You are not logged in.

#1 2020-09-27 16:53:10

carutad
New Member
Registered: 2020-09-27
Posts: 4

Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

Hello

I have installed on an PC with a pentium 4 the latest BL 32 bits version. Now I can't boot 3 out of 5 distros (BL, MX, Manjaro, Ubuntu, antiX in that order).
There are no particular error messages except for Manjaro (kernel panic! + some more text); something I already had in the past and was finally solved.
BL and antiX (on USB key) are booting fine. There is no way to start the others.
BL occupies a logical drive on the HD; is that OK with that set up?

I really like BL interface and the fact you can install the applications you really need directly from the menu.
Anyway, I did not spend much time looking around. I need first to sort my problem!

I would prefer using the CL instead of re-installing everything if possible.

Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

Offline

#2 2020-09-27 17:05:18

sleekmason
Member
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 209

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

Have you tried

sudo update-grub

in a terminal?
*edit - Assuming you have installed grub to the mbr when installing Bunsenlabs?

You can also add an entry for each installation specifically, in

/etc/grub.d/40_custom

like this:

menuentry 'NewDistro' {
    set root=(hd0,5)
    linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda5 ro quiet
    initrd /initrd.img
}

This tells grub to put an entry to boot the installation on sda5.
You will need to change the drive letters as needed, and then update-grub to activate. Then reboot.
A new entry for "NewDistro" should now be at the bottom of the list.

Last edited by sleekmason (2020-09-27 17:22:39)

Offline

#3 2020-09-28 08:19:25

carutad
New Member
Registered: 2020-09-27
Posts: 4

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

Thanks for your quick answer.
I haven't tried anything but read a lot...was waiting for a starting point.

Grub is installed to the MBR. I will investigate the custom option, 40_custom as you suggested it or custom.cfg.

I did not find a way to upload images from a local computer. I guess it's not possible.

Offline

#4 2020-09-28 12:55:54

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

carutad wrote:

...
I did not find a way to upload images from a local computer. I guess it's not possible.

You need to use an online image host, and link to the image. Instructions/suggestions here.

There is also an option in Menu > BL Utilities > Screenshots.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#5 2020-09-28 13:02:43

phuturism
Member
From: Jakarta, Bali, Singapore, Melb
Registered: 2016-07-15
Posts: 72

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

damo wrote:
carutad wrote:

...
I did not find a way to upload images from a local computer. I guess it's not possible.

You need to use an online image host, and link to the image. Instructions/suggestions here.

There is also an option in Menu > BL Utilities > Screenshots.

The BL Utilities anonymous Imgur upload works great!   Just started using this and configured the "upload to account" option too.   

Thread hijack - could I add that as a keybind? I see it seems to depend on some python stuff in the background.

Last edited by phuturism (2020-09-28 13:14:11)


L I N U X  -  M O T O R B I K E S  -  B O O K S  -  T R A V E L  -  A S I A

Offline

#6 2020-09-28 19:01:21

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

phuturism wrote:

...
The BL Utilities anonymous Imgur upload works great!   Just started using this and configured the "upload to account" option too.   

Thread hijack - could I add that as a keybind? I see it seems to depend on some python stuff in the background.

Set a keybind to whichever command you want:

bl-imgur-upload --help

I use a thunar r-click custom action to upload an image, and put the BBCode on the clipboard:

bl-imgur-upload --auto-upload --file %f

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#7 2020-09-29 02:12:42

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2015-09-09
Posts: 7,326
Website

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

damo wrote:

I use a thunar r-click custom action to upload an image, and put the BBCode on the clipboard:

bl-imgur-upload --auto-upload --file %f

In fact BL already ships that very Thunar right-click option, labelled "Upload Image".


...elevator in the Brain Hotel, broken down but just as well...
( a boring Japan blog (currently paused), idle Twitterings and GitStuff )

Introduction to the Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop

Offline

#8 2020-09-29 02:29:18

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

johnraff wrote:

In fact BL already ships that very Thunar right-click option, labelled "Upload Image".

Hell, we're good!  cool


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#9 2020-09-29 02:33:32

phuturism
Member
From: Jakarta, Bali, Singapore, Melb
Registered: 2016-07-15
Posts: 72

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

thanks Damo and JR


L I N U X  -  M O T O R B I K E S  -  B O O K S  -  T R A V E L  -  A S I A

Offline

#10 2020-10-01 16:21:46

carutad
New Member
Registered: 2020-09-27
Posts: 4

Re: Can't boot 3 out of 5 Linux distros

Hello

This is what worked for me and these steps have been executed within the Bunsenlabs OS.
- Use Gparted to create 5 unique labels for my partitions
- In a custom.cfg file, add 5 different menu entries and copy (as root) custom.cfg to /boot/grub
Make sure to change the name of your OS and, above all, the label name you set with Gparted.

menuentry "Bunsenlabs Lithium" {
    insmod msdos
    insmod ext4
    search --no-floppy --label --set=bunsenlabs
    configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg
}

- Disable os-prober by editing (as root) /etc/default/grub and adding the following line:

GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true

Then run

sudo update-grub

The above steps brought 2 OS back to life. MX is still not booting.

While booting MX, I noticed an endless message in the console:

mdadm: No arrays found in config file or automatically

And that went for ever!

A quick search revealed a RAID issue. Strange enough, I just have one HD...
Anyway, I had to go through the chroot process. Make sure you mount the right partition.
The problem was resolved by removing the mdadm package:

sudo apt remove mdadm

Et voilà, job done.

References:
custom.cfg stuff
chroot stuff

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB