You are not logged in.

#1 2015-12-08 03:20:21

Metallo
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 5

Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Hi all,

My PC is an old PIII 1Ghz with 1.5GB RAM
The system runs fine, internet browsing is slow with Iceweasel, on the other hand, Chrome or Chromium are not supported by my hardware.

The reason why I am writing is because, play Youtube videos or any other videos, for example, like the ones in the newspapers, is no go, no video and no audio. Audio is completely dead.
My MB is an Aopen AX34 and has always worked with its AC97 with other systems.

I also tried multiple FF extensions for Flash including the low quality one, but nothing happens, blank screen when it gets to the video.

Last but not least, I can I disable the lock screen? Unlike other Linux distro, when installing I was not prompted to chosse to 'automatically login'.

I hope you can provide some good advice. smile

Thank you!
Alex

Offline

#2 2015-12-08 08:03:19

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

hello metallo,
about your audio/video problems, please post the output of

lspci -k | grep -iA5 -E 'vga|audio'

(edit: i'm not sure atm if flashplugin is installed by default on bl?)

the login manager can be configured for autologin, from your root menu (right-click on empty desktop): system => login settings

the lock screen can be disabled, too, there's already a few threads about this here at the forums.

welcome to the forums and enjoy bunsenlabs!

Last edited by ohnonot (2015-12-08 08:04:53)


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#3 2015-12-08 08:06:45

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Metallo wrote:

Audio is completely dead

Right-click on the volume icon and open the mixer and make sure that all the outputs are un-muted and set to a non-zero volume level.

Please also post the output of:

aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards

In respect of Flash, the last time I installed BunsenLabs it worked out of the box.

Try this:

sudo apt install flashplugin-nonfree
sudo update-flashplugin-nonfree --install

https://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer#Installation

Welcome to BunsenLabs smile


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#4 2015-12-08 22:36:23

Metallo
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Hi all,

Thank you for your comments.

Audio Output below:

alessandro@PIII:~$ lspci -k | grep -iA5 -E 'vga|audio'
00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
	Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller
	Kernel driver in use: snd_via82xx
00:0a.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3062 Wireless 802.11n 2T/2R
	Subsystem: Ralink corp. RT3062 Wireless 802.11n 2T/2R
	Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci
00:0b.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation OHCI USB Controller (rev 43)
--
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV350 [Radeon 9550/9600/X1050 Series]
	Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Device 200e
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
01:00.1 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV350 [Radeon 9550/9600/X1050 Series] (Secondary)
	Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Device 200f
alessandro@PIII:~$ 

***************
I have a feeling this is a hardware issue, nothing to do with the OS.
***************
Flash was installed, when I try to launch any Youtube videos Iceweasel crashes.
When I try to play videos from newspapers, I get a message: Flash plugin failed to load

Thanks
Alex

Offline

#5 2015-12-09 06:42:44

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

i think the sound and graphics issues are 2 different things.
please also answer Head on a Stick's questions, i think it will help us with the sound.

for your flash/graphics issue i suspect a scenario like this:
old graphics card, the opensource radeon driver covers it imperfectly, hardware accelaration is unavailable, a proprietary driver is not available for linux.
but you will have to find the appropriate entries on the debian wiki or on this or other linux forums, to shed some light on linux support for your particular card (i suggest the search term "linux radeon 9550 9600 x1050").

flashplugin:
strange. i thought flash shouldn't be using hardware accel, so it should be painfully slow, but not crash.
can you watch local video, from your hard drive, with vlc?
in any case, you might want to play with the settings for the flashplugin:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Br … ash_Player
https://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer#Troubleshooting
(i suggest deactivating hardware accel, but who knows, maybe the oppposite will bring some result)


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#6 2015-12-09 07:31:03

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

We can check the Product ID and Vendor ID of the graphics card by using:

sudo update-pciids
lspci -nn|grep VGA

https://wiki.debian.org/HowToIdentifyADevice/PCI

Metallo wrote:

I have a feeling this is a hardware issue, nothing to do with the OS.

How does your machine perform if you load up a live version of a different distribution?

EDIT: I've just noticed that you have a "secondary" graphics card -- I don't know how to set up stuff like that, sorry.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2015-12-09 07:34:18)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#7 2015-12-10 02:36:54

Metallo
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Hi,

I know which graphic card I have, it's an ATI Radeon 9600 256MB, Adobe does not want to update and to be honest, at the moment, I have not much time to test & learn, I am relatively new to Linux and not familiar with the scripts.

Is there a way to install pepperflash? I cannot find it in Synaptic.

Local videos play fine in VLC, but no audio, completely dead any form of it.

BTW, I followed all the instructions related to the lock screen to get rid of it, no go, it is still there.
It's a pity that no option is offered to disable it during the install or simply in the menu bar, this is really annoying.

Thank you guys
Alex

Offline

#8 2015-12-10 07:28:34

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Metallo wrote:

Is there a way to install pepperflash? I cannot find it in Synaptic.

sudo apt install pepperflashplugin-nonfree

https://packages.debian.org/jessie/pepp … in-nonfree

If you want help with the other issues, please post the requested command output (using code tags)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#9 2015-12-10 07:34:49

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

HoaS, i just had a look, it seems we don't have a "please read before posting" thread?
i didn't want to use the smart questions article just yet.


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

#10 2015-12-10 07:49:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

ohnonot wrote:

HoaS, i just had a look, it seems we don't have a "please read before posting" thread?

Yes, good point, I'll look into it.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#11 2015-12-10 21:52:37

Metallo
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

This is what I get when trying to install pepperflash:

alessandro@PIII:~$ sudo apt install pepperflashplugin-nonfree
[sudo] password for alessandro: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package pepperflashplugin-nonfree
alessandro@PIII:~$

Thanks
Alex

Offline

#12 2015-12-10 21:57:09

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 8,759
Website

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Did you update your package database before attempting to install?

Do you have an internet connection?

Please post the output of:

cat /etc/apt/sources.list /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*

“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII., 18.

Forum Rules   •   How to report a problem   •   Software that rocks

Offline

#13 2015-12-10 22:50:35

Metallo
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

Hi,

Yes I remember during the install process I updated the package and obviously yes, I have an internet connection and a very fast one.

alessandro@PIII:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*
# 

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20150908-13:17]/ jessie contrib main non-free

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 8 _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20150908-13:17]/ jessie contrib main non-free

deb http://ftp3.nrc.ca/debian/ jessie main
#deb-src http://ftp3.nrc.ca/debian/ jessie main

deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb http://ftp3.nrc.ca/debian/ jessie-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://ftp3.nrc.ca/debian/ jessie-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://pkg.bunsenlabs.org/debian bunsen-hydrogen mainalessandro@PIII:~$ 

Thanks
Alex

Offline

#14 2015-12-10 23:56:41

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,732

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

You only have `main` source repository for jessie. `pepperflashplugin-nonfree` is in `contrib`

Your sources.list line should read:

deb http://ftp3.nrc.ca/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free

Then do

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install pepperflashplugin-nonfree

NB: You can do a package search with `Menu -> Help -> Debian`. This will tell you which repo a package can be obtained from.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#15 2015-12-11 05:52:52

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,568

Re: Bunsenlabs on a PIII - No Audio, No Flash

in this case i think it is highly advisable to

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

(read what goes by and don't press enter blindly)
(then preferably reboot and repeat)

...and only then install pepperflash


Give to COVAX! Here or here. (explanation)
My Repos: notabug | framagit

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB