VAT. I can get a new monitor (though not a 24" one, or an Eizo) for that.

Dell has a number of 24" monitors with VGA connectors and you can even find one used.


Real Men Use Linux

Online

#32 2021-07-02 06:22:01

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Colonel Panic wrote:

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable

If it really is a capacitor, I once succeeded in replacing those in a monitor, with a standard crappy non-electronic soldering gun (in retrospect I should've sprung the extra credit for a finer one, I got one now).
Took careful internet research to find the very specific capacitors I need. I think they even sold them as an assorted pack specifically for this board.
That was maybe 5 years ago.


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#33 2021-07-03 13:03:29

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 364

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

ohnonot wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:

I've had computer troubles over the last week which turned out to be a failing component in my monitor (probably a capacitor) rendering the display too dim to be readable

If it really is a capacitor, I once succeeded in replacing those in a monitor, with a standard crappy non-electronic soldering gun (in retrospect I should've sprung the extra credit for a finer one, I got one now).
Took careful internet research to find the very specific capacitors I need. I think they even sold them as an assorted pack specifically for this board.
That was maybe 5 years ago.

Thanks for the advice (and the others too). I'd be too nervous to open up a monitor though, knowing how much charge one of those capacitors can pack (the ones they used to use in CRT monitors could kill you). I think it's a job for either a professional or someone else who really knows what they're doing.

Hhh and DeepDayze; I'm looking online at the moment to see what's available in the way of monitors. From what I understand, one of the big divides is whether monitors are optimised for gaming (and thus need very fast response times) or for colour fidelity, which would be of more interest to me as I'm not a gamer.

I'm also interested in filtered monitors, which remove the frequencies of mostly blue light which I've read can cause eyestrain and interfere with sleep. I think most of the major monitor companies produce ones that do that, and they're not overly expensive.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-07-05 09:04:47)

Offline

#34 2021-07-04 06:13:41

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

You're welcome.

Colonel Panic wrote:

I'd be too nervous to open up a monitor though

Don't be.
Speaking for electr(on)ic devices in general, you'd be amazed how often you can fix it by doing something that absolutely does not require you to be a professional. If, additionally, you are not averse to soldering, you can fix even more.

knowing how much charge one of those capacitors can pack (the ones they used to use in CRT monitors could kill you).

The largest was smaller than my thumbnail.

I 'm also interested in filtered monitors, which remove the frequencies of mostly blue light which I've read can cause eyestrain and interfere with sleep. I think most of the major monitor companies produce ones that do that, and they're not overly expensive.

You know there's software solutions for that, like redshift, or simply xrandr?


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#35 2021-07-04 06:28:42

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,424
Website

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Colonel Panic wrote:

knowing how much charge one of those capacitors can pack (the ones they used to use in CRT monitors could kill you)...

I'm not sure whether small size these days rules out holding a lethal charge, but CRT's used to run on very high voltages, which made any attempt at home repair of TVs highly dangerous. OTOH the highest voltage I'd expect to run into on any modern IT equipment (outside of the PSU) would be 30 or so, which is quite harmless to humans. Much greater is the danger of the human killing the device!


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#36 2021-07-04 15:53:22

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,389

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

johnraff wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:

knowing how much charge one of those capacitors can pack (the ones they used to use in CRT monitors could kill you)...

I'm not sure whether small size these days rules out holding a lethal charge, but CRT's used to run on very high voltages, which made any attempt at home repair of TVs highly dangerous. OTOH the highest voltage I'd expect to run into on any modern IT equipment (outside of the PSU) would be 30 or so, which is quite harmless to humans. Much greater is the danger of the human killing the device!

I am sure LCD panel monitors run off much lower voltages than those old CRT's so safer to work on compared to CRT's.


Real Men Use Linux

Online

#37 2021-07-05 19:49:36

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 364

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

DeepDayze wrote:
johnraff wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:

knowing how much charge one of those capacitors can pack (the ones they used to use in CRT monitors could kill you)...

I'm not sure whether small size these days rules out holding a lethal charge, but CRT's used to run on very high voltages, which made any attempt at home repair of TVs highly dangerous. OTOH the highest voltage I'd expect to run into on any modern IT equipment (outside of the PSU) would be 30 or so, which is quite harmless to humans. Much greater is the danger of the human killing the device!

I am sure LCD panel monitors run off much lower voltages than those old CRT's so safer to work on compared to CRT's.

Thanks (and to johnraff and ohnonot who've also contributed) but I probably won't risk it; even if the safety risk is exaggerated, it's an area where you've got to know what you're doing to know what's wrong in the first place and / or be handy with a soldering iron (which I don't have) to replace capacitors etc.

I'm normally keen on mending and repairing things instead of throwing them away, but I think this is a step too far for me. I'm scanning the ads at the moment looking for a new (or good refurbished) monitor. Thanks again anyway.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-07-05 19:50:10)

Offline

#38 2021-08-09 09:30:19

Colonel Panic
Member
Registered: 2018-11-13
Posts: 364

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

I've recently updated my i3 configuration; I've "Regolithed" it by adding another 10 workspaces (Regolith has 20) and increasing the size of the font. The only thing I'd like to change is the fact that the time display updates every 5 seconds instead of every second, but that's not very important.

There should be another, bigger monitor coming soon too; I've ordered another Dell, a 19" UltraSharp. Bunsen actually works just fine with my 15" monitor at 1024x768 but I find that some other distros don't.

Last edited by Colonel Panic (2021-08-10 13:30:48)

Offline

#39 2021-11-16 15:54:00

christopherisnow
Member
Registered: 2018-05-19
Posts: 51

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Dipping my toes into the world of tiling WM for the first time...

Has anyone written/would anyone like to share thoughts on the simplest way to migrate from Openbox to awesome or i3 on BL? I like much about my current OB setup and would to keep Tint2 & most of my current keybindings in a test system with one of those WMs. Is this even possible, or does one have to install a bunch of extra software and write the configs from scratch just to get them running?

Offline

#40 2021-11-16 16:37:50

rbh
Moderator
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 1,291

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Thread moved from Development & Suggestions.
The thread has gone from a development sugestion to a supportthread.


// Regards rbh

Please read before requesting help: Guide to getting help,
Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop and other help topics under "Help Resources" on the BunsenLabs menu

Offline

#41 2021-11-17 02:00:30

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,424
Website

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

christopherisnow wrote:

Has anyone written/would anyone like to share thoughts on the simplest way to migrate from Openbox to awesome or i3 on BL? I like much about my current OB setup and would to keep Tint2 & most of my current keybindings in a test system with one of those WMs. Is this even possible, or does one have to install a bunch of extra software and write the configs from scratch just to get them running?

It should indeed be possible. A lot of changes came into BL Lithium with the specific aim of making it easier to switch window manager while keeping most of the other BL settings - tint2, conky, keybindings, menu...

For a start, have a look at 'man bunsenlabs-session' and ~/.config/bunsen/autostart. It should be fairly simple for eg awesome or xfwm4. If you have more questions on how to switch it would probably be better to start a new thread in this same section.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#42 2021-11-17 15:50:44

christopherisnow
Member
Registered: 2018-05-19
Posts: 51

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

Thanks @johnraff, this seems pretty straightforward. I've already discovered some keybind conflicts, but maybe that could be worked around by assigning the WM its own Mod key and leaving the basic BL binds with Super.

Will see how Tint2 and co. play with awesome and report back...

Offline

#43 2021-11-18 14:36:27

christopherisnow
Member
Registered: 2018-05-19
Posts: 51

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

For other tiling WM noobs, I found this quite complete transition guide: https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=5766

Offline

#44 2021-11-19 00:12:48

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,424
Website

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

^Very thorough tutorial. cool

Just, don't forget it was written before BL supported alternative window managers inside the regular BL session so while this still works:

hhh wrote:

awesome creates it's own session, so logout and choose awesome as your session

it will start an independent awesome session, where everything needs to be set up. That might be what you, or some users, want, but if you set awesome as the BL window manager in ~/.config/bunsen/autostart and continue using the BL session at login, then there might be less work to do if you want to keep most of the regular BL facilities.


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#45 2021-11-20 15:00:11

christopherisnow
Member
Registered: 2018-05-19
Posts: 51

Re: Tiling window managers in Bunsen by default

^Thanks for clarifying. What seems most helpful in that tutorial are the rc.lua and theme.lua files themselves... as well as the usage crash course.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB