You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-15 10:43:25

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 129
Website

[Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

Upgrading this morning

Setting up bunsen-images (10.2.6-1) ...
Generating grub configuration file ...
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
Found background image: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/desktop-grub.png
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-9-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-9-amd64
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-8-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-8-amd64
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
Generating custom entry for: /boot/vmlinuz-4.19.0-9-amd64
initrd image OK: /boot/initrd.img-4.19.0-9-amd64
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found

Last edited by twoion (2020-05-15 12:14:15)


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#2 2020-05-15 15:28:34

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: [Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

yoda wrote:

Upgrading this morning

Setting up bunsen-images (10.2.6-1) ...
Generating grub configuration file ...
  /dev/sdb: open failed: No medium found

It is not a bugg in the today updated package bunsen-images for Lithium.
I just upgraded two pc without your error.

Is it a physical pc? Do you have disk sdb? Which other disks? Is sdb your boot disk?
Du you have a complex setup; raid or lvm or...

Have you tried to reinstall and upgrade grub2?
Have you searched logs for errors?

Do you notice any misbehaving related to your error?

Last edited by rbh (2020-05-15 15:28:54)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#3 2020-05-16 04:29:31

yoda
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2018-12-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

It did do that on the 2nd PC ( Laptop)

Yes it'S a real PC with one SSD Drive from which I boot (encrypted). Prior to that there was another linux on another SSD drive.

It doesn't seem to cause any problems.

 
> Have you tried to reinstall and upgrade grub2?
Should I ?

I will pay attention and report if I see anyting anormal.

tks !
JF
system is 100% stable, still love it, was just reporting it, without being sure what is was about,  in case it help.


According to Buddhism, we all met several times... This time, it's on this forum :-) May we meet again

Offline

#4 2020-05-16 08:05:36

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: [Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

yoda wrote:

   
> Have you tried to reinstall and upgrade grub2?
Should I ?

If I got that error when system is writing grub.cfg, I certainley would try to reinstall grubb!

was just reporting it, without being sure what is was about,  in case it help.

You should not have left out the information that upgrading was ok on another PC...


// Regards rbh

Offline

#5 2020-05-16 14:11:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,521
Website

Re: [Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

OS-prober has had all sorts of weird bugs over the years.
I thought it was finally mature, but maybe not.

So,

yoda wrote:

It doesn't seem to cause any problems.

I wouldn't worry then.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#6 2020-05-16 22:02:53

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: [Lithium-dev] Bunsen-Images

Ah, if it is os-prober that is genereting the error, it is easy to disable if Bunsenlab is only OS on machine (or not needed to bot other OS...)
.
Just add "GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true" to /etc/default/grub
(edit: an run as root: "update-grub").

I like when there is no error messages...

Last edited by rbh (2020-05-16 22:40:42)


// Regards rbh

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB