You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-04 08:34:26

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 8,156
Website

Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

Laptop touchpad issue:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=7659

For some time now Debian sources have been recommending switching from xserver-xorg-input-synaptics to xserver-xorg-input-libinput (eg https://wiki.debian.org/SynapticsTouchpad#libinput). It's expected to improve touchpad handling, but means synclient and syndaemon commands won't work.

Does anyone have personal experience of the difference? Any problems with the libinput driver? Any other opinions?


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#2 2021-07-04 13:14:30

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,715

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

Not a clue. synaptic is not installed.
I have been using "apt" for a few years now.

EDIT:  Should be noted: Desktop - no touchpad.
- and I see I am totally out of the ballpark here

Something to read: Why I’ve come to dislike libinput (one of the Linux input drivers)

And, with that, I will quietly leave this thread to the "pad" people.

Last edited by Sector11 (2021-07-04 17:34:17)


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#3 2021-07-04 14:06:51

Naik
Member
From: Lipsia
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 298

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

I switched from synaptics to libinput some time but as you mentioned synclient stopped working. I thought I switched back but as I am writing this I recognise that actually both are installed without interfering. TBH I have no clue which one is used...

naik --greetz


"Kaum macht [Mensch]* es richtig, funktioniert es sofort!"
BL-Kitchen on GitHub

Offline

#4 2021-07-04 15:44:50

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,428

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

I use libinput on two laptops - ArchLabs and Void installs.

I don't notice any difference, and libinput has its own commands for configuration.. I suspect you can match it up with the current BL defaults for synaptics.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#5 2021-07-04 15:45:02

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,275

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

Are the touchpad handling options within libinput compatible enough with synclient? Not sure if libinput supports temporarily disabling touchpad while typing...gets annoying when I accidently brush the touchpad when typing.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-07-04 15:46:23)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#6 2021-07-08 08:37:24

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,520

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

johnraff wrote:

Does anyone have personal experience of the difference? Any problems with the libinput driver? Any other opinions?

When I installed Archlinux on my 2015 laptop I went with libinput first, and could not make it work fully (2 finger scrolling etc.), deliberately switched to synaptics.

I haven't cared enough to investigate further, but it stands to reason that synaptics can't be wrong for a 6-year old touchpad, on a machine running Xorg.


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)

Offline

#7 2021-07-09 04:01:24

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 12,021
Website

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

I'm still using synaptics on Bullseye, but my hardware is over a decade old. Cinnamon and BunsenLabs desktops.

Offline

#8 2021-07-13 04:38:37

dolly
Miss Mixunderstand
From: /lab701
Registered: 2015-10-03
Posts: 430

Re: Beryllium: switch from synaptics to libinput by default?

Looks like both are installed on "Beryllium" here. Nothing unusual as far as I have noticed.


A bit nerdy, trying to grow up.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB