You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-10 02:51:24

BRFNGRNBWS
New Member
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 4

Ethernet + Wifi?

I installed Bunsenlabs Linux from a usb drive, and at the time of installation, I had no access to wifi, so I chose ethernet during the setup. Now that I installed it, I need to connect to wifi, but wireless is hard blocked. I tried a ton of rfkill commands, and also tried resetting BIOS, but that didn't work. There are no physical switches or anything on the laptop.
How can I fix this, and connect to wifi?

thanks

Offline

#2 2015-12-10 04:24:57

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

After you installed, your hardlined ethernet connection worked?   What's the output of ip addr show ?

What wireless card are you using? What's the output of your  lspci | grep wireless   or lspci | grep Wireless


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#3 2015-12-10 06:26:06

BRFNGRNBWS
New Member
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 4

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

Yes, the ethernet connection worked.
I'm using old laptop:
http://www.pcworld.com/product/43937/le … ebook.html
this lists the specs, sorry not really sure which one is wireless card.

should I run these commands with ethernet connected?

Offline

#4 2015-12-10 06:34:52

BRFNGRNBWS
New Member
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 4

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

Sorry, that may or may not have been a dumb question. I did it with ethernet:
ip addr show:
http://pastebin.com/ehm8jka5

The other two did nothing.

Offline

#5 2015-12-10 07:44:08

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

Please post the output of:

sudo rfkill list
lsmod|egrep 'wmi|laptop'

Welcome to BunsenLabs!
smile

EDIT: If it says "hard blocked" then that means that a hardware switch on your laptop has been turned to the "off" position -- my ThinkPad has a slider on the left-hand side that turns off the wireless.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-12-10 07:46:19)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#6 2015-12-10 07:46:06

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#7 2015-12-10 23:07:42

BRFNGRNBWS
New Member
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 4

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

Ok sorry, there was a little switch on the side. I'm really stupid, but thanks for the help anyway guys!

Offline

#8 2015-12-10 23:57:46

Horizon_Brave
Operating System: Linux-Nettrix
Registered: 2015-10-18
Posts: 1,473

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

BRFNGRNBWS wrote:

Ok sorry, there was a little switch on the side. I'm really stupid, but thanks for the help anyway guys!

I've done the same thing! I don't think newer laptops still use the physical wlan switch much anymore, but on my older Sony Vaio laptop, I've done this countless times... big_smile


"I have not failed, I have found 10,000 ways that will not work" -Edison

Offline

#9 2015-12-11 06:35:57

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Ethernet + Wifi?

BRFNGRNBWS wrote:

Ok sorry, there was a little switch on the side. I'm really stupid, but thanks for the help anyway guys!

Don't worry about it -- I very nearly sent my X201 back 'cos I thought the wireless was broken...  ops

lol


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB