You are not logged in.

#1 2020-12-05 07:56:07

ed32
Member
Registered: 2020-11-26
Posts: 5

Menu

Hi,

Is it possible to make the main menu show for longer before a selection is made? Currently, the menu disappears too quickly.

Thanks.

Last edited by ed32 (2020-12-05 07:57:13)

Offline

#2 2020-12-05 12:36:10

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 995

Re: Menu

ed32 wrote:

Is it possible to make the main menu show for longer before a selection is made? Currently, the menu disappears too quickly.

You have a standard Lithium installation and your menu is jgmenu?

Mine jgmenu does not disappear until I have made an selection or pressed Esc.

If you post your ~/.config/jgmenu/jgmenurc, there might be a clue to the behavior.


// Regards rbh

Online

#3 2020-12-06 11:20:09

ed32
Member
Registered: 2020-11-26
Posts: 5

Re: Menu

Hi rbh,

Thanks for helping out. My jgmenurc is as follows:

tint2_look          = 0
csv_cmd             = apps
position_mode       = pointer
menu_width          = 134
menu_padding_top    = 24
menu_padding_right  = 0
menu_padding_bottom = 0
menu_padding_left   = 0
menu_radius         = 1
sub_spacing         = 6
item_margin_x       = 1
item_margin_y       = 1
item_height         = 21
sep_height          = 4
sep_halign          = right
font                = Sans 10
icon_size           = 0
arrow_string        = ›
arrow_width         = 8
color_menu_bg       = #22373f 100
color_menu_border   = #C8CFCB 8
color_norm_bg       = #C8CFCB 00
color_norm_fg       = #d3dae3 100
color_sel_bg        = #bc4b4f 100
color_sel_fg        = #ffffff 100
color_sel_border    = #bc4b4f 100
color_title_fg      = #cc666a 100
color_title_bg      = #22373f 100
color_title_border  = #74998B 8
color_sep_fg        = #535353 100
sep_markup =
hover_delay         = 30
csv_name_format     = %n

Offline

#4 2020-12-06 12:40:09

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 995

Re: Menu

Nothing in your jgmenurc sheds light over your menu behavior.

If no one else has any idea, test remove jgmenu with all configfiles:

$ apt-get purge jgmenu

and rename or delete ~/.config/jgmenu.

Reinstall jgmenu
Reboot

If that does not fix it, I am out of ideas.

Btw: i encourage you to read the forum rules. They state: "Use code tags when pasting code or configurations into your post.", as I did above.

Last edited by rbh (2020-12-06 12:40:34)


// Regards rbh

Online

#5 2020-12-06 18:48:19

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 690
Website

Re: Menu

@ed32 could you describe in more detail what the problem is
1. what steps do you take
2. what happens
3. what did you expect to have happened?

Offline

#6 2020-12-07 01:06:49

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 11,482
Website

Re: Menu

rbh wrote:

Btw: i encourage you to read the forum rules. They state: "Use code tags when pasting code or configurations into your post.", as I did above.

Code tags... [ "code" ]some code[/ "code" ]

Don't include spaces or quotation marks. So without quotation marks, but with spaces which you will omit... [ code ]sudo apt update[/ code ]

Which will, if you omit the spaces, post as...

sudo apt update

Offline

#7 2020-12-07 08:04:41

ed32
Member
Registered: 2020-11-26
Posts: 5

Re: Menu

@rbh,

Will do the code formatting next time I post.

Thanks again.

@malm,
I am using the 32-bit version of Lithium on 2 different computers (1 physical (an old Pentium M), another in a VMware VM). They both exhibited the same behaviour where the main menu does not stay on screen long enough for a selection to be made. When I click on the main menu, it pops up but when I hover over a menu item, the menu will soon disappear if I did not click on a selection fast enough. Also the start typing to search function did not work.

Thanks.

Last edited by ed32 (2020-12-07 08:05:43)

Offline

#8 2020-12-08 06:16:03

malm
jgmenu developer
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 690
Website

Re: Menu

Could you start jgmenu from terminal and paste any messages.

killall jgmenu
jgmenu_run

Offline

#9 2020-12-08 07:10:03

ed32
Member
Registered: 2020-11-26
Posts: 5

Re: Menu

Hi @malm,

This is what I got running the above:

warn: found old lockfile; lockfile removed
warning: XSupportsLocale(): error setting locale
warning: XSetLocaleModifiers(): error setting locale

Thanks again.

Offline

#10 2020-12-08 10:40:52

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 995

Re: Menu

So, you can not start jgmenu fom terminal when killed and you have problem with your locales...
You migt consider reinstall maybe... Have you serached your logs for more errors?

BTW: What happend when you purged and reinstalled jgmenu?

Last edited by rbh (2020-12-08 10:41:17)


// Regards rbh

Online

#11 2020-12-08 10:44:25

Fromax
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2015-11-04
Posts: 10

Re: Menu

hhh wrote:

Code tags... [ "code" ]some code[/ "code" ]
Don't include spaces or quotation marks. So without quotation marks, but with spaces which you will omit... [ code ]sudo apt update[/ code ] ...

Which of course, to avoid inserting spaces in an example, could be displayed like:

[code]some code[/code]

Yes! You can wrap BBCode code in BBCode code tagscool

Just write:

[code][code]some code[/code][/code]

OK... I'll show myself out  tongue


BunsenLabs | LMDE 4 | Linux Mint | Void Linux
Linux user #348237

Offline

#12 2020-12-08 11:45:54

ed32
Member
Registered: 2020-11-26
Posts: 5

Re: Menu

@rbh,

Yes. It seems to be the locale problem, I set it to en_US.UTF-8. Everything works properly now.

Thanks!

Offline

#13 2020-12-08 22:46:33

hhh
Meep!
Registered: 2015-09-17
Posts: 11,482
Website

Re: Menu

Fromax wrote:

Yes! You can wrap BBCode code in BBCode code tagscool

Just write:

[code][code]some code[/code][/code]

OK... I'll show myself out  tongue

Nice tip, you can stay. big_smile

Offline

#14 2020-12-09 05:10:01

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,575

Re: Menu

^ I discovered that effect a few years ago, but forgot how I'd done it!


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB