You are not logged in.

#1 2021-12-10 19:57:30

ab90
Member
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 184

Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

Hey there,
my Asrock N68C-S UCC ist booting with an AthlonII-4X and 4GB-DDR2. It is also booting with PhenomII-6X (1055T) and 4GB-DDR2; why not with my newly aquired 2nd hand: 2x[TED34G1333HC9BK 4GB DDRIII1333MHz Elite CL=9-9-9-24].
By manual (https://www.asrock.com/mb/NVIDIA/N68C-S%20UCC/index.asp) it should work.
Kind regards

Last edited by ab90 (2021-12-10 19:57:47)


"Be humble, be cool, dance techno-style to heavy metal music."

Offline

#2 2021-12-11 03:41:15

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,436

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

I'd suspect the memory timings of the RAM you acquired might not be fully compatible with the mobo or that it's possible the RAM's defective. Some older boards are very picky with RAM.


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#3 2021-12-11 14:10:40

eight.bit.al
Member
From: Prison
Registered: 2015-10-01
Posts: 1,157

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

Search for a BIOS upgrade?

8bit


In my defense, I was left unsupervised.

Offline

#4 2021-12-12 03:32:25

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,436

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

According to the Asrock site, the latest BIOS for that motherboard model is dated 2011/9/22 and version  is 1.60. If your BIOS already has this one then you have the latest for that board.

Last edited by DeepDayze (2021-12-12 03:33:42)


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#5 2021-12-17 02:02:35

ab90
Member
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 184

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

The BIOS version is 'N68C-S UCC P1.40'
I'm downloading the BIOS 1.60 now :-)

Last edited by ab90 (2021-12-17 02:16:33)


"Be humble, be cool, dance techno-style to heavy metal music."

Offline

#6 2021-12-17 02:20:07

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,436

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

ab90 wrote:

The BIOS version is 'N68C-S UCC P1.40'
I'm downloading the BIOS 1.60 now :-)

Get the P1.60 version and you can use the Instant Flash utility in the BIOS if you have only Linux on that machine.

Link to the BIOS page:

https://www.asrock.com/mb/nvidia/n68c-s%20ucc/#BIOS

How to use Instant Flash feature:

https://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSIG.asp?cat=BIOS

Hope this helps!


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

#7 2021-12-20 21:08:47

ab90
Member
Registered: 2017-09-06
Posts: 184

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

Hey, i did the bios update.
Then i tried the sticks but ddnt work.
Then i tried only one and it worked; then i alternated sticks and positions and came to no proper solution.
My neighbour here in dorm had a visit and said
´give me the ram sticks´ he took a rubber from my pencil case and we also added a wipe from a tissue that had some WD601 on it (both applied on the contacts ;-)).
and surprise both beeing recognized flawlessly. maybe the bios update was crucial as well, i havent read the update-content-script of that 1.60update...
Works now, would never have got that result alone.

Last edited by ab90 (2021-12-20 21:11:41)


"Be humble, be cool, dance techno-style to heavy metal music."

Offline

#8 2021-12-21 03:45:48

DeepDayze
Like sands through an hourglass...
From: In Linux Land
Registered: 2017-05-28
Posts: 1,436

Re: Asrock N68C-S UCC not booting with DDR3

ab90 wrote:

Hey, i did the bios update.
Then i tried the sticks but ddnt work.
Then i tried only one and it worked; then i alternated sticks and positions and came to no proper solution.
My neighbour here in dorm had a visit and said
´give me the ram sticks´ he took a rubber from my pencil case and we also added a wipe from a tissue that had some WD601 on it (both applied on the contacts ;-)).
and surprise both beeing recognized flawlessly. maybe the bios update was crucial as well, i havent read the update-content-script of that 1.60update...
Works now, would never have got that result alone.

Ahh, forgot about that eraser trick as the contacts in the slots and on the RAM sticks might have gotten dirty. A gentle puff from can of compressed air can also help as it will remove any dust.

Yes I thought also the BIOS update might help as well. Good you are now a happy camper smile))

Bet that old machine will now happily run BL!


Real Men Use Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB