You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-28 17:52:07

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,396

speedtest-cli not listing all.

Anyone else having a problem with getting a complete list of servers from speedtest-cli?

speedtest-cli -h

says in part:

  --list                Display a list of speedtest.net servers sorted by
                        distance

so I ran it .... instead of getting servers "world wide" like I use to, I only get servers in South America.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#2 2020-04-28 18:59:54

Fromax
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2015-11-04
Posts: 9

Re: speedtest-cli not listing all.

Sector11 wrote:

Anyone else having a problem with getting a complete list of servers from speedtest-cli.

Not sure it's a problem... From Denmark I get only servers in Europe, the farther (I think) being located in Russia.
But the thing is, the list is precisely 1000 lines. So maybe it's just designed to get exactly the nearest 1000 servers?


Linux user #348237
BunsenLabs | LMDE 4 | Linux Mint | Void Linux

Offline

#3 2020-04-28 19:34:36

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,396

Re: speedtest-cli not listing all.

OK that means they made a change.  I use to get servers all over the world.

So sad ... servers that are close to you are not much of a test.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

#4 2020-04-29 08:22:32

unklar
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 1,245

Re: speedtest-cli not listing all.

Debian writes under sid:

Note: This tool accesses speedtest.net over http, while the web-based client uses websockets. This tool has shown to become increasingly inacurate with high-speed connections. For more information, see the readme on:

and, see the project page on GitHub:

Inconsistency

It is not a goal of this application to be a reliable latency reporting tool.

Latency reported by this tool should not be relied on as a value indicative of ICMP style latency. It is a relative value used for determining the lowest latency server for performing the actual speed test against.

There is the potential for this tool to report results inconsistent with Speedtest.net. There are several concepts to be aware of that factor into the potential inconsistency:

    Speedtest.net has migrated to using pure socket tests instead of HTTP based tests
    This application is written in Python
    Different versions of Python will execute certain parts of the code faster than others
    CPU and Memory capacity and speed will play a large part in inconsistency between Speedtest.net and even other machines on the same network

Issues relating to inconsistencies will be closed as wontfix and without additional reason or context.

I'm only getting servers to Europe, too.   hmm

Offline

#5 2020-04-29 13:50:42

Sector11
Conky 1.9er Mod Squid
From: Upstairs
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 6,396

Re: speedtest-cli not listing all.

Yes, I heard it wasn't "accurate" a while back, but it gave me an "idea".

Oh well .... speedtest.net is bookmarked anyway.  big_smile

Consider the matter closed.


The sun will never set if you keep walking towards it. - my son
Being positive doesn't understand physics.
_______________________________
Debian 10 Buster = SharpBang ♯!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB