You are not logged in.

#1 2020-09-16 15:20:40

susu
Member
Registered: 2018-01-13
Posts: 6

installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

hi everybody,

I just installed the new bunsenlabs on my thinkpad t480. Before, I ran Helium on it with no problems.

So the installation went smoothly. I installed on my former root partition and kept my old /home partition.

After installation startup works fine, system is running but if I want to shutdown, I get the following message:

A stop job is running for Display Manager Light

this will go on for different programs. Later for example it says

A stop job is running for Network Manager

30 min later there will be a message:

forcibly turning off

this also happens when I start from usb as live systen

anyone has an idea what this is about?

Offline

#2 2020-09-16 16:03:45

lilgman
Member
Registered: 2019-11-09
Posts: 8

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

Hi susu

I don't have any help for your question, but I think posting the results of this command might be useful for others who know more than i do.

sudo journalctl --system -r -n 50 --no-pager

Run that immediately after a reboot and post the results.

Good luck!

Offline

#3 2020-09-17 08:03:42

susu
Member
Registered: 2018-01-13
Posts: 6

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

problem is i can t properly reboot. the reboot will also get stuck. i have to press the power button and turn the computer off

journalctl will only give me entries from the point of the new startup

Last edited by susu (2020-09-17 08:07:00)

Offline

#4 2020-09-17 08:35:30

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

susu wrote:

...
So the installation went smoothly. I installed on my former root partition and kept my old /home partition.
....

anyone has an idea what this is about?

Did you keep your old ~/.config files? This would mess up your autostarted applications and keybinds etc. The old python bl-exit is now from the bunsen-exit-python package. (I also get the symptoms you described when upgrading to bullseye).

Can you shutdown from a tty (Ctrl-F1), after trying with/without stopping lightdm first?

sudo systemctl stop lightdm.service
systemctl poweroff

Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#5 2020-09-17 09:06:48

susu
Member
Registered: 2018-01-13
Posts: 6

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

i didn t delete my /.config files. i cann do this, but the described problem also appears when i run a live system from usb

...so i went to tty

sudo systemctl stop lightdm.service

lead to this output:

...
kernel: NMI watchdog: Watchdog detected hard LOCKUP on CPU 1
...

some lines later:

...
kernel: watchdog: BUG: soft lockup - CPU#2  stuck for 22s [pulseaudio;2109]
...

i waited for around 10 min. stop lightdm.services is still not completed

sorry that i can t give a proper log output

Last edited by susu (2020-09-17 09:08:30)

Offline

#6 2020-09-17 11:37:55

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

Have you googled those error messages? Could be hardware/clock timing fault; could be intel microcode bug etc.

Do you have nvidia graphics?


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#7 2020-09-18 08:16:22

susu
Member
Registered: 2018-01-13
Posts: 6

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

damo wrote:

Have you googled those error messages? Could be hardware/clock timing fault; could be intel microcode bug etc.

my google research did give me good hints until now.

damo wrote:

Do you have nvidia graphics?

the t480 has an Intel UHD Graphics 620 card

...did a little bit more research now.
- updated my bios (now 1.35)
- checked if intel-microcode package is installed, it is.
- if i go startup directly to tty and sudo shutdown then, the shutdown works smoothly
- shutdown or reboot problem stays the same when doing it from the bunsenlabs gui sad

Last edited by susu (2020-09-18 08:42:42)

Offline

#8 2020-09-18 12:04:12

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,329

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

I suspect this is due to the newer kernel interacting badly with your hardware - I have almost exactly the same symptoms (with the added headache of nvidia graphics). I have found a fix: disable acpi.

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

and add the boot parameter...

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="acpi=off"

Followed by

sudo update-grub

I actually use this instead, for my system:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi=\"!Windows 2015\""

Now I don't get the graphics glitches at boot, and the shutdown process works properly smile


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Online

#9 2020-09-19 15:05:35

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,917
Website

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

susu wrote:

journalctl will only give me entries from the point of the new startup

This is not necessarily true.
systemd can be configured to keep journal entries across reboots; have a look here.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

#10 2020-09-22 19:10:01

susu
Member
Registered: 2018-01-13
Posts: 6

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

damo wrote:

I suspect this is due to the newer kernel interacting badly with your hardware - I have almost exactly the same symptoms (with the added headache of nvidia graphics). I have found a fix: disable acpi.

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

and add the boot parameter...

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="acpi=off"

Followed by

sudo update-grub

I actually use this instead, for my system:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi=\"!Windows 2015\""

Now I don't get the graphics glitches at boot, and the shutdown process works properly smile

sorry for my late reply. to turn acpi off in helped and solved the problem. thanks very much damo.

with acpi deactivated my thinkpad lost a lot in functionality which bothers me. I decided to downgrade to helium again and hope the those hardware problems will be solved in the future.

ohnonot: thanks for the hint I will try this out and post the logs

Offline

#11 2020-09-22 23:51:30

kozimodo
Member
Registered: 2015-10-04
Posts: 67

Re: installed lithium - shutdown doesn't work

Since it seems to be a hardware problem, you could also try the backported kernel.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB