You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-09 22:30:40

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Updated sources list and may have pasted a Helium source list by accident. After running upgrade and update my computer seemed to be doing just fine. Upgrade and update didnt give me errors and everything was great.

Then i rebooted and ive lost my desktop and login screen. All i have is command line.

I tried typing [login].
It did not accept my username.
It did accept [root]
Tried all my passwords even my truecrypt password and i cannot advance.

If theres a way to recover the data to another drive, then reinstall hydrogen or upgrade to helium, please share how ?.

It say its starting shell, however im still in command line only. [Ctrl]+[alt]+[f7] does not take me to the instance that normally contains my desktop and login.
It apears i only have [f1] through [f5] as available instances.

Thanks in advance, any help is apreciated.
I first installed #! In 2011 and ive been along for the ride ever since. This is way over my head and i the data in the drive is my back up with a ton of important memories. I trusted hydrogen jessie as stable and i have broken it by messing with things late at night:(

Best regards.

Offline

#2 2020-02-09 23:21:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

It is probable that you have upgraded several important libraries, eg libc6, which has broken your graphical system.

You say you can login as root? Can you access your files via the commandline? If so you could copy your data onto an external drive.

If root, you could also try looking for errors in the systemd journal with

journalctl -b

The easiest solution may end up putting the BL Helium iso onto a usb drive, then use a live session to copy out any data you want to keep onto an external drive (or another partition). Then install Helium, because Hydrogen is now years out-of-date.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#3 2020-02-10 00:17:41

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,470

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Also ... when you installed did you install everything to a single partition?

IF you had separate /root and /home partitions you can reinstall:

/ = same as old root - use as / , ext4 and reformat
/home = same as old /home -  use as /home - ext4 DO NOT FORMAT

if you had other partitions - reuse, ext4 - DO NOT FORMAT

That should do it.

Good luck


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#4 2020-02-10 00:49:46

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,035

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Sector11 wrote:

Also ... when you installed did you install everything to a single partition?

IF you had separate /root and /home partitions you can reinstall:

/ = same as old root - use as / , ext4 and reformat
/home = same as old /home -  use as /home - ext4 DO NOT FORMAT

if you had other partitions - reuse, ext4 - DO NOT FORMAT

That should do it.

Good luck


Or in the case he installed to a single partition the OP can back up /home and all its contents to a safe place then after install copy it back.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#5 2020-02-10 01:07:56

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Thanks so much.
When i typed [login]
I was prompted to enter username.
It did not accept my username however typing root advanced me to <enter password>
However my username, its corresponding password, and my truecrypt password did not advance me.
Is there something i should be typing in? Or forgo typing login as the comand line shows root$ already?
I was sort of trying anything and maybe trying to root from root and i dont believe thats a thing hmm


Ill have to brush up my file management via command line skills.
I have a drive i can put everything onto but its a windows image and im not certian how to connect it and use it like an ordinary flashdrive. I may purchase one just to format as a hard drive in the coming days.

I believe all ive done is updated a library and broken my graphical system as Damo stated.

Ive loved hydrogen so much. I was in alaska for a little while working at sea, and i primarily use this computer as a cold storage for my data so i was reluctant to upgrade without backing up my data to a second drive. I was actually shocked to see a helium developed, and lithium in the works as crunch bang went ages without development. Ill be back here after i have a drive formated and attempt to move everything.

Offline

#6 2020-02-10 02:17:35

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 763

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Yamabito wrote:


When i typed [login]
I was prompted to enter username.
It did not accept my username however typing root advanced me to <enter password>

Have you checked you have space left on disk? If you have one partition and too little space, you will not be able to log in as user. Root has not same restrictions. If you have very little space, it can prevent x to start. If you have not updated for long time, an update kan download several GB data to disk.

You can clean out apt cache:

# apt-get autoremove
# apt-get clean

Probably you are not allowed to login if only 5% or less disk is free.

and my truecrypt password did not advance me.

You have encrypted disk? Could root decrypt?

Ill have to brush up my file management via command line skills.

Mc (Midnight Commander) is a good ncurserbased file manager.

I have a drive i can put everything onto but its a windows image and im not certian how to connect it and use it

Is it an internal drive, you could attach it in the pc or use an enclosure.

I may purchase one just to format as a hard drive in the coming days.

A good choice. They are not expencive nowadays.

Last edited by rbh (2020-02-10 02:18:40)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#7 2020-08-09 20:47:43

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Thanks for the help,

Ran clean and autoremove but im still locked out of the gui.
Figured out how to get logged in and unlock trucrypt.

Any input on formating my secondary hdd, And moving my data from /home and /user onto it from command line?

And what might i want to look for in the journal, i see some weird
[r8169 cant disable ASPM; OS doesnt have aspm control]



Thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Last edited by Yamabito (2020-08-09 20:47:59)

Offline

#8 2020-08-09 21:01:26

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

At the very end of the journal i have
[Failed at step EXEC spawning/bin/plymouth: no such file or directory]

Offline

#9 2020-08-10 01:22:44

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Yamabito wrote:

At the very end of the journal i have
[Failed at step EXEC spawning/bin/plymouth: no such file or directory]

plymouth is a fancy boot application, not part of Bunsenlabs, which something else is trying to start. It looks like you have a messed-up system hmm

Any input on formating my secondary hdd, And moving my data from /home and /user onto it from command line?

Search for "How to partition and format a drive on Linux" - there are a huge number of HowTo's available.

Use cp to copy data. Again, there are plenty of tutorials to show the way. I won't try to give you commands, because your drive letterings and directory structure will be likely individual to your system.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#10 2020-08-10 01:42:51

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

I havent found how to partition a hdd yet from terminal, in having trouble using apt-get install since ive butchered my repositories.

I have located my drive, and experimented moving a few files to a USB drive which corrupted my blue ray files, but moved my images just fine.

Use cp to copy data. Again, there are plenty of tutorials to show the way. I won't try to give you commands, because your drive letterings and directory structure will be likely individual to your system.

How do you feel about using rsync, is that safer?

Thanks damo

Offline

#11 2020-08-10 01:56:31

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Why do you want to apt-get something? You should already have commandline tools installed eg fdisk, mkfs, cp.

rsync is excellent, but not needed for merely copying files as a one-time operation. It can also get very complicated!

10 fdisk Commands to Manage Linux Disk Partitions.


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2020-08-10 02:22:49

Yamabito
Member
Registered: 2020-02-09
Posts: 6

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

damo wrote:

Why do you want to apt-get something? You should already have commandline tools installed eg fdisk, mkfs, cp.

Fdisk prompted  install ifupdown

But thanks for the link. Tomorrow i will resume the investigation.

Really appreciate the input damo.
I feel i recognize that name, were you providing lots of help on the #! Forums around 2013?

Last edited by Yamabito (2020-08-10 02:23:54)

Offline

#13 2020-08-10 02:52:03

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,407

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Yamabito wrote:

...
Fdisk prompted  install ifupdown
...

fdisk has nothing to do with network management. What command were you using?

I was on the #! forums for a long time, and one of the original crew here smile

I have another idea: run a Live session of our new Lithium iso (create the usb on another machine maybe). Then you can boot to that, and use the file manager to copy your files somewhere safe. Use gparted from Menu > System to format your disc, install Lithium, and copy your files back. wink

Last edited by damo (2020-08-10 02:55:55)


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#14 2020-08-10 08:20:15

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 5,026
Website

Re: I broke something after updating my hydrogen

Yamabito, where are you with this now?
FWIW, I don't think the journal entries you pasted are relevant.
You keep mentioning truecrypt, are you having problems unlocking encryoted data?

Generally, you should improve the way you are sharing information with us. Clarity and straightforwardness is of the essence here.
Everything you've written is anecdotal, it does not fall together into a full picture in my mind.
We need to see actual commands issued & full output received (and generally an effort to structure the presentation of your problem).

+1 if you manage to

wrap your code in code tags

Search youtube without a brwoser: repo | thread
BL quote proposals to this thread please.
my repos / my repos

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB