You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-14 09:13:20

fraxoz
New Member
From: Turin, ITA
Registered: 2021-11-19
Posts: 4

Jgmenu anchored to start button

Is it possible to anchor jgmenu to the start button when summoned via the Super key?

Offline

#2 2022-06-14 12:00:05

sleekmason
zoom
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 873
Website

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

In the jgmenurc, Look for:

position_mode = pointer

and replace with:

position_mode = fixed

I believe this may already be set to the "start" location by default without having to specify the location.

Offline

#3 2022-06-14 15:50:31

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,605

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

^ Will that mess up the right-click on desktop for jgmenu?

@fraxoz - you can set up an openbox keybinding to start the same menu as clicking on the tint2 start button.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Online

#4 2022-06-14 18:19:11

sleekmason
zoom
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 873
Website

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

PackRat wrote:

^ Will that mess up the right-click on desktop for jgmenu?

@fraxoz - you can set up an openbox keybinding to start the same menu as clicking on the tint2 start button.

Yes, It would make the right-click also open at the start.  Good point!

Offline

#5 2022-06-14 22:41:38

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,605

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

^ I downloaded the iso to see how jgmenu is set up for tint2 and the desktop. More going on under the hood than I thought; didn't get too far into it.

It's doable. Simple keybinding to launch an instance of jgmenu. May require a separate jgmenu config file so as not to mess up the rest of the system.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Online

#6 2022-06-15 15:11:40

sleekmason
zoom
Registered: 2018-05-22
Posts: 873
Website

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

^ Yep, Unless you can call the menu from the terminal with the correct position_mode, but I didn't quite see an example there, and then also ran into something to do with the lockfile.  Maybe. 

It looks like a separate file would be easy enough to implement though. Just put another in the jgmenu folder and make sure to make changes manually as necessary I suppose.

Offline

#7 2022-06-15 15:50:58

PackRat
jgmenu user Numero Uno
Registered: 2015-10-02
Posts: 1,605

Re: Jgmenu anchored to start button

sleekmason wrote:

Just put another in the jgmenu folder and make sure to make changes manually as necessary I suppose.

Copy the current jgmenurc to a new file. Then edit the new file with your suggestion and tinker with the x,y for proper placement. Keybinding for jgmenu to call the new file.

That will keep all the BL specific entries in tact.


You must unlearn what you have learned.
    -- yoda

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB