You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-22 07:04:55

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Network disabled

I recently installed Helium on my old laptop, but I cannot connect to the network, neither by enthernet nor by wifi. The network manager message is "Network disabled".

Offline

#2 2020-04-22 10:48:26

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,525
Website

Re: Network disabled

Right-click on the sytray icon and enable networking.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#3 2020-04-22 15:08:16

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

ohnonot wrote:

Right-click on the sytray icon and enable networking.

Thank you very much "ohnonot". It was precisely the first action I took, but I couldn't select the "Activate network" checkbox with the mouse pointer. I can select it with the space bar on the keyboard, but the action does not take effect.

Offline

#4 2020-04-22 20:44:41

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,525
Website

Re: Network disabled

Output of

lspci -k
lsusb

please.


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#5 2020-04-23 04:25:10

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

-- Mod edit: added [ code ] tags. Please read the Forum Rules! --

Output of lspci -k

00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
	Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
	Kernel driver in use: agpgart-via
00:00.1 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
00:00.2 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 CPU Host Bridge
00:00.3 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
00:00.4 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
00:00.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN333/CN400/PM880 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237/VX700 PCI Bridge
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:0c.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller (rev 10)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller
	Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
	Kernel modules: yenta_socket
00:0c.1 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller
00:0c.2 SD Host controller: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller
	Kernel driver in use: sdhci-pci
	Kernel modules: sdhci_pci
00:0c.4 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc SD/MMC Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer SD/MMC Card Reader Controller
	Kernel driver in use: sdhci-pci
	Kernel modules: sdhci_pci
00:0d.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.11g
	Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.11g
	Kernel driver in use: rt61pci
	Kernel modules: rt61pci
00:10.0 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller
	Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
	Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:10.1 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller
	Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
	Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:10.2 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller
	Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
	Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:10.3 USB controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer USB 2.0
	Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
	Kernel modules: ehci_pci
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT8235 ISA Bridge
	Kernel modules: via_ircc, i2c_viapro
00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE
	Kernel driver in use: pata_via
	Kernel modules: pata_via, ata_generic
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller
	Kernel driver in use: snd_via82xx
	Kernel modules: snd_via82xx
00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer AC'97 Modem Controller
	Kernel driver in use: snd_via82xx_modem
	Kernel modules: snd_via82xx_modem
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102/VT6103 [Rhine-II] (rev 74)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT6102/VT6103 [Rhine-II]
	Kernel driver in use: via-rhine
	Kernel modules: via_rhine
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN400/PM800/PM880/PN800/PN880 [S3 UniChrome Pro] (rev 02)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer CN400/PM800/PM880/PN800/PN880 [S3 UniChrome Pro]

Output of lsusb

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 058f:6387 Alcor Micro Corp. Flash Drive
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 045e:0773 Microsoft Corp. 
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Last edited by damo (2020-04-23 05:21:17)

Offline

#6 2020-04-23 10:22:31

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,525
Website

Re: Network disabled

ascario wrote:

-- Mod edit: added [ code ] tags. Please read the Forum Rules! --

00:0d.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.11g
	Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.11g
	Kernel driver in use: rt61pci
	Kernel modules: rt61pci
(...)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102/VT6103 [Rhine-II] (rev 74)
	Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer VT6102/VT6103 [Rhine-II]
	Kernel driver in use: via-rhine
	Kernel modules: via_rhine

OK, so these are what we're after.
The first is wireless, the second is wired.
Make note of the kernelmodule: rt61pci and via_rhine/via-rhine
Since the drivers are being loaded, my guess is there's a frimware problem (or they're not the right drivers).
Let's see:

sudo dmesg | grep -EC3 'rt61pci|via.rhine'

BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#7 2020-04-23 15:32:11

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

sudo dmesg | grep -EC3 'rt61pci|via.rhine'

[    3.426405] sdhci-pci 0000:00:0c.2: SDHCI controller found [1524:0550] (rev 1)
[    3.427182] clocksource: tsc: mask: 0xffffffffffffffff max_cycles: 0x8b9d0836de, max_idle_ns: 440795203091 ns
[    3.438800] mmc0: SDHCI controller on PCI [0000:00:0c.2] using PIO
[    3.442589] via_rhine: v1.10-LK1.5.1 2010-10-09 Written by Donald Becker
[    3.443466] sdhci-pci 0000:00:0c.4: SDHCI controller found [1524:0551] (rev 1)
[    3.443489] sdhci-pci 0000:00:0c.4: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    3.445621] ACPI: bus type USB registered
--
[    3.461468] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
[    3.462184] ehci-pci: EHCI PCI platform driver
[    3.463622] uhci_hcd: USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
[    3.474534] via-rhine 0000:00:12.0 eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x11800, 00:90:f5:50:97:07, IRQ 23
[    3.475333] via-rhine 0000:00:12.0 eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x7869 advertising 05e1 Link 45e1
[    3.485632] ehci-pci 0000:00:10.3: EHCI Host Controller
[    3.485660] ehci-pci 0000:00:10.3: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
[    3.485778] ehci-pci 0000:00:10.3: irq 21, io mem 0xd0008c00
--
[    3.551638] ata2: PATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x170 ctl 0x376 bmdma 0x1c68 irq 15
[    3.632119] thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered as thermal_zone0
[    3.632126] ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (52 C)
[    3.666613] via-rhine 0000:00:12.0 enp0s18: renamed from eth0
[    3.732573] ata1.00: ATA-7: SAMSUNG HM080IC, YK100-19, max UDMA/100
[    3.732583] ata1.00: 156301488 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 
[    3.732601] ata1.00: limited to UDMA/33 due to 40-wire cable
--
[   13.691385] pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: IO port probe 0xa00-0xaff:
[   13.694783]  clean
[   14.560162] Adding 455676k swap on /dev/sda5.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:455676k FS
[   15.490174] rt61pci 0000:00:0d.0 wlp0s13: renamed from wlan0
[   16.436250] EXT4-fs (sda6): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[   30.362283] PM: Syncing filesystems ... done.
[   30.644685] PM: Preparing system for sleep (mem)

Last edited by damo (2020-04-23 17:14:39)

Offline

#8 2020-04-23 15:35:46

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,204

Re: Network disabled

ascario wrote:
ohnonot wrote:

Right-click on the sytray icon and enable networking.

Thank you very much "ohnonot". It was precisely the first action I took, but I couldn't select the "Activate network" checkbox with the mouse pointer. I can select it with the space bar on the keyboard, but the action does not take effect.

Have you tried to do this with root privileges?

Been a while since I've used network manager, but it would occasionally be configured so only root could connect. As I recall, there is a box to check to allow regular users to connect.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Offline

#9 2020-04-23 15:39:52

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

You should know that also when I select the "logout / shutdown" button and the dialog box pops up with the "Cancel, Logout, Suspend, Reboot, PowerOff" options, then I take any of these options and none responds. I have to exit from console. It seems something related to the "front-end", with the openbox session perhaps.

Agradezco tu apoyo.

Offline

#10 2020-04-23 16:03:18

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

Log in as root, but the desktop is completely empty. How do i do it?

Offline

#11 2020-04-23 17:15:27

damo
....moderator....
Registered: 2015-08-20
Posts: 5,982

Re: Network disabled

@ascario - I will ask you again: PLEASE USE CODE TAGS for terminal output!

I suspect that you have done something during the installation which has messed up you system. How did you install?


Be Excellent to Each Other...
The Bunsenlabs Lithium Desktop » Here
FORUM RULES and posting guidelines «» Help page for forum post formatting
Artwork on DeviantArt  «» BunsenLabs on DeviantArt

Offline

#12 2020-04-23 17:42:58

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: Network disabled

ascario wrote:

Log in as root, but the desktop is completely empty. How do i do it?

Don't do that!

Default Bunsenlabs do not allow root to login. User can run program as root (sudo in terminal or pkexec for graphical program in Lithium).

There is good reason not to allow root to log in to the desktop.
Why have you configured your system to allow root to login? What is the goal of that?


// Regards rbh

Offline

#13 2020-04-23 17:53:34

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

Got it .... moderator ....: TAGS for terminal output! next time.
I installed helium-5-cd-i386.hybrid.iso because my old laptop's processor is non-pae. Take the manual installation option (text installation). The installation process was normal, in fact during the process there was an automatic connection to the Internet with download of packages.

Offline

#14 2020-04-23 18:01:08

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

rbh wrote:

Don't do that!

Default Bunsenlabs do not allow root to login. User can run program as root (sudo in terminal or pkexec for graphical program in Lithium).

There is good reason not to allow root to log in to the desktop.
Why have you configured your system to allow root to login? What is the goal of that?

Got rbh. I know the inconvenience of logging in as root, I did it as an extraordinary measure to try to enable network interfaces, because until now I can not find a solution to my problem. In any case, I am experimenting with Helium, if I solve these problems I will stay with Helium.

Offline

#15 2020-04-23 18:30:38

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: Network disabled

Ok, during the installation, you see that you had internet connection.
Did you try to boot into live desktop? Could you use both cable and wifi in live session?

Did you see any errors in install logs?

Obviously something hase gone wrong. Maybe you should try to reinstall? Troubleshooting is not so easy...

Btw it is maybe not so good idea, to not upgrade to lithium/buster.
You can not stay with Helium/Stretch forever...
I am writing this on an old IBM Thinkpad T43, migrated to Lithium/Buster.

Last edited by rbh (2020-04-23 18:48:07)


// Regards rbh

Offline

#16 2020-04-23 18:52:12

ascario
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 9

Re: Network disabled

rbh wrote:

Did you try to boot into live desktop?

Yes, I boot into live desktop and the problem was the same.

rbh wrote:

Could you use both cable and wifi in live session?

Yes, I used both cable and wifi in live session and the problem was the same.

rbh wrote:

Did you see any errors in install logs?

Yes, I think I have seen several errors during the installation process

rbh wrote:

Maybe you should try to reinstall?

Yes, I think I will reinstall.

Thanks for interest...

Offline

#17 2020-04-23 22:49:00

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: Network disabled

ascario wrote:

Yes, I used both cable and wifi in live session and the problem was the same.

That is interesting. You had internet connection during installation but not after or in live session. Also bl-exit does not function.

Yes, I think I have seen several errors during the installation process

If the problem persist after reinstallation they are of interest to forward in support question.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#18 2020-04-24 07:11:10

brogild
Member
Registered: 2019-07-04
Posts: 39

Re: Network disabled

Regarding non-connection in live and after install, but ok during install, has this simple fix been tried?

The same issue crops up with Lithium too, and the solution is the same.

Last edited by brogild (2020-04-24 07:13:29)

Offline

#19 2020-04-24 07:25:26

rbh
Member
From: Sweden/Vasterbotten/Rusfors
Registered: 2016-08-11
Posts: 407

Re: Network disabled

But @ascario has another problem than just getting wiffi to work. His network is disabled. Both cable and wiffi.
He can not enable network.
Also, bl-exit does not work.


// Regards rbh

Offline

#20 2020-04-24 23:44:10

dhalgren
Member
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 87

Re: Network disabled

I have had this problem in the past, and fixed it by editing /etc/network/interfaces. For some reason this file has, in my experience, ended up preventing management by network-manager. The file should read

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

After backing up file, anything else which may be there should be commented out, and this inserted.

Worked for me in the past, hope it works for you.  (Hope I haven't missed this being mentioned in the replies; if it has already been tried and failed, my apologies for repetition.)

Offline

#21 2020-04-25 07:37:13

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2015-09-29
Posts: 4,525
Website

Re: Network disabled

Strange, dmesg shows nothing untoward.

This hardware must be really old.

I think you should search for problems with via rhine ethernet specifically, under debian.

For wireless:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=24


BL quote proposals to this thread please.
how to ask smart questions | my repos / my repos | my blog
---
Thank you for posting direct image links!

Offline

#22 2020-04-25 19:28:08

brogild
Member
Registered: 2019-07-04
Posts: 39

Re: Network disabled

brogild wrote:

Regarding non-connection in live and after install, but ok during install, has this simple fix been tried?

The same issue crops up with Lithium too, and the solution is the same.

rbh wrote:

But @ascario has another problem than just getting wiffi to work. His network is disabled. Both cable and wiffi.
He can not enable network.
Also, bl-exit does not work.

It's possible the wifi and cable issues are not linked and he has a ethernet driver problem in addition, so it might be worth trying the wifi fix

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB