You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-18 12:23:25

FCardelle
Member
Registered: 2021-01-18
Posts: 6

Problem with repositories

Hi. I am noob with Linux.

I changed my etc/apt/sources.list to get a more recent version of an application (SageMath), and since then I am having problems with some programs which I try to fix changing again the sources.list and things are going worse and worse.

Right now my sources.list is

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.8 _Helium_ - Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20190706-19:28]/ stretch contrib main non-free

#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 9.8 _Helium_ - Snapshot amd64 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20190706-19:28]/ stretch contrib main non-free

deb https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main non-free contrib
# deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch main non-free contrib

## Debian security updates
deb https://deb.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates main contrib non-free

# stretch-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free
#deb-src https://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates main contrib non-free

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian stable main contrib non-free
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian buster main

My current big problem is that NetBeans (8.1) doesn't start anymore.
The message I get is

Warning - could not install some modules: NetBeans Form Editor - The module named org.jdesktop.layout/1 was needed and not found. GUI Builder - The module named org.netbeans.modules.form.binding/0-1 was needed and not found. GUI Builder - The module named org.netbeans.modules.form.nb/0-1 was needed and not found. GUI Builder - The module named org.netbeans.modules.form.refactoring/0-1 was needed and not found. 4 further modules could not be installed due to the above problems.

and regardless I press "disable modules" or "exit" NetBeans won't start.

I will be thankful for any piece of advice, regarding repositories in general or the Netbeans problem in particular.

Offline

#2 2021-01-18 13:43:22

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,566

Re: Problem with repositories

I suspect that your system is now badly broken, and the easiest course of action may be a new install sad

DON'T MIX SOURCES, unless you really know what you are doing!

The first item in Basic Help & Support is How can I add new software?, which would have been a good starting point for you.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2021-01-18 14:00:31

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 965

Re: Problem with repositories

You have mixed repos for both Debian Stretch (9, oldstable) and Debian Buster (10, stable). Never good to do that.

In post Upgrading from Helium to Lithium, you have listed repos for BL Helium (Debian9) and BL Lithium (10).

You have to decide if you want to try fix the mess or do a new installation.

If you try to fix it, disable Buster, make "apt update" and apt upgrade".
Follow then the guide abowe and update to Lithium.

When you have upgraded, and if you do not have any other error, test if your applications work. If still not, ponder a reinstallation.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#4 2021-01-18 21:13:06

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 965

Re: Problem with repositories

FCardelle wrote:

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian stable main contrib non-free
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian buster main

This is also a very bad mix. Today, Buster and Stable gives the same packages. But, sometime in march, Stable will be named Byllseye (version 11) and Buster will be OldStable. It is impossible to maintain a clean system with that mix.

Some reading about Apt and Repositurys is adviced. The "Debian handbook", on the help menu, is a good start.

Last edited by rbh (2021-01-18 21:15:56)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#5 2021-01-19 06:16:30

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,373
Website

Re: Problem with repositories

FCardelle wrote:

I changed my etc/apt/sources.list to get a more recent version of an application (SageMath), and since then I am having problems with some programs which I try to fix changing again the sources.list and things are going worse and worse.

https://wiki.debian.org/DontBreakDebian
Usually the path to newer software is through stable-backports.

Last edited by ohnonot (2021-01-19 06:17:50)


Please use CODE tags for code.
Search youtube without a browser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#6 2021-01-19 07:28:48

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 965

Re: Problem with repositories

ohnonot wrote:

Usually the path to newer software is through stable-backports.

Or, when on oldstable Helium/Stretch, first upgrade to (or clean install) Stable Lithium/Buster.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#7 2021-02-18 11:33:58

FCardelle
Member
Registered: 2021-01-18
Posts: 6

Re: Problem with repositories

Hi, thank you everybody.. I hadn't had time to try to fix the mess until now.

I would like to give feedback if the switch to Lithium solved the problem or not, but I destroyed the system in the process. I think that I rebooted the system too soon after the full upgrade, when there were still tasks being performed in the background, and I have had to reinstall. Now I have another question that I will post in a different thread.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB